We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect gateway location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marazul Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Marazul Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marazul Dive Resort
Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Perfect gateway location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Forty minutes away from the airport,Marazul Dive Resort is a well-maintained place(René the manager is very helpful and friendly).

As each unit is individually owned,pay attention to the apartment features before to rent!

We were lucky to stay 9 nights in the 2B($130/night),a very comfortable but not luxurious apartment, in front of the pool where we got all we needed and more!The kitchen is fully equiped,the bedroom in the upper floor provides a very comfy kingbed,plenty of linen,towels and storage...
We were lucky to meet a lovely French woman,Gillette who owns a unit and who was very helpful too.

A car is essential and we rented the reliable D&D car rental.Helpful owner.

For the snorkeling the best place is Playa Lagun(seahorses,turtle...).Porto Marie beach is great for sunbathing,house reef interesting(many Lionfish...)

Cons:mosquitos!a lack of privacy of the second floor terrace

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Beautiful spot, lovely pool, and amazing access to the clear blue Caribbean right down the stone steps from the resort. The units are individually owned so they are appointed differently. We stayed at 2A by the pool and in hindsight, we should have paid a bit more to 'upgrade' to another unit. The owner is awesome. We met her in Willemstad before driving up, and upon arrival found the apartment was very clean, but lacking some basics, like toilet paper, trash bags, and certain other sundries. Not a big deal except the mini market was not in close proximity. (We found out a few days later that the manager of the units did sell toilet paper however.) Older furnishings and worn carpeting didn't really bother us since we didn't spend a great deal of time there. Ants are a problem in the unit so perhaps spraying would solve that issue. The mosquitos and no see ums are out in force so bring your deet! They are voracious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went to Curacao for diving and needed a good place to stay. My choice fell on the Marazul. Just by the water, great diving around the corner, fantastic view, pool and in a calm part of Curacao will you find Marazul, just on the West Point. This is truly a great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in no. 11... Great, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narra, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay at quiet part of the island of curaçao west punt. Perfect apartment with all you need for pleasant stay. Nice pool and very friendly manager Rene. Do not expect a full service resort, for restaurant, shops, and dive services you can go to surrounding companies.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Marazul is a great getaway location. It is on the opposite end of the island from Willemstad. A rented car gets you from the airport to Marazul in 30-40 minutes. The view is spectacular and great beaches are just 5-15 minutes away. Every beach has great snorkeling. Marazul has two entrances to the water for excellent snorkeling. The accomodations are not high end resort but are very comfortable and low key. There are several good restaurants in Westpunt plus all the units are equipped for doing your own cooking. The best grocery store, Centrum, is on the outskirts of Willemstad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Waking up and being able to head directly to that pristine clear blue sea through one of the two resort’s “stairs to the sea” is something indescribable and I’m still missing it – almost 3 months later.
We rented the D2 unit that is not ocean front but has a good ocean view and it’s only a few steps to the stair to the sea and the pleasant and very well maintained swimming pool.
The apartment had anything we needed and even some extra things we didn’t even expect, like some snorkeling gear (masks, fins, snorkels and neoprene shoes). It was very comfortable and it accommodated us 4 very well. The balcony upstairs is incredible!
The resort is very well kept, and the manager helped anytime we needed. It’s quite far from Willemstad but in my opinion in this region are the best beaches of the island and some very interesting sightseeing spots, like the Shete Boka National Park, (about 7 minutes by car) and the Christpherson National Park (less than 15 minutes driving). Snorkeling was extremely good virtually everywhere near the resort. There are some restaurants nearby (best value was Rancho el Sobrino, just next door), and a small mini market (toko) at about 12 minutes walking distance (try the delicious pan dushi-sweet bread on Sunday mornings). In Barber, about 15 minutes by car, there is a very well stocked supermarket.
It was a great experience and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This rental apartment is perfect for vacation. We stayed 3 weeks in Feb, 2012 and 4 weeks in Feb, 2013.

Two story apt is one of 2 in the building, directly in front of the pool, facing the ocean. The second floor balcony is the bomb. We spent the entire evening there after a full day of swimming/snorkling or diving. This unit has everything you could possibly need. This unit provides all cooking/dining utensils and appliances, nice washer, drying rack. The sitting room has comfy seating and nice flatscreen. All windows are screened to utilize the tradewinds, and A/C is available on each floor.

The King BR is very comfortable, adjacent balcony with pergola, tons of linens provided. Storage everywhere; kitchen, second bath and bedroom.

The pool is nice size, cool and kept clean with nice deck chairs. We also enjoyed some refreshing snorkeling at the house reef, also great diving spot. There are so many beaches just minutes from Marazul its hard to cover them all, a few are within walking distance. Our favorites were Lagun, Cas Abou, and Porta Marie with it's double reef.

Marazul Resort is in a great location away from city. Don't be apprehensive to stay away from the city in Westpunt. If you are truly interested in taking advantage of Curacao's most beautiful beaches and snorkeling/dive locations, rent a car and stay in Westpunt. Straight 35min drive from the airport, smaller community still offers plenty to do and nice restaurants, 3 within walking distance. The resort is clean and well maintained, onsite mgmt was helpful and friendly. Small grocery in Barber is 10min away, larger grocery farther drive toward town.

Overlooking the ocean you actually have a nice view of where the local fishermen dock. We would watch them unload their catch and go down to buy fresh fish often. It's also just a treat seeing what they bring in each day. Prices were fair and they will fillet for a little extra. We made three meals out of one nice red snapper.

The owners of this unit have done a great job to make sure it's "American" appointed with everything needed for a wonderfully relaxing vacation.

MOST MEMORABLE VACATION EVER !!! Can't wait until our return in Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marazul Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.