We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be a Relais Chateau hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux to your Saves list
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux
6, Route du Stade | Bordeaux, 33450 Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This should be a Relais Chateau hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Outstanding old chateau which is beautifully restored. All furnishings appear the highest quality. In our recent 3 week trip through Spain and France, the bed at Chateau Lamothe was by far the most comfortable and luxurious we encountered. Big, very well appointed bedroom and a bathroom to match with lots of antiques throughout. Large, walk in shower and big separate bath tub for relaxing. The grounds are exceptionally well kept, and it is very cool to stay in a "castle" surrounded by a real moat. The location, while quiet and rural, makes trips to St Emilion and Bordeaux easy. Carla is a welcoming host, inviting you to use a community refrigerator as well as plates and utensils to cater your own picnic at any of the available places on the extensive grounds. Breakfasts are extensive with fruit, breads, pastries, cheese, meat and eggs cooked to order. Dinner at the Chateau was a bit overpriced for what was presented, but the room as a B & B reservation was a bargain. You are getting Relais Chateau quality at a lesser price than an RC property.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Absolute bliss. This is a lovely retreat from the daily grind of Bordeaux. A wonderful in between for people that have a car and wish to visit Saint Emilion (about 20 minutes away) and Bordeaux (about 30 minutes away). The Chateau and the grounds are breath taking. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, the beds are divine- like sleeping on clouds! Make sure that you have the breakfast, it's the best breakfast I've ever had and what a setting!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Attractive, comfortable, clean, quiet and friendly chateau. Carla, the owner, was very friendly and efficient. Our best three days in a ten day Spanish/French trip. Well placed for visiting Bordeaux and the wine areas. Have your own picnic dinner plus wine on the terrace overlooking the moat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be the same excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

What an amazing place! Best location, right in the middle between Bordeaux and Saint Emilion. Beautiful suite, stunning view of the gardens, and wonderful breakfast served by the owner Carla which was very kind and helpful. She helped us plan our days and even booked restaurants and vineyards visits. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, RU
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We spent 3 amazing nights at this property and unfortunately due to our hard schedule of visiting Bordeaux wineries we didn't have enough time to spend more time in chateau itself.
Every modern comfort is provided in the gorgeous rooms and fabulous bathrooms.
The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure ant temperature were perfect (which is a rare thing in chateau-lodgings).
I can only second all those nice words about the Carla's candle-light breakfasts - it is now one of the sweetest memories!! I have mentioned that I am intolerant to cow's milk - next morning I was served 4 or 5 different sheep/goat cheeses. Heavenly tasty homemade jams. Lots of useful tips about dining and visiting in the area.
I am impressed! This is what I call 'genuine hospitality'.
We had a room upstairs with a four-poster bed and we will miss it so much...
I hope to be back to Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir some day!!
Thanks a lot, Carla!!! Brava!!! Compliments!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccles, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Owner Carla's Chateau is absolutely the best place to stay. The Chateau is behind electrically operated gates at the end of a long private road running through the extensive grounds.
There is an honesty bar, a swimming pool, a moat with ducks, swans and fish, lots of places to walk around, fantastic rooms furnished with antique furniture.
Carla's breakfasts are superb and she is a wonderful host who is always happy to help you.

We stayed in a first floor room which comprised two rooms; a huge bedroom and a bathroom. The shower room was in an area of the bathroom that was in one of the round turrets.
In the evening you can sit out on the terrace drinking wine and looking at the stars.

The one thing about the village where the Chateau is located is there isn't a restaurant open for evening meals. There is a pizzeria and a boulangerie the latter closing at around 1930 weekdays. You have to travel a few km to visit a restaurant in the evening - not a problem if you have a car - or simply eat earlier at a local restaurant that closes at 1730.

Having said that this Chateau is a superb place to base yourself for a few days. It is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire united kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We had a wonderful four night stay at Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir during our summer holiday this year and enjoyed every minute. We were given a very warm welcome by Carla the hostess, who showed us to our room on the first floor. It was heavenly and overlooked the magnificent grounds and moat on which white swans were gliding.We liked the whole ambiance of the chateau. When we were there our fellow guests were a very friendly crowd and we spent a few evenings sitting out on the terrace drinking good wine and exchanging stories. It was quite cloudy for most of the time so we only used the beautiful pool once. Breakfasts should have been on the terrace but the weather forced us inside where to our great delight the breakfast was candlelit. Our dog Holly, came with us on this holiday, her first time in France. I would like to say an especially big thank you to Carla for the way she made her so welcome and also a doggy thank you to Lady for sharing her home (and dinner!!!) with Holly.

Room Tip: Our room was called Prince Noir and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux

Address: 6, Route du Stade | Bordeaux, 33450 Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Lamothe, in situated the heart of the Bordeaux region is only 30 minutes from the international airport. Positioned equidistant between Bordeaux and St Emilion - 25 minutes drive- you are perfectly positioned to explore wine country. Tucked away in a rural environment within a small village, surrounded by its own spring fed moat with its swans and ducks.This private château has recently changed ownership, the property has just undergone large renovations and has been tastefully restored, modernised and decorated to provide a delightful French home with a high level of service and comfort. The bedrooms are luxiously and tastefully decorated all with en-suite bathrooms. Breakfasts are served either in our dinning room or our stunning South facing terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Lamothe Du Prince Noir - Bordeaux Hotel Saint-Sulpice-Et-Cameyrac
Chateau Lamothe Du Prince Noir - Bordeaux France/Saint-Sulpice-Et-Cameyrac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.