We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog Beach House

Save Saved
You added Frog Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frog Beach House
15/6 Moo 1 Aow Yai (Big Bay), Ko Phayam 85000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Ko Phayam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I booked into thjis place at the Ranong pier and was staying in one of the cheap rooms... 250 baht a night with the offer of 200 a night if I stayed a week. The room was basic but fine for the price. My stay was made very special by the very charming sisters, Nok and Gop who run the place. They made me feel so welcome and Gop's cooking was really superb. I didn't find the food expensive as another reviewer has, it was comparable to other restaurants. The friendliness of the sisters created a cosy vibe amongst all the guests and I got to know a few who have now become friends. A great place to base yourself on Koh Phayam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I arrived by speed boat (45min.) to the Ko Phayam Pier. From there, we each hopped onto the back of each our own scooter taxi. Scooters and motorbikes are the main transportaion, as there are no vehicles on the island. The scooter taxi let us off at a sandy pathway that led to the hotel. Walking down the path we passed three or four older, run down cabins, which we sadly thought was our hotel, but we continued just a little bit further and suddenly we began to hear the Andaman Sea waves crashing ashore and the sight of the beautiful cabins of Frog Beach House became visible. Very welcoming!!

This place is perfect in every way. It is run by a very friendly Thai family who made us feel totally welcomed. The cabin was nice, no complaints. It was clean and the bed was soft and comfortable. There is a mosquito net over the bed, but it wasn't needed. The washroom is an open concept layout that made showering under the stars delightful.

There was electricity to the one outlet in our cabin only from 6pm to 11pm, so we had to make sure we charged all our camera batteries during this time. However, there was 24 hour electricity to the lights in the cabin. It was kind of nice when the hotel would turn the power off at night, because the stars while laying on the beach were absolutely stunning.

The hotel has to rent: 1 kayak(1 person), 2 bicycles and scooters.

One of the brothers has a guitar that if you ask, he will lend to you. But know that they will charm you into playing a song for them in return.

All in all, a great place to stay, it is near the end of Ao Yai beach so it is quieter and less busy than the other hotels we saw. There is a Rasta Bar Hotel next door, but the sound of the music can barely be heard from our cabin, so not a problem. The Thai cuisine at the hotel is amazing, but more expensive than what you would pay for in the small village. It is a 15 min. walk to the small village where there is a convenience store, restaurants, clothing stores and places offering massages.

We would definitely return and would recommend this place if you want good value and a quiet place to chill and see AMAZING sunsets!!!

Room Tip: All the cabins seemed similar and I doubt there are any bad ones. All are a few cartwheels to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Andrew an i stayed here in feb 2012 for our honeymoon,, what a beautiful natural island with wonderful people who really couldn do enough for us to make our stay a very memorable one, delicious food cooked to order ..A beautifully natural authentic thai get away,, we will be taking our family back for sure,, thank you gop an yr wonderful family, i can totally recommend a stay at the lovely frog beach house resort ...

Room Tip: different priced room to suit all travellers, jus contact the friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The bungalows don't face the beach and get very hot at night. They advertise 24hr fan but the fan is tiny and doesn't do much to cool you. The food in the restaurant was bland, very small portions, and very expensive. They said that was because they had to bring all supplies from off the island, but a quick walk down the beach looking at other restaurant menus showed that actually they were very overpriced. They don't allow you to bring your own alcohol to the restaurant even if you are ordering food which is very unusual for Thailand. We didn't feel welcome or comfortable so we moved to a much nicer place up the beach.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thanks Gop for your warm hospitality in the true Thai style. It was so nice to get off the backpacker trail and relax in the classic, clean and comfortable bungalows with their own bathrooms. The beachfront aspect of Frog Beach House is only a stone’s throw away from the clear ocean waters. The ferry ride from Ranong to Koh Phayam is amazing after passing through the fishing port with classic Chinese style fishing boats you will be treated to stunning views of Burma and the mountains along the Thai coast. Koh Phayam is a jewel in the Thai experience with secluded beaches and friendly locals. It was just what I needed to unwind and I was fortunate to see a hornbill on one of my walks. Truly the best hospitality in Thailand, thanks again. I wish to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of the fabulous people at Frog Beach House who look after their guests so well, you really feel you are part of the family. Their restaurant service delicious Thai food and it's always fresh. The accommodation is great - comfortable, clean, roomy and the bathroom is wonderful - you must go and stay. Frog Beach is on the beach at Aow Yai and you really feel like you are in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We arrived a mess and in bad humor so late at night after finding a place we had been told to stay was fully booked, but Nop and gang showed us kindness we didn't deserve. Lovely, airy, clean bungalows, good food, footsteps from the ocean, no appointments to keep.... Our week there left us with memories that we will always treasure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frog Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Beach House

Address: 15/6 Moo 1 Aow Yai (Big Bay), Ko Phayam 85000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ko Phayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Frog Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.