We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“La Paloma Oceanside Retreat for a Relaxing Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Save Saved
You added La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San Patricio
Stockton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“La Paloma Oceanside Retreat for a Relaxing Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The wallpaper on my cell phone is a photo that I took from studio 14 at the La Paloma Oceanside Retreat. It makes me smile. Our 7 day stay during the week of March 9th was problematic for only one reason: it was far too short.

Studio 14 is very spacious, and the living/kitchen room, bedroom and bathroom are all comfortable. The view is fantastic. Not obvious in the pictures found on the La Paloma's website is the fact that there are many windows opening onto the pool/beach view, including those in the bedroom. Unique among the studios, the living area has a huge sectional sofa, and it will easily sleep a 3rd person. Our adult son occupied that space happily, as he joined us on a break from his two jobs and an opportunity to surf in Mexico. This leads to thoughts about the staff. Kyla and Antonio were extremely helpful in describing places to explore, and with just about anything one needs. Kyla's brother, the bartender across the road at Maya, a great tapas restaurant, is the local surfing expert. Our son had a trip to remember, making friends with Germain, and using his advice to find the very best spots to surf.

La Paloma's atmosphere is relaxing, with well-tended gardens and a beautiful pool. The common eating area is very comfortable. The continental breakfast, which is more than just toast, includes fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice. The bread for the toast, by the way, is delicious. You can, for a small fee, have a variety of protein-filled breakfast dishes fixed for you by Isabella.

We happened to be in San Patricio during the week before Dia de San Patricio. Parades were a part of every day and night, and the zocalo was full of mellow residents of all ages on the night of the exciting burning of the huge firework bull.

Summarizing, La Paloma is a very comfortable, friendly place to stay in a 'non-resorty' town. There are plenty of really good, reasonably priced restaurants to enjoy. We only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at La Paloma 8 years ago and then January 2012. Our room (#4) was very large and comfortable. Property amenities were first class. Staff (office, hskping, kitchen, etc) all very friendly and welcoming. Room very clean. Property very well maintained and well run

Room Tip: Most rooms have full or partial ocean view. Check retreat website for accurate discription of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The La Paloma webpage does not do this facility justice. If you think the pictures are amazing just come check it out, the suites are fantastic, the staff are incredible and my new best friend is Casey (the watchdog) My wife and I have been to Mexico many times but are first-timers here in Melaque. A pleasant surprise indeed!!! We travelled with another couple that were sceptical (having never been to Mexico before) They were happy to have made the journey putting to rest how dangerous it is for Canadians to travel to Mexico. Saturdays at La Paloma are alot of fun, as the goodbyes in the morning just mean there will be new people to greet or old aquaintances to renew in the afternoon. Everyone at La Paloma, staff and guests will give advise on the best places to eat or shop, and if you can't find that particular something Antonio or Kyla will find it for you. My wife and I will be back in December 2012 and our friends will be back in 2014. Thanks La Paloma staff and the guests that were there during our stay for making this one of our best holidays ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The setting is gorgeous, the facilities allow as much fraternizing or privacy as you wish. While you are right on the beach, you are raised enough that passersby do not see in the walled swimming and bungalow area. Access to and from the beach on one side and town on the other are quite simple and secure. We were first-timers and immediately met another guest having his morning continental breakfast who provided us with great tidbits for getting around the area--especially since we arrived by taxi. The people who own and work at La Paloma make you feel as if the place is yours and are very friendly and helpful. Most of the artwork is for sale!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at La Paloma the last two years and like so many of the wonderful people that we've met there, we'll be returning again. La Paloma is "an oasis"....... beautiful, unique and incredibly charming. The staff are professional, helpful and very welcoming. Melaque is Mexico at it's best, and La Paloma is the best place to stay in Melaque!!

Room Tip: All the suites are different but each one is charming in it's own way. Most have beautiful ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

La Paloma offers just what other reviewers have stated: friendly, dedicated staff, lovely surroundings, well-appointed suites, breakfast by the pool, the ocean steps away, Antonio's great margaritas, Kyla's attention to details and the choice of staying close to home or venturing out into Melaque and area. The weather was perfect for our visit, Melaque provided all sorts of exploration and eating adventures, and The Bike Baron's bikes provided another mode of transport to get us further than we had previously walked. Each evening brought us the sunset show, literally on our doorstep, with action provided by the local skim boarders riding the waves, and Antonio providing libation. In fact, that is happening right now down there as I write this from up in snowy BC! One of the special events organized by the staff was a potluck Thanksgiving Dinner on American Thanksgiving. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character and features. We had a kitchenette the first week and a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Being a new-comer to Mexico I felt at home with greetings from Kyla an Paco. La Paloma is not an all-inclusive; it's a safe have that enables you to venture out into unspoiled Mexico and immerse yourself in it. My daily routing would typically be: 1) 7:30 wakup and Isabella or Raul would have the morning coffee service started. Wait for some people I befriended and have toach .... and more coffe; all the while staring absently out at the ocean, hearing the birds and watching for a fishing opportunity. Then a swim in the pool after playing with Casey, a shot of Mexican tequila and then off into the Melaque. 2 hours later return to La Paloma and sun up, and swim in ocean and / or spool. Relax .... ahhhh I was do relaxed. The people the run La Palolma including Nancy, Richard, Kyla, Isabella, Raul, Ronaldo and others, are conscientious and caring. The friends I met there were special. It was a home-away from hole ... legitimately. And La Paloma is located so well to take advantage of local, unspoiled, Mexican restaurants and shops. Security of the premise not an iaaue, and I personally felt comfortable outside the La Paloma gate after dark. I've already booked my time at La Paloma for same time next year. It's changed me.

Room Tip: Studio 14 is the most palacial uite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Address: Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > San Patricio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San Patricio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque seaside town of Melaque, the beauty and serenity of old Mexico lives on. Here at La Paloma, an intimate resort, culture and traditional hospitality combine with modern technology and the singular artistic vision of its owners. Conveniently located a couple of blocks from the town square and shopping, yet when you step through the gate, you're miles away from the world outside in a safe, secure, garden paradise. Each of the 14 different rooms have their own uniqueness with wonderful views and amenities designed for your comfort. We are not your average hotel... We are your Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Hotel San Patricio
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Mexico/San Patricio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.