We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great/facilities lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bungle Bungle Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purnululu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungle Bungle Caravan Park
Mabel Downs Station, Purnululu National Park, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Location great/facilities lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only stayed here because our fly in/hike/overnight/drive out cancelled at the last minute and we had to rearrange our schedule. There were only 4 showers and no laundry and only one grill. The electric and water hookups were too far for our campervan so we had to borrow extensions from the lodge. Fortunately they had them for us. We took the drive in tour and were please to be able to go at our own pace. The guide was great about letting us know what to do and when to be back and leaving us to explore on our own. The included meal after this day trip was the worst I have ever had. I even went back to our camper to get salt and pepper to try to add flavor because they wouldn't provide any. The cost of this meal is $25 normally. Do not do it! Lunch on the day trip just had deli meats and salad and unhealthy wraps, no fruit which is unusual. The airflight the next morning was only 30 minutes and most of the time spent getting there and back. It would not have hurt them to do an extra circle or two as the view did depend on which side of the plane one was on. Usually air tours do enough circles for everyone to get the view. This one did not and we felt cheated on this excursion. Would not do this again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night at Bungle Bungle Caravan Park and our feelings are mixed. The location is great - right on the highway at the entrance to Purnululu National Park (the Bungles). This makes it possible for self-drivers like us to have almost a whole day in the park, and exit in time to be off the road before dark (recommended due to animals). The accommodation we took up is also appealing - queen-bedded ensuite safari tent with a cooked evening meal and breakfast. But the devil was in the detail. Three years ago, we understand there was nothing here so my hat is off to the proprietors for their vision and industry. But the rawness shows. Meals are served in a tent and cooked in a camp kitchen. The two-course meal was soup and a fairly bland curry (no options). BYO alcohol. There were not sufficient glasses by the time we came through the line, and no one seemed to know where to get more. But - the chef honoured my dietary issues (no onion) and my meal was good if simple. We were given battery powered lights for our tent, but of the three we were given, two failed within 15 minutes. This was the biggest issue for our party - the tents were very attractive but it was too dark to move around at all! Electronics had to be charged in the office (phones, cameras, etc) but the office closed at 6 pm (which made it hard to get a new light for the tent). When I raised the lighting issue with the senior person in the morning, she brushed off my comments. And no one warned us about the 6 am helicopter take-off just at the back of our tent. This place could totally change the face of travel into and out of Purnululu by flying people in for sunrise and bringing them out by tour bus. But they will need to lift their game at the park itself. However, if you go in expecting a sort of "base camp" experience for travellers making their way in and out of Purnululu, it has a certain appeal. But take a good torch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Book in started OK, then computer did not work (acceptable). On checking our receipt we found we had been overcharged $30 - an honest mistake. This was quickly corrected by what I assume are backpackers on staff. These girls are terrific - polite, informative, great happy disposition and appear to want to help the people who are paying their wages - the customers.

The older office staff need a huge attitude change as well as a personality transplant. No "hello, thank you, good morning, can I help you" - just a blank stare in our direction. We were booking an expensive helicopter flight over the Purnululu NP ( $250 per person for 30 minutes) There was no explanation of what we were buying, what we could or could not take with us, the route we would be flying or even how much it cost - we had to ask !!!!!. It was just a mater of hand over the card, here is your receipt and be there at 10 minutes before flight time. This was so different to other flights and booking office service we have received in other parts of WA and NT that it came as a shock.
These people should realise that WE are the people who PAY THEIR WAGES. Without us they are on the dole as there are not too many jobs in air conditioned offices in this part of the world and if they move to the city with an attitude like that, they are unemployable.
The park itself is quite OK but an smiling face and helpful attitude in the front office is absolutely essential,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As tour operators we are always looking for great places to stay & this is certainly one of them! Comfy eco-tents, friendly staff, good food & perfect location. We take our clients here on our 4WD tag-along-tours & recommend it as a stop en-route to the Bungles to anyone else heading that way. You can even store your caravan here for a few days & head out to the Bungles in your 4WD.

Well done, Colin & team! A great addition to the Kimberley region!

Jan & Jeremy
GLOBAL GYPSIES TOURS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed in the Safari Tents at the Bungle Bungle Caravan park with a group of friends and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities. The beds were amazingly comfortable, (really really good) and the tents were large, well set out and maintained. The staff looked after us really well, including things like powering up our phones and camera batteries (the tents were un-powered, but included lights). The showers were terrific, clean with good water pressure, (for an outback campsite where water is scarce) and there was never a queue.
We loved the big camp fire at night, cooking on the big bbq and the communal dining area, which included tea and coffee making facilities, and cool water.
The only draw back to this site is the long drive into the Bungle Bungles from the caravan park. It is only 53 km, but it is a very rough winding road that takes an hour and a half. It would have been better to camp in the Bungles themselves, but we did not have the necessary camping gear.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

what a dirty place ;expensive $35 unpowered & $20 just to store the van per day whilst a trip into the np is undertaken; ill mannered staff & what is growing in those toilet / showers heaven knows; one of the worst places we have ever visited. take our advice stay out on the freesites on the hwy on the halls ck side; We dont live or travel 5* but we do like good polite service even if the place is only 1* sure hope that they don't get permission to keep the place going

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's great to see a little imagination, a young park but certainly heading in the right direction, offering elevated safari style ensuite tents to the basic,as well good caravan parking facilities. The staff were terrific and knowledgable with all tour options including road and or air trips to the Bungles an additional pleasure was the availability of a sea plane to take you from the Bungles to a company owned pleasure yacht on the Ord. and then to share your experiences with like minded under the covered communal camp fire marque where you can enjoy a prepared meal.(a great experience) An other plus is that you don't have to knock up your vehicles on the long run to the Bungles.

Room Tip: Treat your self to an ensuite tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bungle Bungle Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungle Bungle Caravan Park

Address: Mabel Downs Station, Purnululu National Park, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Purnululu National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Purnululu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungle Bungle Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bungle Bungle Caravan Park to your Saves list