We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure at Bungle Bungle caravan park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bungle Bungle Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purnululu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungle Bungle Caravan Park
Save
You added Bungle Bungle Caravan Park to your Saves list
Mabel Downs Station, Purnululu National Park, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Adventure at Bungle Bungle caravan park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed at the bungle bungle caravan park and loved it . The toilets were clean and what an experience to have no roof. sure it was basic but we are in the bungle bungles. The tour next day was terrific with Radar the tour guide very knowledgeable and a good guy. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere at night for the meal was terrific . A great experience

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Although technically within the Park boundaries, it's actually 50km from the Bungle Bungles, accessible by 4WD only, so it's a 100km round trip each day, if you'r planning more than a day's stay. You'll need to be self-sufficient & stock up on food etc. The nearest shop is about 100km away. If that's OK then this place is OK too. It's clean & the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great memories are made by people and places. The Bungle Bungles are quite remarkable but our stay there was made memorable by the staff of the Caravan Park as well as the people we met there. We arrived late after the office closing time, on the back of a truck after a breakdown. We were made welcome, fed and watered and after a good nights sleep had a great day in the 4WD bus which took us through the park. We would highly recommend staying at this Caravan Park and taking their bus trip as a great way of seeing the Bungles. While the Park is relatively new and therefore in some ways a bit temporary, the safari camp style and the great staff make for a wonderful experience. I am sure this p[lace will go from strength to strength, it certainly deserves to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in this park from 8-10th August 2013. We found the park basic but clean and the staff friendly. We chose this park due to its closeness to the Bungles as we had booked a helicopter flight from the park itself and had to be there for 9.30am. It took about 1.5 hours drive on the road but as this road is maintained by the State Government don't blame the park or station owners. We had a powered van site and were quite happy with the site we were given. Due to the limited availability of power there were restrictions on some of what we could use when but that wasn't any imposition. We found the ablutions to be clean and enough of them, eight if I remember correctly and there was always enough hot water. There was the coffee van in the morning and evening for hot drinks if you wanted to purchase them. A novel sight in the bush surroundings. As it is classed as a station stay (It is on the Mabel Downs Station) it appears that some facilities were not available. The cattle visiting to graze on the centre lawn area each night was also a treat. We also took the drive in tour which we found very enjoyable (except for having to travel on the road on consecutive days) and the guide very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.
The young girls in the office kept an eye on our little dog for us during the day as we couldn't take her into the national park with us.
I didn't have any dealing with the senior female there but the one time I did come across her there was no friendly nod, or a hello, as mentioned by other reviewers.
On the whole we were happy with our stay and it was much better than driving the 200km+ from Kununurra for the flight, the whole time of which was spent over the Bungle Bungles, hence our booking that particular flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We hated our stay here so much we left straight after our helicopter flights, with extra paid days remaining, we couldn't bear to stay a moment longer. (Spent the next night in a lovely free campsite.) Firstly the campsite has poor quality services, the toilet/shower units are together in the same little cubicle so there was nowhere near enough of them, so even at daybreak, after walking the long hike from the tent site, you still need to have a long wait in the queue to do a quick toilet stop. (All the men in the line usually give up iykwim). The amenities we found to be very dirty and at night it's pot luck if your one has enough light (seems to be battery lit) to even see the interior but when I took my own torch I wished I hadn't :-(
The only reason we were there was we had pre-booked helicopter flights (& we had to pay in full in advance, without confirmation on times or anything.) We found the young phone staff & receptionists very nice & helpful both on the phone and in person, but the senior staff (older husband & wife?) the rudest people we have ever come across. We were not happy with lack of information about our flight times etc but decided to say nothing to the polite reception staff. Later the senior staff member actually came to our campsite to pick a fight(a most upsetting ocurrence) and then threatened to not allow us to fly (after we had paid close to $2000 in advance over the phone for all our family to fly and been obliged to stay in the dreadful campground to wait for our flight.) It's really unbelievable that they can get away with treating people like that. I hope others beware so they don't put themselves through that and waste their time and money. Also the helicopter flight was disappointing, I wished I'd picked another company to fly with. The senior staff here should definately not be working in any position that deals with customer service. To top it all off, as an extra person was put on one of our flights (which reduces our cost) we were due a refund to our credit card. We had to chase the refund which took some weeks. What can I say....just don't do it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philings, Previous Manager at Bungle Bungle Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Sadly this disastrous review stems from the reviewer's mis-understanding of the operational and safety requirements of operating helicopters in a remote and at times hostile area where the highest standards of safety must be met.

Despite Reception showing restraint above and beyond any expectation the reviewer became publicly very volatile particularly when these safety requirements were patiently attempted to be explained that the reviewer's booked flights were not possible because of safety and operational concerns.

(Only one very small landing pad in the Triple Falls Gorge, and formation flying not permissible in some parts of the Bungles restricted area).

Alternative flight scenarios were discussed including a reduction of $100 per seat if another standby passenger could be found if the reviewer was prepared to be flexible with the flight time.

Concerned at this behaviour the front counter staff advised the owner, a veteran of 35 years as a very successful owner of tourism and retail businesses that depend upon meeting or exceeding customer expectations.

Being very concerned the owner visited the reviewer at her campsite in an attempt to calm her down and to ascertain whether such behaviour represented a operational risk within the confines of a small helicopter with doors off and in the presence of other paying passengers. The volatility escalated such that owner offered a full refund of all flight, camping fees unless the reviewer calmed down. Fortunately she did and proceeded with the flights (2 standby passengers were found saving the reviewer $400) but after the flight she and her party left the park without warning or notice at the conclusion of the flights.

Had the reviewer called at reception, a refund for the reduced seat rate for the 3rd standby passenger (and the unused nights) would have been happily and immediately credited to the reviewers account, however this was not possible as for security reasons we do not hold credit card details any customer. and thus not able to issue a refund until we were contacted several days later with these details.

Bungle BungleExpeditions and the park are very very proud of our safety standards and our guests will appreciate that we hold their safety and well being as our highest priority.

In the highly competitive aviation industry we will not compromise on operational safety standards even if this means on rare occasions some customer expectations may not be fully met.

The review is in stark contrast to the many dozens of encouraging comments in our Visitors Book where most people say the flights and tours were the highlights of their Australian trip and exceeded all expectations.

We do however appreciate that at peak times though that if a thoughtless person does not clean up after themselves in the shared toilet facilities it spoils it for all those that follow and when issues are reported to staff they are immediately attended to.

We are all so very disappointed that despite trying very very hard to please the thousands of people that make use of our facilities and tours for the 4 months each year that the vast majority of people visit , the reviewer has chosen this forum to respond in the manner she has.

We take great comfort in the knowledge that the vast silent majority of people that use our park and tours give positive and very encouraging feedback in providing a much wanted facility in a very difficult, demanding and very limited seasonal environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spend two nights this summer.
A quiet spot in the middle of nowhere; and what a stars!!!
Friendly girls at the reception.
A 100% tour the second day into the N.P.
A lot of information while riding to the Cathedral Gorge and Echidna Chasm.
Time enough to walk the trails.
A good lunch and diner.
Water, coffee, tea as much as you needed.
For us it was unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only stayed here because our fly in/hike/overnight/drive out cancelled at the last minute and we had to rearrange our schedule. There were only 4 showers and no laundry and only one grill. The electric and water hookups were too far for our campervan so we had to borrow extensions from the lodge. Fortunately they had them for us. We took the drive in tour and were please to be able to go at our own pace. The guide was great about letting us know what to do and when to be back and leaving us to explore on our own. The included meal after this day trip was the worst I have ever had. I even went back to our camper to get salt and pepper to try to add flavor because they wouldn't provide any. The cost of this meal is $25 normally. Do not do it! Lunch on the day trip just had deli meats and salad and unhealthy wraps, no fruit which is unusual. The airflight the next morning was only 30 minutes and most of the time spent getting there and back. It would not have hurt them to do an extra circle or two as the view did depend on which side of the plane one was on. Usually air tours do enough circles for everyone to get the view. This one did not and we felt cheated on this excursion. Would not do this again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungle Bungle Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungle Bungle Caravan Park

Address: Mabel Downs Station, Purnululu National Park, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Purnululu National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Purnululu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungle Bungle Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.