We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“"Stress Relief 101"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat to your Saves list
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Patricio
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Stress Relief 101"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to La Paloma in less than 3 years. When you exit your taxi, Kyla and Antonio are there to welcome you. As you enter the Retreat through the large wooden door, into the Garden area you can see the meticulous handywork of Rolando the gardener. At about this time you can feel the everyday life stressors start to melt away. A short stroll down the red brick walkways will take you to whatever studio you may have selected. If you are a first timer you will realize the pictures on the website do not do this place justice. And if you are a returning guest you can witness the hard work of the staff in the off season. Once you have placed your belongings in your room you can have Antonio make you a beverage while you book your Massage by Norma or a Pedi and Mani by Dona' Angeles. (Yes, they come to the Retreat) then witness one of the most beautiful sunsets you will ever see. You awake in the morning to the continental breakfast and the best fresh squeezed O.J. on the planet courtesy of Isabelle. I could ramble on forever but if you are thinking of coming to Melaque you won't find a nicer place. At La Paloma you get that personal touch you won't find in a large Hotel or Resort. Thanks again Nancy, Kyla, Antonio, The staff and of course The dogs.

Room Tip: There is not a bad Studio on the property. It depends what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just returned from La Paloma for the 12th time in as many years. As always everything was as we expected... Perfect! Nancy and Kyla made us feel at home again and Isabelle Raul, Rolando and Tonio were ready to help in their own special ways. It is beautiful place that is well maintained and so close to everything in Melaque that we would not think of going elsewhere! Morning breakfasts and coffee with old and new friends make this a home away from home.

Room Tip: We have stayed in many different rooms and each one has it's own special ambiance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful two weeks at La Paloma and would highly recommend it, BUT we don't want anyone else to discover it!! Many people have said exactly what we feel/felt about our stay there: comfortable, accommodating, great location, private, fantastic views etc.
We are big fans of Mexico and have vacationed at different places there but we will have a hard time topping this location and accommodation.
Kudos to the staff, especially Nancy, Kyla and Antonio, for making this a most memorable holiday.

Room Tip: All suites are very nice but the primo one is Unit 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Through the heavy wooden front door we entred the garden sanctuary of La Paloma... cool, quite, beautifully landscaped and inviting, it became our sanctuary from the noisy world beyond.

We were housed (literally) in Room #4 with outdoor kitchen and dinning room for 8 and surrounding patios with room to throw a large party. In our case, room for 12 for a morning yoga session. The ajoining bedroom and beautifully appointed living room were larger too than most hotels we've stayed in yet intimate and inviting.

La Paloma is truly a wonderful property owned and operated by equally wonderful people on a terrific stretch of wild beach. We will almost certainly come back.

Thank you to Nancy and her staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

La Paloma's greatest strength (apart from beautiful, comfortable accommodations and the Pacific Ocean right out front) is its staff. You feel like you've been invited into a friend's home (which you have been) and treated like a friend.
The only drawback to our stay was the noise in the neighbourhood, lots of festivities, loudspeakers, firecrackers - but we were there in the week leading up to St. Patrick's Day - the patron saint of the local parish (San Patricio) - so even though sleep was interrupted sometimes, it was all very exciting.

Room Tip: If you want a full-sized apartment with a kitchen, ask for one of the third floor studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just finished a wonderful week-long Yoga Retreat at La Paloma, Melaque. I am more than excited to tell everyone that this was a perfect location for such a retreat. Twenty individuals, enjoying daily yoga exercise, morning class near the pool and sunset meditation on the beach. The grounds are ideal for both yoga and also for relaxing. Daily breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice. Antonio makes a great hamburger! There are also many wonderful cafes and restaurants available in the neighbourhood, supplying great food - specially Cafe Calypsos on the corner. We had a fantastic time and made many friends! Will look forward to next year. Kyla and Antonio, Isabel and the other staff members did a fantastic job of making sure that everyone was happy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a week stay here, first time there but know I will be back numerous times! This hidden oasis is very relaxing with great pool, beautiful gardens,awesome murals on all the walls, very nice rooms with fridge and stove all dishes etc. and bottled water. Every room is unique and have great decks to relax and watch the ocean and sunsets. Your room includes a continental breakfast and they have other items you can order for a more hearty breakfast. There were a lot of repeat visitors that stay for 4-10 weeks every year and has a very friendly atmosphere! Staff are excellent and very helpful. I had my 87 yr. mother with me and she thought it was just great!

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront or ocean view unit for best views, if you want to just relax the garden view st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Address: Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > San Patricio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Patricio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque seaside town of Melaque, the beauty and serenity of old Mexico lives on. Here at La Paloma, an intimate resort, culture and traditional hospitality combine with modern technology and the singular artistic vision of its owners. Conveniently located a couple of blocks from the town square and shopping, yet when you step through the gate, you're miles away from the world outside in a safe, secure, garden paradise. Each of the 14 different rooms have their own uniqueness with wonderful views and amenities designed for your comfort. We are not your average hotel... We are your Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Hotel San Patricio
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Mexico/San Patricio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.