We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue View Studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho El Sobrino Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho El Sobrino Curacao to your Saves list
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Weg naar knip z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
NL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blue View Studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was an excellent choice, great location , wonderful views . The studio is well equiped and has a large balcony . Very quiet area which was perfect for us, however not for those looking for nightlife .
The staff at Rancho el Sobrino were extremely helpful ( with one exception ).
We would certainly recommend Blue View and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The 1st floor studio is far superior to the one below , and we felt superior to the one bedroom appa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranbi, Manager at Rancho El Sobrino Curacao, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Miezi,
we are happy you have enjoyed your stay and will be happy to have you back here anytime soon. Greetings from the team at Rancho El Sobrino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were out looking for a place to eat and stopped by not knowing anything about this place. We had tried some of the local stews and our experience was so good that we returned twice more once for dinner and once for breakfast! They have a great story to share and are proud of what they offer and delight in making their customers happy! Great food, friendly staff and excellent service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st john's NL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved this place, the staff were wonderful, especially Natasha, who seemed to work every where and Nels who is the best barman outside of Coronation St and he cooks, there is a lovely history how this little hotel started from the family of a slave given his freedom makes it a particular place in a far flung corner of the world surrounded by lovely little beaches, with excellent snorkeling and diving. The rooms are pretty and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Oh and there is an aviary around the property. At least stop off and have a drink under the bed. Haha

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just came back from a stay at Blue View Apartments which is run by Rancho El Sobrino (and only about a block away). Everything was wonderful - the room, the view, the staff. The staff was extremely helpful and very welcoming. They were able to answer any question I asked. The food at the restaurant (which is at Rancho El Sobrino) is also fabulous. If you're going to Curacao, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We felt Blue View was the perfect off the beaten path place to stay. The owner Petra was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We were within a short drive to amazing beaches. Our room was spacious and the view was perfect. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals. There are guys that sell freshly caught fish just a few steps away. The pool area was nice had unique decor. We got engaged on this trip with the help of the wonderful El Rancho Sobrino staff. We hope to come back and celebrate future anniversaries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I recommend this resort to divers and to those looking for a very relaxed, quiet vacation we loved the convenience, they have tanks on premise as well as a spacious room to lock up your equipped and a fresh water rinse tank. The owner Randolph is pleasant and personable he runs a very nice place. His staff at the front desk were very helpful we especially enjoyed Petra she was very pleasant and fun Bianca also is excellent if you need anything, someone was always available they were all so very friendly. As for holiday destination, I think it was wonderful this was our second time back and we are getting ready to book again for the third time, each time we went for 2 weeks.
The resort is nice, clean cozy, and fun, with nice plants and decorations a pool and free parking
We were Four adults and stayed in a two bedroom apartment we loved it
The. rooms were nice and there are air conditioners in each bedroom.
The kitchen had a large ceiling fan and is well equipped with kitchen utensils (stove, fridge microwave, coffee maker , Blender etc) and a Sliding door to the balcony.
There is a full bathroom with a good shower and plenty of hot water.
CLEANING
The cleaning staff is incredibly friendly and do a great job, we had Wandy and we really appreciated her.
RESTAURANT Els is the manager and is outstanding.
Its right there we really enjoyed it… the menu was great and so was the service. The staff was fun. Els the restaurant manager was just great, personable, fun and hardworking as was Jaritza, Louisa Morena, Enid, Antoinette, Zia & Frandjeska. The restaurant was quite busy on most nights.
WI-FI
Wi-fi worked in our room as well as by the swimming pool and office.
CAR RENTAL Sandy is friendly and reliable.

The resort books their cars via Oostwest rental company, which is reliable and the truck we got was in NEW condition. Their rep comes to meet you at the airport and go through the rental agreement. The car is insured for 3rd party claims, but for $10 day you can buy total coverage for all kinds of damages. The traffic isn’t bad, even in Willemstad centre. Roads in Curacao are in fairly good condition. It iseasy to get around.
PLACES TO GO

Westpoint (Westpunt) is a half an hour ride from Willemstad and about 25 min from the airport, so I really recommend renting a car if staying at Rancho el Sobrino. . As for grocery shopping, we found two nice places; California and Centrum Supermarket Piscadera. The latter was quite big.
There are lots of beautiful beaches around, and they weren’t very crowded, except for Sundays when local people gather there to BBQ and relax. Bring along mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Although the reviews I read were very positive, I was very disappointed with this hotel, especially our room. I had requested an ocean view apartment in Blue View Apartments down the road (also owned by the same owners). When we arrived, we were shown to a very dark, dank room, with no ocean view at El Rancho. When I asked about it, the person showing me the room simply said this was all that was available. The room was clean and had a nice, fully equipped kitchen, but very dark and stuffy. Good thing we didn't spend much time there. I also found the staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. I thought the price was a little high considering I was expecting to get a terrace overlooking the sea. Our room also was next to the administration office and was very noisy - you could hear the staff and noise from the nearby kitchen and that's what woke us up every morning. Maybe other rooms are better (avoid room number 5). You need to have a car so that you can drive to beaches and restaurants since there isn't much within walking distance. This area of the island is very nice and you can drive to some very nice beaches. If I were to return I would choose this area over Willemstad, but a different hotel. All West apartments down the road is a little more expensive but has nice bright apartments and amazing terraces with a great view (our friend was staying there and we were jealous).

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room double check before you pay and make sure it's written on the inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranbi, General Manager at Rancho El Sobrino Curacao, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear guest,
we are very sorry to hear that your stay at Rancho El Sobrino did not meet your expectation. You made a booking through our web engine right into a one bedroom at the Resort. On the booking engine there are pictures of the room and explanations of the amenities and the location. Normally this is clear to the traveller as we did not experience wrong bookings so far. It is not possible to book Blue View (our ocean front apartments) through the web engine. You booked clearly a one bedroom in the Resort and not in Blue View. Feel free to go back to the Website and double check this. We also had email contact afterwards about arrival times and bike rental. When you arrived we provided the room you have booked, unfortunately due to high season the Blue View was fully booked and we could not change the room. I can imagine that when you come with a certain expectation and you dont get the room you think you have booked and we can not help you, you find the staff unhelpful. We always try to make our guests happy and have positive feedback about the friendliness of our staff so far. If you come back to Curacao and want to stay in an Ocean Front Apartment, we would be happy to offer you Blue View next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho El Sobrino Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho El Sobrino Curacao

Address: Weg naar knip z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho El Sobrino Curacao 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rancho El Sobrino Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao Hotel Christoffel National Park
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao Sabana Westpunt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho El Sobrino Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.