We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real CHARM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ishavilas, Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ishavilas, Goa to your Saves list
Ishavilas, Goa
House No.103, Vaddy, Siolim, Goa, Siolim, Bardez 430517, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Amarante, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real CHARM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent recently one night in Ishavilas ( November 24th).
I can only say that I regreat for booking just one night because Ishavilas is the kind of place that make us feel so well, that we aim to return as soon as possible.
The property is located in a very nice small village called Siolim, in the countryside of Goa but close to the sea and the capital Panjim. The house is an old Portuguese colonial house as well as the other beautiful houses that we can find nearby. Surrounded by nice green environment, keeps inside the charm evidenced on the eclectic decoration, a mix of antique and asian style. Every room has a distinct theme and particular design. My room was the Kailash room and It was really nice with a lovely bathroom.
We had a very nice dinner that night in the beautiful dining room. The food is excellent.
The swimming pool and the area surrounding it is absolutely wonderful, with nice chairs and daybed. There is a lovely oriental cottage facing the pool which has a very nice architecture style.
We had a Yoga class in the morning before breakfast with a very good Yoga teacher, which is really recommended!
Its nice to walk in the neighborhood and feel the sense of the past patented in the old Portuguese houses and churches.
I must mention the service because it is really good! Everybody made us feel at home and in fact we felt as part of the “family”, which is so nice when we go abroad!
One last word dedicated to the manager of this jewel, Mr. Newton, who did everything to turn our stay even more pleasant. We thank him and really appreciate all the devotion to his job, which is absolutely admirable.
This is a real jewel in Goa, a place for those that appreciate a peaceful holiday with green scenery, feeling at home, but at the same time inspired by the beauty of the house and interior design. A real charm!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your kind review about the Ishavilas holiday villa in Goa.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Kailash room and the other facilities of the Noble Home.

Your compliments about the Goan cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef. We have also conveyed your compliments about the service to the team at Ishavilas.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The pool is where our ancestral house was...it is so sad for us...we would have liked to have seen it and walk inside and pray for our ancestors' souls

All the same, we hope people who come there have a nice holiday and go back with a homely feeling....All the very best to Ishavilas

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.

Unfortunately the entire Noble Home was occupied and thus we could not permit non-residents to enter the property.

We thank you for your kind wishes and look forward to welcoming you at Ishavilas soon.

Please do contact our Sales team at the email address mentioned below for further details.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food is homely. The pool is a bit small and quite functional, and isn't very experiential like the five stars. The decor might seem a bit freaky at first, but it grows on you and adds a bit of character as well. Overall a nice place to stay at if you like that whole rustic, home stay kinda vibe. Service is exceptional barring the fact that there is no bar, so no cocktails. I think its a wee bit overpriced though.

Room Tip: The Peacock room is the simplest, and not as well done in terms of decor in comparison to the Kailas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about Ishavilas – a Neemrana Noble Home in Goa that you can step into and call your own.

Gilded pediments above doors, objets d’art, gold braid cushions on antique furniture set the style indoors while stone statues dress the garden of crotons and pathways. Thank you for your compliments about the decor and the ambience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed here in the stunning Oriental cottage as part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip.Everything about our stay was amazing - Newton the manager and Laxman the steward took exemplary care of us - nothing was too much trouble.Our meals were amazing as was the decor and ambiance of the whole place.The gardens are delightful to walk around and the pool sheer perfection.We both felt really special during our stay at Ishavila and would love to go back there - it's a not to be missed experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Ishavilas holiday home in Goa. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Oriental Cottage.

Your compliments about the meals and the service have been conveyed to the Noble Home team. It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed rejuvenating around the pool.

Thank you for choosing Ishavilas to celebrate your 30th anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A wonderful experience. 5-star amenities and service combined with a cosy home experience. The manager, Newton, is an absolute star with great advice on everything Goa and the entire staff is extremely efficient and friendly. The decor in itself will take your breath away. We spent one night in the Oriental cottage and another in the Kailash room. Both were great. Great pool with lovely sculptures and art surrounding it. Wished we had more time just to spend in those wonderful gardens. Thanks to Neemrana for offering such great places that match the beauty of that most beautiful and enchanting country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. 2 more were being added when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm review about the Ishavilas holiday villa in Goa.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Oriental Cottage and the Kailash room. Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the Manager and the entire team.

We thank you for your continued patronage to Ishavilas and the Neemrana brand and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well protected in the hidden beautiful garden decorated with sculptures I believed first to have ended up in Bali. The imaginatively ornated pool with the garden room was a delight for all the senses. A spectacular Ganesh in mirror mosaics is overlooking the pool. The upper room is more like a palace chambers with its space and beautiful furnishings in a lovely mix of old and new. You could really feel the heritgage of the old Portuguese house. The Ishavila staff offers a very warm and friendly atmosphere with excellent service. Yoga class with the house's own instructor and skilled masseuse made ​​the stay perfect. Stay here with your whole family for celebrations or parties, or just as a couple. This is a perfect hideout!

Room Tip: The top room has a spectacular feeling to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Ishavilas holiday villa in Goa.

We are delighted to read about your experience. It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Oriental Cottage.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team at Ishavilas.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana brand in India and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ishavilas is a portugese-oriental-indian mix decor villa situated in South Goa. If you're looking for a homely, cozy, arty stay in Goa..this is it! the villa has 4 rooms....with more cottages under construction. We stayed in the Oriental Cottage which is set aside from the main villa which houses the other 3 rooms, a beautifully decorated sitting room and a pantry. the property also has a beautiful pool with a decorated Ganesha idol at its head and a seperate hall for conducting Yoga & Meditation sessions for the guests. The staff is discrete, very helpful and flexible...which was a great relief for us since we were traveling with a one year old.

However, the food was perhaps not totally upto our expectations. We've come to expect a large spread at Neemrana properties, with a mix of Indian and Continental cuisines and a yummy dessert spread. At Ishavilas the food was simple with limited options...especially since I'm a vegetarian!....Having said that the eclectic decor, the peace and privacy was unparalleled.

Not recommended- if you do not have your own vehicle or are looking for an immediate proximity to the ocean.

Room Tip: If traveling with friends or family...look for rooms in the main villa. If traveling as a single fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Ishavilas, Goa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Ishavilas Noble Home in Goa. Please note that the property is situated in Siolim, North Goa.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Oriental Cottage and enjoyed the pool and the yoga sessions. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the Ishavilas team.

We are disappointed to read your feedback about the food. The same has been conveyed to the Chef and we shall be adding more vegetarian options.

We thank you for your visit to Ishavilas and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ishavilas, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishavilas, Goa

Address: House No.103, Vaddy, Siolim, Goa, Siolim, Bardez 430517, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Siolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neemrana’s first 'Noble Home', Ishavilas is a private, fully-serviced luxury villa located in the sleepy town of Siolim in Goa. The villa takes its name from the Hindu word ‘Isha’ which means the formless primordial source of creation. Not the average rental villa, it was designed and built by a series of two Owners since 2000 for use as their second home. As a home, it is being spruced up and decorated as more art arrives. Ishavilas is nestled amongst nature’s tropical bounty of leaf and fruit, abundant trees and a blooming garden. This beautiful Portuguese-colonial house, with its grand entrance and long driveway, is a true tropical haven of tranquility. Conveniently placed on the edge of Siolim, Ishavilas receives and pampers like a home, but also evokes an exotic and luxurious lifestyle, unique only to the Orient. Gilded pediments above doors, objets d’art, gold braid cushions on antique furniture set the style indoors while stone statues dress the garden of crotons and pathways. You will feel very much as if you are stepping into a private home rather than a rental villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ishavilas, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishavilas, Goa Siolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishavilas, Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.