We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Ripoff Ever. Terrible Food, Outrageous Prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe La Ramblas

Caffe La Ramblas
Sestiere Santa Croce 373, 30135, Italy
041 5244609
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,450 of 1,634 Restaurants in City of Venice
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Biggest Ripoff Ever. Terrible Food, Outrageous Prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had the "Prawn Cocktail" which was comprised of tiny little canned shrimp engulfed in MAYONNAISE! Owner should spend more time on quality of food, and less in the tourist trapping game. Overall disgusted and let it distort my overall view of Venice. YES, THAT BAD.

I eventually gave the owner one chance to take the "Prawns" off my bill before I scattered the rest of his ill-fated customer.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    12
    14
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming Owner, Average Food, Hidden Cover Charge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Lured by the owners charming personality but left with a bad taste in my mouth. Lasagna was average but the hidden cover charge made it taste worse. Beware or avoid. Probably better choices out there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't bother eating here - Plenty of better places”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had eaten in the restaurant on a previous trip to Venice some years ago. It was excellent then, but not now. It was the worse meal we had eaten in Venice. The service was slow. It was chilly outside and so we went inside. Big mistake, as it is very small and we were seated right next to the doors that you had to go through to access the toilet doors. When the food eventually arrived the recommended grilled vegetables were tasteless and the fish was mediocre. My wife ordered salmon and this arrived as a small piece and nothing else, apart from some lettuce. My sons pizza was ok but not great. The whole meal was overpriced and when I went to pay I told the person who took the money that it was the worse meal we had had since being in Venice. She made no real comment. Do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grums, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We fell in the trap too.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Payed for meal €18. Then ordered cake and coffee without checking price. Cake was €45. Then charged additional hidden fees €24.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ripped off in Venice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Read on trip advisor that restaurants near bus terminal in Venice tend to be more reasonable than centre of town - not in this restaurant. Charmed by the head waiter, Food was nice, we ordered Cannelloni, and a Pizza costing 9 euros each. We also had a Martini and Lemonade, and a small beer. When the bill came we were charged 16 euros for the drinks, plus cover charge, plus service charge the bill was 50 euros. Disputed the bill with the waiter, moral of the story -dont touch this restaurant. We had much better meals on other evenings near St Marks Square for about 35 euros.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe La Ramblas also viewed

 

Been to Caffe La Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe La Ramblas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.