We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place for a long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel Cley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The George Hotel Cley to your Saves list
The George Hotel Cley
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a lovely place for a long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked room 3 -V nice suite, with beautiful views over the marshes. Big lounge, bedroom and newly decorated bathroom.

Very comfy bed, although a thicker duvet would have been welcome.

Dropped an overall rating as it did get quite a lot of noise from the bar below and the doors where prone to slamming. Also good selection of tea and coffee but no milk. This could be requested at the bar but we where in late from a wedding and no one there to help. As much as I hate cartons of milk, a better alternative should be available.

Good brekkie, with locally sourced ingredients including amazing kippers locally smoked.

We ate there in the evening food good but not exceptional. Again good choice of locally sourced produce.

The staff where really helpful and flexible and we would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 3 definitely the best, any room on first floor seemed to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    92
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
25
136
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the George Hotel for three nights in this beautiful part of England. We had room 8 on the second floor, which was reasonably appointed with a newly refurbished bathroom containing a bath and a shower. Being on the second floor, it was quiet and we had a great view across the marshes towards Blakeney. The only downside of the room is the roof beam running across at 45 degrees, and try as you might, it is difficult to avoid banging your head on it as we both did.

We had evening meals at the George each evening and found the food excellent in all respects. The menu is not that extensive, but was supplemented by specials each evening. There was a good choice of wines and several local ales to try. Breakfast was buffet style for the first course followed by cooked dishes to order - the usual bacon and egg etc fry up, and also poached haddock and kippers. The restaurant decor was looking a little tired and in need of redecoration, but had a nice atmosphere.

The hotel has a car park of adequate size, so no problems there. Wifi extended to our room on the second floor, but was not that strong there. Fresh milk for tea and coffee was a nice touch.

All in all, to be recommended and we would certainly stay at the George again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a lovely stay last weekend, and even though the weather was stormy we had some lovely bracing walks along the Coast. The Staff at the George are excellent, we were shown to our room (7) which was adequate for us, excellent view, nice and warm, with bath and all mod cons, and very quiet up stairs. They have a very busy kitchen and the bar/restaurant was full to the brim on Saturday night, great atmosphere. The breakfasts are first class, well cooked and tasty. They have new owners who hopefully will give the place a freshen up, other than that there are no negatives and would recommend to others. Value for money in this area.

Room Tip: Remember there is no lift (therefore no lift noise).....and the Hotel was quiet upstairs which was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent 7 nights here for a birdwatching holiday Stayed in the Cley room which was nice with its own sitting room Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was very good, Beware starters can be as big as the main course. Excellent centre for touring the area.

Room Tip: The Cley room is nice especially if staying more than one night as there is plenty of room. It is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A group of us stayed here the night after a shooting trip in Norfolk. We sought a simple place in a nice setting to rest our heads for the night. That is exactly what we got, for a very reasonable price and I would use The George again. The small friendly bar served us well and the locals were friendly and chatty. We left very early to get back to the ratrace, despite the early hour the kitchen staff had our requested breakfast-in-a-bun ready and waiting for us and a cheery farewell.

This is not luxury Fulham-meets-Norfolk, but is a clean, honest and good value hostelry from which a tourist could easily and cost effectively enjoy the beautiful Norfolk scene. Personally, i think that late season (right now) is a great time to visit the area, and if you want a young loves mucky weekend away, with cosy fires and good simple wholesome food with not many miles on it for not much money - this is your place you young'uns!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Superb room , (Room 3) , most comfortable bed ever !

Slightly shabby overall , not where it matters and but none the worse for it .

Food was good , fairly priced .

Attentive and helpful staff . Brilliant location

Room Tip: Try room 3 ... you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights in September as we planned to explore the area over a long weekend and found the George Hotel to be in a perfect location for our needs. We stayed in the Cley Suite which had obviously only recently been decorated and very nicely too.
The breakfast was plentiful and the one evening meal we had very nice.
The biggest plus point was the very friendly, welcoming staff.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel Cley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel Cley

Address: The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cley Next the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cley Next the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel Cley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Hotel Cley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cley Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel Cley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.