We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lantern Court Motel to your Saves list
Lantern Court Motel
63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Reefton may not be on the 'must-visit' list of most visitors.So it took us seven trips to come here but it's definitely worth it. Endless tramping option in the area and a nice little town that has all you need. Well, more dinner options in town would be nice.
Lantern Court Motel is an excellent base for your stay, absolutely central, walking distance to good breakfasts at the bakery and everything else.
Nice modern rooms with all the amenities, nice hosts and good service. The continuous balcony might be irritating but that way the modern building perfectly matches the old hotel - really well done from the architects.

Room Tip: We had a 4 star room n the modern building, There are also simpler rooms in the original historic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous night we enjoyed here at this hotel. We were provided with the two bedroom apartment upstairs with a full balcony. The apartment was lovely and well appointed. Sitting outside on the balcony early evening was especially nice hearing the stream, it was most relaxing. The staff member was so lovely and nothing was a problem. Would highly recommend the Lantern Court Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is a real gem! The staff was super friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. The motel has a quaint, mid-century feel. We were driving across the South island and found Reefton to be the perfect place for a break. The manager showed us around the property as well as suggesting where to get a bite to eat. She also told us a brief history about the town. Very nice! The heart of town is basically one main street with a few restaurants and shops. We ate at the inn down the street (Wilson Hotel) and had a wonderful meal that was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Reasonable prices. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Reefton is a quaint little town and the scenery and bushwalks between Reefton and Lewis Pass are great. If you're planning to arrive late, be aware that the cafes and pubs can close fairly early.

Room Tip: We stayed in renovated 4* studio, but cheaper and older 2* 2br units looked OK to me on inspection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, our 4 star two bedroom unit (number 7) was comfortable and well-equipped, but the bedrooms were too small for our liking. We stayed there as part of a motorcycle trip to the South Island and were delighted to be offered space in the garage to store our motorbikes overnight. The roads in and out of Reefton are delightful and although it is a small town with few facilities it is a much nicer alternative to staying at Greymouth.

I booked our stay at the Lantern Court through the Jasons web site; this was a bad move and I would strongly recommend that you contact the motel direct if you want to make a booking as the Jasons web site struck me as poor and the confirmation only served to confuse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in the new section/annex which is 4* accom with balcony area with 2 bedrooms, large lounge/dining area/kitchen and spacious bathroom. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Staff were very helpful in suggesting places to eat in the town and booked our onward accommodation for us before leaving. Not an over-abundance of on-site parking, this may be due to the hotel's central location, but plenty of street parking which is safe. Although it rained hard whilst we were in Reefton we found it a quaint town undergoing regeneration at present. Lots of places to see around Reefton reflecting it's gold/coal mining history.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lantern Court Motel to anyone visiting this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently stayed in Reefton at the Lantern Court. The owner met us on arrival and was very welcoming and suggested things we could do in reefton.
The room was lovely as these are fairly new, they were decorated inside with attention to detail really well. The bed was big and comfortable, the lighting was nice, we were on the ground floor and we had a nice patio with french doors opening out. The bathroom was lovely it was nice to see a lovely polished wooden toilet seat in a new motel, every time we entered the bathroom the fan went on not sure how but it did, must have been triggered by movement quite good. The amenities were very good and good cooking facilities with hobs and microwave which was also a convection one.
We had a lovely two days there. Thank You. Garry and Lorna New Plymouth
If you have never been to Reefton dont pass it by stay a while theres more than the main street.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in the new block would be the same, the others had a balcony but our view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantern Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Court Motel

Address: 63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Reefton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.