We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basecamp hotel, resembles a timeshare more than a vacation resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good basecamp hotel, resembles a timeshare more than a vacation resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel and facilities are well managed with a friendly and helpful staff. We received a free room upgrade and they brought our bags to our room while we went directly to the beach. The beach and pool work well to relax but are nothing to write home about. The resort is not close to most areas of the island you will want to visit, as such you'll need to rent a car. The restaurants are not very good with the exception of the morning brunch, I'd recommend driving to Grand Case or another area of the island for dinner. The Westin is an excellent resort to use as a "basecamp" to sleep or relax by the pool but offers nothing more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    497
    228
    105
    105
See reviews for
306
709
30
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here on our way to St Barts. It was a good comfortable and clean hotel for a very reasonable price. It is on the other side of the island from the airport so you have about a 20-minute taxi ride ($30 USD) each way, but it is a known name and supposedly one of the nicest places on the island. The facilities all look in good shape and well maintained. The staff was pleasant. The pool has a nice view of the water as do many of the rooms. Room was very quiet and the A/C worked as it should. If you must stay on St Maarten then this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Many rooms are ocean view and the price is not terribly expensive. Go for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa on your way to St. Barths. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief time in St. Maarten and that you enjoyed the facilities and service.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Westin and St. Maarten for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We (my wife, 13 month-old and I) were at the hotel around Memorial Day. The staff at the hotel was very friendly, courteous and interested in making our stay a great one. You can tell that the staff is well trained and is eager to do a good job.

The resort was amazingly quiet, as were all of the beaches and restaurants around the island, so I would say that this is a great time of year to visit. The casino was a ghost town, and the pool was really, really quiet. They have a nice section of the pool that is perfect for small children, and there are plenty of cabanas there and at the private beach.

A couple bits of advice: utilize the concierges - they provided us with fantastic restaurant recommendations; rent a car - the hotel is not far from most of the places on the French Side of town and you get to know the area very quickly; eat at the restaurants around the cove at the Oyster Bay Resort when you're looking for a change of pace and something casual.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Buckiz1980,

Thank you for your great review of the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. We are very fortunate to have a team of associates that strive to make our guests vacation a memorable one. I am also happy that you enjoyed the location of the resort which gives our guests easy access to all that the different areas of St. Maarten has to offer.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back to the Friendly Island of St. Maarten in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Please be advised I am reviewing this location as a day trip excursion. I used the "Resort for a Day Web Site". This is not a review of the facility as a vacation trip.
I would recommend this trip to any one on a cruise to St. Maarten. It is best utilized if you have a group of four since the daily fee is for 0-4 people. The cost for the day was $149.00 and we had four adults which made the individual cost around $40. Add the cab fees of about $15 round trip person it totals out at about $55 per person. For that you get a hotel room which we found to be in great shape with a courtyard view. You have access to all the Hotel amenities that included infinity pool, swim up bar, Jacuzzi, pool chairs and beach. Hotel is Ocean Front. Comparable or cheaper than the cruise excursions and they are normally only a few hours. Your access to the facilities is for the entire day dependent on your time constraints with your ship arrival and departure. Our particular ship arrived late morning and left early evening. We had approximately fours hours at the hotel but still felt it was well worth the price. Having access to the hotel room in itself makes it pleasurable. We were able to get showers prior to leaving. we made arrangements for the taxi driver to return at our designated time and had no issues getting back to ship. I would recommend this to anyone heading to St. Maarten via a cruise. We will utilize it again our next trip to St. Marten

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms dirty, smelled musty Carpets not vacuumed. Had to ask for clean towels each day. The pool area is nice, but poolside bathrooms disgusting. Casino smelled of smoke, and food was poor quality. Not worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Deblaw1968,

Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that we failed to exceed your expectations. Direct feedback from our guests is very important to us. Please be assured that we will be sharing your comments with our team to review and correct the areas that you mentioned.

I am proud to announce that the casino at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa has been non-smoking since March 2013.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St. Maarten and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent a week in St. Maarten with my wife. Quiet location. Great for families. Stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. A little out of the way but the airport is only about 25 minutes away without traffic. Great view of St Barth's from Dawn Beach.
Recommended if you plan to rent a car and don't mind driving. Not for you if you plan to stay here for the entire trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sampatel111,

Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa and Dawn Beach Club. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your condo unit, the resort and location.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to St. Maarten and the Westin in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went here on our honeymoon, and while it's nice that you feel very safe (guards to get in, guards watching cars, etc), you're far away from essentially everything. Since there's only 1 road, you're literately like 20-40 drive from seemingly everything. For the price, I wouldn't recommend it. Other than the hotel, there's literately NOTHING. We went for our honeymoon, thinking it'd be nice and relaxing, and if all you want is to sit alone, it's perfect.

Don't book here if you like nights walking on the beach, it's literately 1/2 a football field, and boom, it's over... nothing. There's nothing to do their except eat/drink/gamble.... which gets really boring after 2 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear VATravel12345,

Congratulations on your recent wedding. We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us for such an exciting time in your life. I am glad that you enjoyed the resort and had no safety concerns. We are located on the Dutch and French boarder directly on Dawn Beach. Many of our guests enjoy that we are removed from a lot of the hustle and bustle of some of the more populated areas of the island. This gives our guests the opportunity to relax and unwind while still being a short drive to places like Grand Case, Simpson Bay or Marigot to explore. With so many different places to see in St. Maarten we recommend that our guests rent a car for a couple of days during their visit to experience all that St. Maarten has to offer. Located in the Dawn Beach/Oyster Pond area are many different resturants including local flare, Italian, seafood, and beach bars.

I hope that you had a very memorable honeymoon and will consider the Westin and St. Maarten for your future visits.

All the best
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.