We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“what a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

great hospitality, wonderful smiles, great personalities, wonderful customer service, great location.
every one in the hotel from the doorman, which was outstanding, to the director of rooms, CSM and housekeeping what a awesome team.
i was here with a group for work and we received the best service ever. the food was excellent

Room Tip: ocean front or pool side are gorgeous and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear DMERoberto,

Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our associates helped to make your visit more memorable. Please be assured that we will share your kind feedback with our team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Westin and St. Maarten in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    550
    266
    121
    116
See reviews for
350
793
32
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel was wonderful , was upgraded to Ocean view. Large rooms, clean, very comfy beds. Then moved to the timeshare, don't know if this is normal but elevator was broken everyday and key had to be replaced everyday because it would stop working. Seems like the hotel and area shut down around 7pm. Had to travel to Simpson Bay for night life. You may want to think about a hotel closer to the night life if this is what you are looking for. I would think twice about the timeshare but the Westin Dawn beach club was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear jansal313,

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin and Dawn Beach Club. I am glad that you enjoyed the resort and the Heavenly Beds. I apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced because of the elevator and room key not working. We did experience an outage with an elevator and had to bring technicians in to have the elevator repaired.

Thank you for feedback and review. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to St. Maarten and the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights prior to moving into my timeshare resort next door, the Dawn Beach Club. Hotel rooms are very generous in size as well as the bathroom that had a free standing shower and separate tub. Mini bar came stocked but we emptied most of the sodas to fit our own food/beer purchases. Beds are very comfortable and overall the room was very comfortable. The amenities at the Westin are wonderful with a gym, day spa, swim up bar, cabanas to rent by the pool or beach just to name a few. The casino is now non-smoking which made me very happy! The beach is vast and beautiful. Room to spread out on the sand or by the pool. I found the people here extremely helpful, nice and accommodating. Absolutely love the staff here! I definitely would come here again to stay even though there's no kitchen facilities, but why eat in when there's so many wonderful places to eat on St. Maarten!

Room Tip: You get the view you pay for, but we never stay in the room long enough to worry about the view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Janie4359,

Thank you for providing your review of the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the guestrooms, pool, beach, non-smoking casino and most importantly our team members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise in the Caribbean.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My first feeling when arriving in the Westin and Dawn Beach Club (timeshare portion) was that if felt a bit "old". The brown wood and the materials used in the construction of the apartments were substandard for what I have come to expect from a Westin. Getting past that feeling the hotel grounds were beautiful - nice pool, bar, beach. Lunch snacks were ok. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Service at Ocean - the breakfast buffet (Altido deserves a special recommendation) and during lunch and dinner was good. Good manager at Ocean. Of course everything was pricy - food, drinks, internet, taxis. Therefor it is better to eat elsewhere - there are many awesome restaurants close by in Oyster Pond. Buy a few bottles in the super market before arriving. There is a good liquor store right next to superb restaurant l'Oasis in Oyster Pond. Instead of taking the super expensive taxis - rent a car. Make arrangements and rent a car for the week when you arrive in the airport. It will save you money. You are going to want to do a few day trips anyway. Dining out pays for the rental car for the day. Driving from and to the airport pays for the rental car for the day.
The location is pretty good. For a comparison - we did visit the Radisson Blu at Anse Marcel. It is a bit of a drive to get out of Anse Marcel but I would definitely recommend staying there if you have the choice. Awesome location and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear FrankTibackx,

Thank you for taking the time to provide other travelers with your experience at the Westin and Dawn Beach Club. I am glad that you enjoyed the resort and St. Maarten as a whole. We will be sure to thank Altildo and the manager in Ocean for making your visit a memorable one.

It sounds like you were able to explore a lot of what St. Maarten has to offer and I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a meeting and really liked the hotel. Didn't care for the fortress-like architecture but the grounds were nice. Loved the pool and hot tub and the fact you can just walk out to the beach. Definitely a plus! However I had to wait a long time for my room while other guests were checking in left and right. Couldn't understand why. Was very tired and wanted to relax after getting up super early and having such a long flight.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sambarella,

Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. I am glad that you enjoyed the grounds, pool and beach. I apologize for any delay with checking you into your room. I will review our check-in procedures with our team. If, for any reason, there is a wait time they should have explained delay to you.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to St. Maarten and the Westin in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dawn Beach Club..This is a timeshare located on the grounds of the Westin, at the bottom of a very steep hill on Oyster Bay.

First glance of the Hotel is unremarkable, and "fortress-like". Thankfully, the deeper in to the property you go, the lovelier it gets. The lobby does share space with their bar and a Casino, but the Westin pulls it off tastefully. Just don't expect a tropical feel and you won't be disappointed.
.
We were quickly checked in (around 2:30) at the "Starwood" concierge counter. Given our key, directions to the parking and location of our 3 brdm unit #5104. It was actually such a quick check in that we walked away sort of scratching our heads. We were never instructed about the wifi, restaurants, where the amenities were located, etc. I noticed that there were only 2 staff members at the reception counter at the time, and they were multi-tasking. We actually felt a little too rushed.

We drove around to the timeshare section located off to the right of the main hotel and to building "C". Our room was still being cleaned, so we returned to the car with bags in tow, to tour the Island a bit. On arrival back to our room 2 hours later, our keys would not work. Back we go down to reception, and given a new set of keys. The young lady at reception thought that perhaps they had become "de-magnetized". Hmmmm..
Back again we went, eager at this point to just unpack and take a swim. No such luck! Our keys did indeed work, but it opened the door to another couple already checked in to our room! So embarrassing!
Yup.....back down to reception. This time the young lady apologized, asked me who had assigned me the room, and proceeded to explain that the original keys were correct, but the wrong room number had been written on our packet (rushed check-in..ahem).

Off we go back to building "C", and up to room #5105 this time. (with all our bags, plus a few groceries) We opened the door, and immediately got hit with an overwhelming musty, mildew, mold smell. Ughhhh.... I called the front desk and explained that there was no way we could spend a week in the room. The original gentleman who checked us in, offered to have a cleaning crew come up. Really??? There was no way a topical clean up was going to rid the odor from the room. Finally, he offered to come up with the keys to an "alternative" room #5103. Ughhh.

The unit was a few doors down, with a lovely view....... of the hotel wall. The interior of the unit was almost exactly like the "odious" room. Very nice, contemporary, well stocked, clean. It was a bit more worn and not decorated as pretty, but a whole lot fresher smelling!
He kindly offered us a $100.00 hotel credit, and the option to move (ughh, again?) if something with a better view or one of the owners units became available.

Well, you guessed it..nothing better ever became available. I did receive a call from one of the reservation managers a couple of days later, checking on how we were settling in. By that time we were well into our vacation and would not have been thrilled to move anyway.

*On a side note, she told me that only the owners get the prime locale ie: beach, and water view. Exchangers are relegated to the lower floors with a lesser view. Truthfully, no matter where you stay in building "C", your view is across the top of the hotel, and/or the parking lot.
Personally, we have our doubts about there not being another available room. "sigh"

Honestly, the units really are spectacular by anyone's standards despite the view. Just stay away from unit #5105 until they resolve the mold issue!!!

Note to self...always ask to see my room before I officially check in.

On a side note..Stay away from the timeshare peddlers parked at the side of the road near the Westin. They literally stop the vehicles going by. We were never really bothered at the hotel.

Anyway...after that rather bumpy start, we really did thoroughly enjoy our stay at the Westin. The pool area is beautiful. The service/staff were accommodating and personable. The beach is small, a tad rocky, but picturesque.We enjoyed swimming there. Always plenty of loungers by the pool and the beach. Bearing in mind this is their low season.

Tip: Cabana rentals are 1/2 price after 12:30. The blue "bubbles/half umbrellas are no charge and are first come first serve. Just inquire at the bar

We did visit a few other beaches:
Maho- very cool, not recommended for a relaxing beach day. Busy area.
Baie Rouge-Not as pink as expected, but very quiet. Calm water.
Mullet Bay-Large, calm water. Family spot. Pretty.
Orient Beach-Large, pretty, but crowded.
Pinel Island-OMG. A must do! Drive to Cul De Sac, take a $7.00 , 5 minute ferry ride to one of the most tranquil tropical spots you will ever find. Great food, cool waiters, and fabulous turquoise calm water.

We ate at some fabulous restaurants all over the Island in my quest for the perfect croissant!

*Le Tastevin/ In Grand Case-Exceptional service, gorgeous atmosphere and incredible food (french). Area is a bit run down, but many tourists walking about so it felt safe even in the evening.
*Taloula Mango/In Phillipsburg-Fun, beachy, awesome ribs, great view. Tropical vibe.
*Chesterfileds/In Philipsburg, Great Bay/ Just okay. Open late, crowded, decent food. Pier view.
*Le Vie en Rose/in Marigot-Sweet little restaurant. Great breakfast, fabulous cafe au lait. Great service. Good central location.
*Sarafina/In Marigot-Touristy, counter service, but fabulous beignets!
*Paradise View/in Orient Bay-Great service, even greater crepes. Fabulous panoramic view.
*BZH Creperie/in Oyster Pond. Wow, amazing atmosphere, best pizza ever!
*Carousel Gelataria and Bar/in Simpson Bay. Fantastic gelato, adorable, surprisingly whimsical. So clean! And a bar too!
*Pineapple Pete's/In Simpson Bay. Only had drinks, fun tropical atmosphere. Busy place.
*Piece of Cake/in Simpson Bay. Delish desserts (tried too many!)
*La Sucriere/In Simpson Bay and Marigot/ More delish desserts, yummy. Had a great sandwich on a baguette. Good cappuccino.

This was the first time we have rented a car on an Island, and I'm so glad we did. We would never have experienced so many fabulous places on St Martin otherwise.
We pre booked on line with Hertz. It was inexpensive and although you have to take a shuttle to pick up the car, they were very fast and efficient. Likewise upon return of the rental. Roads are very steep and not for the faint of heart. Lots of stray dogs to watch out for too.

We did a little shopping in Marigot at a very nice jewelry store across the street from La Vie en Rose. They have to buzz to let you in.
I found them to be a lot less pushy and more pleasant to deal with than the merchants in Phillipsburg. The gentleman that helped us was extremely nice, and very patient.

No matter what your vacation taste is, St Martin has it all. Overall, one of our favorite Island vacations so far. Looking forward to visiting St Martin/Maartin and the Westin Dawn Beach Club again!

Room Tip: Check out your room, before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Ifrias,

Thank you for visiting us at the Dawn Beach Club and the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation in St. Maarten. It appears that you were able to experience most that the island has to offer. I sincerely apologize about the issues you encountered while checking into your condo unit. I will be sure to share your feedback with our Dawn Beach team and our engineering department.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Westin Hotel on Dawm Beach after a terrible experience at another resort close by and we were so happy with our experience. The moment we checked in we received the best service immaginable. We told the Manager of our diappointment at another resort and he put us in a very nice ocean view room with a beautiful balcony. We were here for six days and received excellent serice throughout our stay. The pool and beach area are wonderful, the service at their spa is exceptional, and the whole staff st the hotel was very friendly. We were happy we moved here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.