We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siolim House

Save Saved
You added Siolim House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siolim House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wadi, Near St. Anthony's Church | Siolim, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Siolim B&B and Inns
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

went back to Siolim after 6 years, concerned that it might have changed - but, apart from some improvements to the bathrooms and pool, nothing has changed thank goodness and it is just as lovely as it ever was. The beds are huge and comfortable, the staff endlessly helpful and welcoming and the food is delicious. It appears that if it is you that they ask first about dinner you can more or less choose your menu. After that stage it is a set meal though there is always veg or non-veg choice I think. It was unseasonably hot for March - daytime temperatures often over 35 and we were very comfortable in a vast first floor, non-aircon room - wide open windows and very effective fans were much nicer than chilly air-conditioning. Rock and roll it is not, nor is it an international hotel with a business centre for those who need to be online all the time. A relaxed place to appreciate the marvellous restoration of a grand old house, chat with fellow guests, eat authentic local food and enjoy the peace of the beautiful garden and pool...yes it is.

Room Tip: The suites are simply enormous and very comfortable and stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
64
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A rambling, charismatic 17th Century house, lovingly restored by the owner when in his mid 20s (around the mid / late 1990s) – a three year project at the time, completed with great attention to detail and an eye for style and elegance – has produced a truly magical environment.
There is a real stone pool in a beautiful garden, lush with vegetation which is a great place to hang out and sun yourself, read or meditate – if that’s what you are in to.
Every corner you turn and every direction you look at and every room you peek into here is an visual delight.
There are just seven rooms – I booked a ‘superior’ suit on the first floor, which was spacious with a massive high ceilinged bathroom (a large shower cubicle and no bath) as well with a window overlooking the pool / garden. Airy and comfortable (fine without AC in March), although there was no desk or WIFI in the rooms – not great for me as I need to be online most of the time!
There’s also no fridges in the rooms, but you can store your favourite drinks in the kitchen fridges.
The staff are really friendly, obliging and ready to please … and the house dog Blackie is great fun!
You have the option to eat in for dinner (served poolside), but you have to let them know by lunchtime as they buy the produce fresh each day. I didn’t go for that!
The location is great for exploring north Goa – very central, and nothing is far away. Siolim House also has a tie ups with certain local taxis who are reliable, reasonably priced and (in my experience) all pleasant and informative drivers.
The WIFI is only available in the Restaurant, which is one of the communal areas next door to the pool – and so I spent a lot of time there! It was free and most of the time a good quality signal, however this also meant that you had the share your office space with everyone else who happened to be staying. This is not always ideal!
The other drawback for me was that all the guests staying there that weekend seemed to want to live in silence.
I’m the first to admit that I am not the quietest of people – and I am also quite manic – not in a hooligan style, but I am ways busy .. and my voice does get quite boomey, especially when excited, on the phone and Skype-ing without headphones!!!
Unfortunately this really wound up some of the other guests!!!
I soon concluded that – fantastic though the world of Siolim House is in so many ways – it’s really not an ideal place for someone like me … sharing the public space with the internet connection with strangers who want peace and quiet on their holidays! This I guess is fair enough – although India would not be my first choice of destination for solitude and calm!!!
I would go back – ideally with my most special friends so we could all stay there together and enjoy the great karma …… but in the rough and tumble world of reality …. I need somewhere where my personality and work does not so easily impact on other people’s personal space!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Siolim house was the only hotel we stayed at in India who could not accommodate two separate beds, which we had specifically requested at the time of booking. When we checked in and saw one bed we asked immediately for the room with two beds which we saw on the website. The manager simply shook her head and said no. We were then requested to immediately let them know what we wanted to order for dinner and when we anticipated eating dinner. We had not even had a chance finish our welcome drink! We didn't realize (nor were we told) the price of dinner, and once we had a chance to settle in and discover how much dinner was going to cost, we kind of felt it was a bit of a pressure sale. The meal was very good, and was served poolside (very romantic for those who are there for that reason - but we were two friends traveling together, and it felt quite awkward).

The bathroom was huge and clean. A few extra towels would have been nice, but we had also brought our own. We had trouble with the toilet not flushing properly, but there was nothing to be done about that either.

The poolside was wonderful, with a lovely massage cabana beside it and treehouse if you are lucky enough to get into it. There were people napping in it the whole time we were there, so we never got a chance to check it out.

We had also booked a cooking class through the website, and again were met with a surprise at the time of the bill. The website clearly indicates the price for two people, but we were told it was only for one, so had to pay double what we thought the class was going to cost us. We prepared a lot of food in the class (which we couldn't finish, and couldn't take with us as there isn't a mini-fridge in the suite), however it was not worth the price we paid for it, and felt it was a big waste of food.

The history of the house and the restoration of it is quite interesting, and you can tell that it is a labour of love for the owner. The staff do try where they can to accommodate you. An example of this was around the cooking class again, where the website clearly said that part of the class is a trip to the fish market to select your fish for the meal. We were dropped off at the class site, and the teachers arrived with ingredients in tow, and said they had been to the market in the early morning already. We returned to the house and indicated our disappointment about missing the market experience, and the manager arranged for one of her staff to take us to what was remaining of the fish market that afternoon.

The other big plus for us at this hotel was the wifi access. It was reliable and available when we needed it.

I would recommend this place for honeymooners or couples looking for a romantic get away. It's pretty relaxed, and is a clean, comfortable property, away from the beach hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

They don't produce piles of useless toiletries. They don't give you sixteen towels that you don't need. They don't gush with false "customer service". They don't have a pale blue pool with jacuzzi nonsense. They don't have potted music everywhere. So it's not everyone's cup of tea. However, what they do have is exquisite peace and quiet. With only seven ideally restored rooms it is delightful to get to know other guests in a mild and gentle way. The property is sublime, and the owner has spared no effort to make it just as it must have been all those years ago - an elegant restrained Portuguese property. The pool is an elegant black granite, surrounded by the garden.The people running it are sincere, careful, restrained, delightful people from the local community. It is nice to pay the local taxis a fair rate, with a service charge from the hotel added on. It all seems right and in keeping with the owner's aim of living with the local community. Of all the 15 hotels we stayed in in India, Siolim House stood out as the best by a mile. It is a proper home from home. Quiet, courteous, comfortable, elegant, no fuss.

Room Tip: Macassar was the biggest and the best, but you might need GPS to get from the bedroom to the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Siolim House we were met with smiling faces. The team are so welcoming and warm. We stayed for a week and by the end of the stay we felt like part of the family.

The house has been beautifully restored to it's full character with some obvious added luxuries. All of the rooms are large and individually styled. We stayed in Surat which was a great room with a good sized bathroom. If we were to come again I think we would stay in one of the rooms in the main house as Surat was right next to the restaurant and pool area.

Breakfast and dinner was top notch all week. We had spent time in the north of India eating lots of curry dishes and it was really nice to arrive on our first night and have a flavoursome soup starter and a fantastically Goan flavoured grilled fish. The meals were of a high standard and reasonably priced all week. The staff were very friendly and keen to offer advice on places of interest with a special thanks to Morjim and Sandesh for their warm and friendly service all week.

We would definitely recommend hiring a scooter and exploring the many beaches and villages. Go North if you want less busy (Kerim Beach) and South for more commercial. Also the Arpora night market is well worth a visit, lots of stalls, food and live music. Eating out - La Plage at Aswan is well worth a lunch time visit, and we had some fantastic fresh tiger prawns at the 'end of the world' beach hut a bit further north.

Siolim house is great for a relaxed, calming break away from the larger resort areas. Varun has created a lovely atmosphere to come back to after a good days exploring or just a great place to chill out and relax around the pool during the day.

Highly recommended.

Jo and Chris

Room Tip: Rooms in the House (the superior suites) are better for privacy. The other rooms around the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It's not often that the hotel you stay in is in fact the number one reason for visiting that place. Siolim House in Goa is just such a facility. Owner Varun Sood, with his painstaking attention to detail in restoring an authentic traditional Goan mansion, has created one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. The superb traditional furnishings and fittings, the tranquil Goan village setting, friendly and attentive staff and excellent food all make for memorable stay. The Goan beaches are very nice, but how much more pleasant they are when you are able to start and end the day at this oasis.
Colin Heseltine

Room Tip: Try the large rooms upstairs with the four-poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This incredible home has been so lovingly restored....it will whisk you away to a bygone era! If you enjoy boutique hotels with history and character....you will cherish this place. Luxuriously appointed with furniture that matches the era, great food and an inviting and private pool! Located in a small village within walking distance to some interesting backwaters and driving distance to a nice beach that is not crowded like many beaches in North Goa are. We enjoyed the morning Yoga and enjoyed the well trained staff. If you are looking to absorb some of Goa's culture while being pampered...this might be a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siolim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siolim House

Address: Wadi, Near St. Anthony's Church | Siolim, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siolim House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siolim House is a 350 year old palacio from the times Goa was a portuguese territory. It has all the hallmarks of a period manor and has been restored with all the care it deserves. Now only 7 suites in a lovely village very well located fo rthe beaches and sites, homecooked local cuising, it is very much a home where you will get to experience authentic Goan living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Siolim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Siolim House Hotel Siolim
Casa Palacio Siolim Hotel
Casa Palacio Siolim Bardez
Siolim House Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siolim House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.