We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Montalcinese Food in an Amazing Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pozzo

Il Pozzo
Piazza Castello 1 Sant Angelo in Colle, 53024 Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino, Italy
+39 0577 844015
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Winery, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Montalcinese Food in an Amazing Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've eaten here at least 20 times since 1996, and have never, ever been disappointed. Sant'Angelo in Colle is one of the most stunning view points in all of Tuscany...you can see for tens of miles in every direction from here, and in every direction is fabulous countryside, covered with acres and acres of olives and grapes. Wow.

And tucked away in a small corner of this tiny village is a fantastic, modest place serving the best of Montalcinese/Tuscan chow: homemade pastas, wonderful grilled meats, and tasty vegetables. I will say that, back in the 1990s, this place was even better when a woman named Laura was in the kitchen, she was a very talented cook who introduced me to some rare specialties of the area including pancetta al forno...I don't ever see it on the menu anymore, but I think if you called ahead, maybe they would do it...worth the effort.

Anyway, try the pici (pinci), a hand-rolled spaghetti native to this area of southern Siena province. It is served in a number of ways, and I've tried 'em all, but really love the version with red pepper oil, but that is not on the menu these days, so ask for it. Also the version with breadcrumbs called briciole, and the tomato/garlic version called "all'agliona". You can also get it with different meat sauces including wild boar.

Try the grilled meats, or the stewed cinghiale (wild boar). I really like the fillet with green peppercorn sauce, though in the Laura-era, it was more thickly cut, and more delicious.

The house wine is fine, but you are in the middle of Brunello country, so try a Brunello, or a Rosso di Montalcino instead. Well worth the extra bucks.

This place is only 15 minutes outside Montalcino, maybe an hour south of Siena, so if you are in the area, do stop by. You can make a sidetrip here from your visit to the Banfi Castle down the road, or if you know the right backroad, check it out after a visit to Sant'Antimo. You will not be sorry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    103
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat like a local.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a wonderful time here. I had the best gnocchi I've ever had, the frito misto was light and tasty. The service we will return.q

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lunch in Il Pozzo was great. House red wine and prosecco superb. We shared a plate of pici with meat ragu and roast loin of pork and the T-bone steak which were fantastic.
The restaurant was relaxed and welcoming with a mixture of locals and tourists. The staff could not do enough for us.
A little off the beaten track but most definitely worth the effort to visit.
We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Do not miss this excellent authentic food, off the known tracks, in a beautiful small village on top of the hill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were recommended to eat here by local people, otherwise we would never climb the top of the 400m hill to come to San Angelo in Colle for a lunch. The village is nice, with old church and some frescoes from 14 century. On a small square with a well (Il pozzo in italian) there is a restaurant. This October was very warm, we seated outside and the lady heartily welcomed us. For appetizers we had one mix of antipasti, good, more or less standard, twice tortellini with spinach, ricotta and salvia/sage, very tasty, simple but excellent typical food and gnocchi all ragu, also typical and very good. We were drinking local Sangiovese of very good quality. As main course I asked for Fegatelli, Tuscan specialty, piece of veal liver, seasoned with mix of herbs and pepper, rolled in diaphragm and grilled. Marvellous, sharp taste of pepper with liver taste and the crispy crust of diaphragm was unusual. Friends asked for pinci with wild boar, excellent as well and wild boar on grill.
Slightly less than 100 Euro for 4 people - excellent and authentic food. In case you will be in the area, definitely do not miss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Family run, warm and friendly. Food was delicious. They were out of the wine we requested and had to run back to the cellar for our second choice. They were so apologetic! A lovely experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pozzo also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino
 

Been to Il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.