We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux
50 route de soulac | Gaillan, 33340 Gaillan-en-Medoc, France (Formerly Hotel Chateau Layauga)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to this hotel, given the website and reviews on Tripadvisor, however was disappointed.
It is right on a busy road and the garden is not particularly good, although it is spacious. The room is large and clean but it seems like some kind of 80s refurb, not any imagination shown.
Dinner is excellent and good value and breakfast is good, but I did not think it lived up to expectations.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales 99
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were struggling to find a hotel in the Medoc/ Bordeaux area, and came across this by chance. In sweltering heat, we needed effective air con, and wanted a hotel with good food. The hotel did not say that it had air con, and rather underplayed itself; it is next door to a busy road too, so we booked it online, and took the risk. There are no big signs on the road pointing the way.

Happily, it way outperformed our expectations. The rooms are very comfortable and large with great air con, and with no noise from the neighbouring road. As the name implies, the grounds are very pleasant, and a first class meal out in the garden was much enjoyed on both evenings. The hotel is in the North Medoc, 90 mins from Bordeaux, but it is close to some very good beaches, is close to the famous and not so famous vineyards, and there is much to do and see locally, including an excellent oyster market 20 mins up the road. The owner, Michelle, is English, and her husband is the chef. They are happy you for you to drink your own bottles, charging minimal corkage, which is a bonus if you are flying home. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a find this place was ! Can thoroughly recommend it. Our dinner was just amazing, best food we had on our 2 week holiday served outside in a glorious setting. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A Chateau made so special by the warmth of service care and amazing food a quality restaurant in its own right We had a wonderful large bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor Everywhere such good quality A great location for touring the northern Medoc for its wineries and coast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming small palace with approx 10 rooms. Nicely decorated rooms. The garden is beautiful with a nice pond and big lawn. Dinner was very good. The only thing missing was a a swimmingpool. Staff, including the owner, are very friendy and servieminded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Michele and Jean have created just that -- a homey-feeling chateau! It's a lovely spot, well located in the Medoc. Our room was on the ground floor in the front of the Chateau and it was huge. Michele was incredibly helpful and set up a full day of winery tours for us - and she picked the perfect wineries to visit. She also recommended all of the top sights in the area and gave us a very helpful map. We had the prix fixe menu at the Chateau's restaurant - Jean is a terrific chef and the meal was excellent (and so reasonably priced too). We had a superb bottle of wine (recommended by Michele) and sat in the solarium as the sun set, having a nice chat with Michele and Jean. We felt so at-home and well taken care of at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay on the ground floor but next time I would request a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I only spent one night at Beau Jardin but wish we had stayed longer. Everything was so perfect. First, the hotel is a beautiful Chateau. Our room which was the cheapest room of the hotel was large and very comfortable. We had a wonderful 3-course dinner at the hotel for only EUR25! The choice of wine was great as you would expect and prices were surprisingly affordable. But what made our experience truly unique is the wonderful personality of Michel and Jean who have been managing the hotel for 7 years now. Michele is the most gracious host you could find: extremely friendly and attentive. Jean is the wonderful chef. What a talented couple, so passionate about giving their customers the best possible experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux

Address: 50 route de soulac | Gaillan, 33340 Gaillan-en-Medoc, France (Formerly Hotel Chateau Layauga)
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Gaillan-en-Medoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaillan-en-Medoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of the Médoc and the appellations of Haut Médoc, St Estephe, Pauillac, St Julien, Moulis, Listrac & Margaux lie between Bordeaux and our Chateau. Don’t forget to make time for a beach visit as well! There are miles of fabulous beaches just 10 minutes drive from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beau Jardin Bordeaux
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux France/Gaillan-En-Medoc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin - Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.