We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best resorts ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best resorts ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We just got back from our trip to St. Maarten. The Westin was an amazing hotel, one of the best resorts we've ever stayed at. The staff was extremely friendly, the hotel room was big and clean, we even got an unexpected upgrade when we checked in. The restaurant Ocean was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Great food and very good prices. We are definitely going back next year, but staying longer. One tip: you must have a car in order to see the whole island. It is well worth the money for the rental.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    521
    250
    112
    113
See reviews for
330
748
32
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

One of the most beautiful beachfront hotels I have ever seen....having said that....the one thing you notice very quickly is the almost robot like customer service. Although you get the odd "good morning" and a quick smile now and then, the staff at the Westin tend to be reading from a script when you ask a question or inquire about the property.
There are of course the odd exceptions, but you notice it right away, thus the feeling you are a nuisance to some staff does hang over you.

And then the timeshare people.....they are hovering at the elevator, the main lobby, the pool area, in front of the restaurants.....you tell them you are struggling enough just to cover your hotel bill and they still insist you can qualify for an overpriced timeshare. They truly remind you telemarketers have followed you to St. Maarten.

The roads around this island are an experience to say the least. We rented a car, needed a hummer or large jeep, I can't even describe it. You need to come down here and see for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Beautiful 4-star property on a very nice beach. We actually prefer the relatively quieter Dawn Beach/Oyster Pond area, even though it is a bit of a drive to the Phillipsburg or Grand Case areas. Car rental is cheap, driving is not all that difficult, and there are even a few nearby restaurants if you so choose. Free and convenient self-parking.

We received a complimentary upgrade to an ocean/pool view room as an SPG Gold member (we were on an SPG award stay). After experiencing a minor problem with the room (which was addressed immediately by the front desk), we were then moved to a fabulous oceanfront one-bedroom suite. Yes, the resort is large and "Americanized", but that certainly does not detract from our experience. If you are looking for a true "traditional" Caribbean experience, SXM might not be the right island for you, IMO, as the entire island is really over-developed. And the Westin is more about relaxing than being stimulted with lots of activities (e.g. the casino is usually almost empty, the nightclub was not open).

This was our third visit to the Westin Dawn Beach, and the most notable change has been the improvement in service. All of the staff, from the front desk to the bartenders to the maintenance and maids, were very proactive, friendly and helpful. Some of the newness of the physical aspects of the resort has worn off over the past three years, but overall the rooms, furnishings and other facilities are of high quality. Love the Heavenly Beds and the extra-large bathrooms.

Vey much enjoy the large pools, although the pool area can get crowded quickly (even in low season when occupancy levels appear to be low), so there is some competition for lounge chairs. Food and drinks at the pool were very good and reasonably-priced for a resort. The restaurant prices are typical as well (high), but given all of the great restauarants in the area we didn't try any of the resort restaurants.

A few minor negatives: The Dawn Beach Club time-share sales people are too aggressive, and seem to be everywhere that you turn. I was accosted as I was carrying my bags to my room after checking in, and then felt like I had to avoid eye contact with them the remainder of the stay. The helpfulness of the concierge is hit and miss. And the towel checkout thing at the pool is irritating, particularly when you are paying a hefty "resort fee" of $20/day.

For us, the Westin is a great place to spend a few days relaxing prior to heading on to Anguilla for the "real" vacation in paradise. Nonetheless, as long as you understand what the resort offers, you will be quite pleased staying there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I had my dream wedding on the beach at the Westin Hotel. It was wonderful!! The hotel staff were great. I cant say enough nice things about the staff. The dinner was wonderful and the catering manager was very attentive and did a great job making sure the wedding went smoothly. Sint Maarten Marry Me did a great job coordinating all the details for the wedding and the hotel staff. I highly recommend me them if you plan to marry on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful and in the summer season, not crowded at all. We didn't have to wait to check in, or to be seated at the restaurants, and the staff were very friendly.

The pool deck area is only shaded by palm trees, so you have to continuously move your chair if you want to stay out of the sun. There is a constant breeze blowing that makes it tolerable. Just don't forget to bring your sunblock.

The beach was terrific. Soft white and cool clear water to swim in. But beware, the surf is choppy and there's a constant current that wants to push you north along the coast .

If you stay at the Westin you should rent a car. It is not in a commercial area and you need a car to go anywhere. They do have free self parking, so that helps.

Now, here is my one big complaint-the time share salespeople. During the day, blue shirted sales people position themselves throughout the hotel corridors and by the elevators, trying to get you to take a tour of their timeshare units. They do not take no for an answer, and the people you told "no" to on Monday are going to ask you again on Tuesday, and Wednesday..... They also walk around the pool area. asking people if they'd like to take a timeshare tour, it got to the point that I found myself taking the long way between two points just to avoid the salespeople, they are that bothersome. You will come out of the elevator and be asked if you want a tour, then you'll turn the corner and be asked if you want a tour, then you'll step outside and be asked if you want a timeshare tour. Each salesperson will go on about how there's no obligation, and even though you tell them that you're not interested. And those same people will ask you the same questions the next day.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel was very nice, Dawn beach was beautiful and we felt as though it was our own private beach. Service and food was great as well. Unfortunately we realized August was the off season which is why there was such a great deal at the time. The nightclub there was closed and the casino was pretty empty for most of the time. The hotel is off the beaten path, away from the nightlife. For those looking for relaxation, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Where to begin...Let's start with the location. Although the Westin's website boasts a location of 6 miles from the airport it should read 30 minutes or more from Princess Julianna.I The cab ride cost 30 bucks and although at times the view can be beautiful, there are some slippery moments with seedy views of the town. St. Maarten has a lot of areas that are less than pleasing to the eye. Once you get to the Westin, you are isolated and cabs are expensive. However, if you dare to drive the roads, rent a car. As mentioned in other reviews, parking in certain areas can be tricky. If you can, get the same taxi driver for you stay. Most of them are independently owned and are more than willing to take you around during your stay on the island....Ride to Phillipsburg $20 one way... The bellhops are very helpful with this. Use the cabs from the hotel. The Westin is a beautiful property with mediocore restaurants and no activities. The pool and beach are lovely. We had a room with an ocean view and it was absolutely the most beautiful view of the ocean. The room itself was large with more than enough space for the two of us. On the first night we saw a roach in the bathroom. We saw one more roach in the bathroom on the third night so I am guessing, they came in through the drains. As it was just those two times in the same location. I was kind of skeeved after that. Kept my luggage zipped shut on high ground. The resort is big with lots of space. We had a long walk from our room to the nearest elevator. The carpets in the halls had a distinct odor...Not sure if it was mold or not. The bathroom had a lingering strong smell of something...........Check in was easy and the front desk people were more than helpful. Don't let the reviews of the casino location impact your decision to stay here. We had a wonderful time at the casino. The dealers were a blast! It does not distract from the beauty of the hotel at all. There is nothing to do at all! So be prepared! If you like pool activities, music outside and a busy atmoshpere, this is not the place for you. You can actually read a book in peace. As far as price, you are traveling to a country that depends heavily upon the tourist industry so be prepared to pay! It's not cheap. They expect a tip and most times there is an automatic 20% service charge added to the bill. The hotel has a ridiculous $20 per day resort fee added to the bill and for the life of me I don't know for what! WIFi is $15 for 24 hours. I am split on whether I would stay here again or not. If they added some activites, redid the carpet and removed the odor from the bathroom I would give it another chance.....But as of now, for the price we paid.... probably would try a different hotel. One last suggestion...This is a time share property and the salespeople are located right by the elevators. You have no choice but to walk by them every time you go to your room, pool, or restaurants. Tell them in a friendly respectful manner that you are NOT interested in buying or discussing time shares and they will leave you alone. If you give them a maybe, the will approach you every time they see you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.