We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I Move In?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Centreville, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can I Move In?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What ISN'T wonderful about this resort? A room with a view, breakfast with a view, a wonderful pool, white sandy beaches, not TOO many children. Our corner room was clean and perfectly kept with a beautiful view over-looking pool and ocean. We ate breakfast every morning outside, did some shopping, spent the afternoon on the beach, then experienced fabulous local dining all over the island.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    558
    267
    121
    116
See reviews for
353
797
32
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it. The building and grounds, pool and beach included, were beautiful and well maintained. Lots of great restaurants on the resort and nearby and tons of things to do. We plan on returning and highly recommend this destination to all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Dawn Beach Club (DBC) in late June, early July. The timeshare is adjacent to the Westin Resort, and at the time we stayed there check-in was at the Westin front desk. By now, check-in is probably at the timeshare's offices. The timeshare may have been at one time a Westin timeshare, but it is not any longer. However, the rooms are gorgeous and have all of the Westin amenities. We were originally put in a low floor room where we had a view of, well, an air conditioner. After discussing the situation with the DBC manager, he was able to give us a top floor room with a view. The rooms have everything including a full kitchen and are beautiful. The room could easily sleep eight to ten. A group of six adults would each have their own private room. We ate lunch at the pool bar once, and found the food good and reasonably priced. We walked to Mr. Busby's for lunch, or the Oyster Bay Report's small convenience store for coffee most mornings. The beach is beautiful in front of the resort and all the way down the beach to the Oyster Bay Resort. To get to the other end of the beach you must climb a small group of rocks and wear tennis or reef shoes. No flip-flops. It's worth the walk. The resort is isolated (a good thing) and a bit of a drive from the airport or anywhere because of the topography. You will need a car, and GPS on the island is a must. The Dawn Beach Club is a great place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You must get a room on a high floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at the check in desk with our luggage, 2 carry on bags and a large wheeled bag. We were bumped from our ocean view room to an ocean front room. We had hoped to be overlooking the pool. The desk clerk checked us in and gave us directions to our room. There was no bell hop and we had to haul our own luggage down four very long hallways. The hallways smelled musty. When we arrived at our room we noticed damage to the door, it looked like someone had kicked the door in and the damage was not completely repaired.

Entering the room it smelled musty. There was carpeting on the floor. I have never stayed in a hotel in SXM with carpeting, they have all had tile. The carpet was damp for our whole stay. The room and the bath were very dimly lit, low wattage bulbs to reduce cost. There was mold in the shower and around the tub. I ran hot water into the sink to shave with and the water was brown. The cold water was clear. I ran the hot water for a long time and it never cleared up.

Although we had an ocean front room we could not get to the beach from the patio because of a waist high wall across the patio and bushes planted on the other side of the wall. We had to walk over 500 feet through the musty hallways to get to the pool or beach. On our third day we had left the room very early in the morning and didn't return till after 4:00 PM and our room hadn't been made up yet. We called for room service and they made up our room. However, we were late for dinner, not only from the late room service, but we couldn't lock the door to our room so we had to wait for maintenance to come and put a fresh battery in the lock.

US Airways has this rated as a four star hotel. No way!! I'll give it two stars and I would never stay here again. Try one of the privately owned boutique hotels on the French side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in a timeshare on the Westin Dawn Beach property, and could not have had a better vacation. All the staff, especially Kenneth, the food and beverage manager; Kevin, and all the servers by the pool; Sergio in the casino, and Josephine at the desk, were all so pleasant, and helpful. They made this family vacation one of our all time favorites.
The pool and beach are beautiful and our room was perfect. We will defintiley be coming back to stay at the resort.
Although it is off the beaten path, we rented a car and were able to come and go as we pleased. We did day trips to Orient Beach, Phillipsburg, Maho and Mullet Bay, and Sunset Beach. We also ate out for dinner every night....mostly heading to Grand Case. The island is very easy to navigate, and we enjoyed the freedom of having a car.
We love St. Maarten and we love the Westin.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My 30th birthday present was spending a week with just my husband and myself. We stayed at this amazing resort for 4 days before traveling to our next location!!! If you are interested in staying at this location you need to contact Jennifer at The Tropical Travelers. She was able to book this amazing resort for us, not once, but twice and our room had amazing views of both the beautiful pool and the powder white beach! Westin has all the amenities you could ask for, with an ideal location!! I would definitely go back to the Westin Dawn Beach!!!! Thank you Jennifer at The Tropical Travelers for a wonderful vacation:)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear PCDCM,

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. We are happy that were able to celebrate your birthday with us.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable vacation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Beddor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I spent our 30th anniversary week July 12-19th for our first visit to the island. We did use Points for Garden room (obviously a consideration for value - but standard rates are not outrageous for standard rooms) and were upgraded to Ocean Front (I did ask ahead of time) ; it was special to hear/see waves from the room balcony. Found hotel staff to be very helpful, and any time a service was provided - they followed up with a call to make sure it was done - including room service and fixing sink. Room has plenty large Bathroom and large glass shower with rain spray..
Beach was well maintained - not very crowded - Towels never an issue - Surf varied by day - and could change during the day- some days and less protected area ( left of pool looking out) was plenty wavy - fun for playing .. Snorkeled one day and were pleasantly surprised - and it was calm enough to snorkel for us ~3 days out of the eight when there were no breakers over the reef - but probably saw at least one person do it everyday- Onshore Trade winds were steady and kept it comfortable - a few days had brief sprinkles with wind/rain 1 morning (which swept in seaweed) and 1 evening. Large cabanas with cushioned chaises on the ocean were an extra - but a nice touch. We took cabanas a few down to avoid the pool music speakers which varied in volume over the day so we could read...Other than a dip in hot tub - didn't spend much time poolside, which was more crowded than beach..there were showers to get sand..
Food on island overall was quite excellent - not a bad meal the whole trip - Sunday Brunch at hotel was great with 6-7 food stations- Breakfast buffet more basic- with an omelet bar -- had pre-ordered breakfast in the room a few times - service was right on time - and hot food was hot , and they accommodated extra requests that were not in the standard menu..Dinners at hotel were very good - but 25 minute rental Drive to Grand Case for premium dinners (esp. French and Italian) was a treat. There are several neat restaurants much closer to hotel as well - concierge was helpful and they had a kiosk and menus for viewing. Even Beach Fare was gourmet in some places. Loved that many would provide shot of house flavored rum as aperitif.
Ordered Flowers for room (med) - Flowers were unbelievable - a 3 ft high tropical arrangement- hotel chipped in Complementary champagne..Great Heavenly Bed - and Toiletries, and a room safe (which I didn't see listed on website). A/C and ceiling Fan worked great. Valet parking never took more than a couple of minutes.
Hotel is sprawling - so depending on room - there is some walking... Timeshare folks were annoying initially - but eventually stopped asking after a couple of days..Casino isn't our thing - was pretty quiet most evenings - until a big incentive trip group came last weekend. Gift Shop decent - picked up some Reader sunglasses at a reasonable price for an island..Coming off-season worked out (tropical waves from Africa usually start in August) - I can't imagine parking for restaurants when island is full, and don't know if we would have been upgraded. I will add a couple of specific reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.