We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siolim House is not for you if you want bling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siolim House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Siolim House to your Saves list
Siolim House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wadi, Near St. Anthony's Church | Siolim, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Siolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Siolim House is not for you if you want bling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

They don't produce piles of useless toiletries. They don't give you sixteen towels that you don't need. They don't gush with false "customer service". They don't have a pale blue pool with jacuzzi nonsense. They don't have potted music everywhere. So it's not everyone's cup of tea. However, what they do have is exquisite peace and quiet. With only seven ideally restored rooms it is delightful to get to know other guests in a mild and gentle way. The property is sublime, and the owner has spared no effort to make it just as it must have been all those years ago - an elegant restrained Portuguese property. The pool is an elegant black granite, surrounded by the garden.The people running it are sincere, careful, restrained, delightful people from the local community. It is nice to pay the local taxis a fair rate, with a service charge from the hotel added on. It all seems right and in keeping with the owner's aim of living with the local community. Of all the 15 hotels we stayed in in India, Siolim House stood out as the best by a mile. It is a proper home from home. Quiet, courteous, comfortable, elegant, no fuss.

Room Tip: Macassar was the biggest and the best, but you might need GPS to get from the bedroom to the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
74
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Siolim House we were met with smiling faces. The team are so welcoming and warm. We stayed for a week and by the end of the stay we felt like part of the family.

The house has been beautifully restored to it's full character with some obvious added luxuries. All of the rooms are large and individually styled. We stayed in Surat which was a great room with a good sized bathroom. If we were to come again I think we would stay in one of the rooms in the main house as Surat was right next to the restaurant and pool area.

Breakfast and dinner was top notch all week. We had spent time in the north of India eating lots of curry dishes and it was really nice to arrive on our first night and have a flavoursome soup starter and a fantastically Goan flavoured grilled fish. The meals were of a high standard and reasonably priced all week. The staff were very friendly and keen to offer advice on places of interest with a special thanks to Morjim and Sandesh for their warm and friendly service all week.

We would definitely recommend hiring a scooter and exploring the many beaches and villages. Go North if you want less busy (Kerim Beach) and South for more commercial. Also the Arpora night market is well worth a visit, lots of stalls, food and live music. Eating out - La Plage at Aswan is well worth a lunch time visit, and we had some fantastic fresh tiger prawns at the 'end of the world' beach hut a bit further north.

Siolim house is great for a relaxed, calming break away from the larger resort areas. Varun has created a lovely atmosphere to come back to after a good days exploring or just a great place to chill out and relax around the pool during the day.

Highly recommended.

Jo and Chris

Room Tip: Rooms in the House (the superior suites) are better for privacy. The other rooms around the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It's not often that the hotel you stay in is in fact the number one reason for visiting that place. Siolim House in Goa is just such a facility. Owner Varun Sood, with his painstaking attention to detail in restoring an authentic traditional Goan mansion, has created one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. The superb traditional furnishings and fittings, the tranquil Goan village setting, friendly and attentive staff and excellent food all make for memorable stay. The Goan beaches are very nice, but how much more pleasant they are when you are able to start and end the day at this oasis.
Colin Heseltine

Room Tip: Try the large rooms upstairs with the four-poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This incredible home has been so lovingly restored....it will whisk you away to a bygone era! If you enjoy boutique hotels with history and character....you will cherish this place. Luxuriously appointed with furniture that matches the era, great food and an inviting and private pool! Located in a small village within walking distance to some interesting backwaters and driving distance to a nice beach that is not crowded like many beaches in North Goa are. We enjoyed the morning Yoga and enjoyed the well trained staff. If you are looking to absorb some of Goa's culture while being pampered...this might be a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An oasis of calm, this house has been beautifully restored and stunningly furnished. I couldn't think of anywhere better to relax than by the beautiful pool in Siolim House's garden. We were made to feel so welcome by both staff and owner (and his delightful family) - I'd happily move in! Food's good too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Siolim House is wonderfully restored and a pleasure to spend time in whether in the elegant rooms or the courtyard,garden and pool. The staff are attentive but relaxed. Very well placed for the beaches to the North

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Little Siolim with my family of six which included an infant. I found the place to be so quaint and lovely, with stunning rooms and even more stunning bathrooms... The place has a beautiful open courtyard and living area where we played board games that were in their library.

I found its location to be close enough to both Morjim and Baga Beaches. Dinaz who is the proprietor was always kind and so was the staff stationed at the house. I wish I could stay longer, and my only grouse with the place is that the pool is freezing cold! But after a while you get used to it :)

Room Tip: Little Siolim has 3 rooms and they are completely different from each other. So enquire with your fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siolim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siolim House

Address: Wadi, Near St. Anthony's Church | Siolim, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siolim House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siolim House is a 350 year old palacio from the times Goa was a portuguese territory. It has all the hallmarks of a period manor and has been restored with all the care it deserves. Now only 7 suites in a lovely village very well located fo rthe beaches and sites, homecooked local cuising, it is very much a home where you will get to experience authentic Goan living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Siolim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Siolim House Hotel Siolim
Casa Palacio Siolim Hotel
Casa Palacio Siolim Bardez
Siolim House Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siolim House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.