We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine as a base to take day trips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
NYC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine as a base to take day trips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got a great deal on a room at the Westin Dawn Beach Club and decided to go for our anniversary trip and my birthday week. I learned that a colleague and his wife stay at this resort all the time (they may own a time share) and we were given a lot of tips of where to go on the island as well as suggested day trips.

Our room was fine, modern and for the most part clean (I found hair in the bathroom a few times that was not ours). Our balcony door was broken but we never complained and I'm sure it would have been fixed if we bothered to alert someone since our internet service was fixed as soon as we called, like 9 pm.

We had a view of the pool and a view of the ocean from our balcony. Some video clips from the trip are on our YouTube channel. Although we did not spend a ton of time at the beach or the hotel pool, they were both nice and not too crowded.

The service was good the one time we did use the hotel restaurant (breakfast) and we found the staff at the door to be very helpful in pointing out places to go. As for the concierge, we were told by friends to speak with Fran but she did not seem all that interested in helping us so we were left to our own devices which included asking the door staff and friends back home via Facebook. Thankfully, I brought my laptop.

We did the timeshare tour, our first ever, and it was an all afternoon ordeal. Unless you plan to pay for the next 10 years of vacations upfront, don't bother because that tour can eat up a couple of hours of your vacation. The free casino chips were not worth the long timeshare tour as the casino staff is not well trained or maybe they are trained to treat guests differently depending on free chips versus paid chips? There was far too much talking and hand motioning going on for our liking, not like Las Vegas at all. It seems that the guests with the free chips (orange in color) are treated differently than the guests who are spending their own cash. It was blatantly obvious including not shuffling the cards at all for a new player at the table. I've never been to a casino that did not shuffle the deck such that it seemed the deck was stacked. And the "pit boss" standing there giving hand signals and making tons of unusual noises didn't help the situation. It was almost like something out of a bad movie. I don't recommend this casino at all and it should have been a clue that the casino was empty most of the time for the full week during our stay.

Definitely rent a car. We were tempted to rent from the hotel but since Fran was not all that friendly, we got online and ended up renting from the Thrifty at the hotel down the street near Big Fish (great restaurant). The hotel is far from most tourist areas so taking cabs every day will get pricey. You should use that money to rent a car. The roads are tiny so don't bother to rent anything too big.

We took a day trip to St. Barths and a day trip to Anguilla. I highly recommend both since you are only a quick flight or a 30-45 minutes ferry ride from each island. Definitely visit Grand Case and go into town to shop on Front Street and Back Street. The cruise ships were in during our stay so we got to see and meet a lot of interesting people from all over the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear KatWomanNYC,

Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa. It sounds like overall you enjoyed your visit to St. Maarten. I am very sorry about the short comings you experienced with the room and some of the service encounters. Please feel free to send me a private message about the patio door lock that is not working. I would like to ensure that this is repaired as soon as possible.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and St. Maarten in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    586
    279
    124
    124
See reviews for
392
828
35
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

In January our daughter was married at this hotel, they wanted a beach wedding and the meal was served on the pool deck. Minu Thawani the Catering and Convention Manager along with Danika Liburd our wedding planner gave them and our small group the most memorable wedding anyone could ever ask for. The wedding couple also stayed a couple of nights in the hotel and loved every moment of their stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODSXM, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Ramger66,

Thank you for your kind feedback and review about the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa. I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations for such a special occasion. Minu and Danika take great pride in ensuring the bride and groom have a perfect celebration.

We hope to welcome them back for many years to come!

Sincerely,
Daniel Beddor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort for two weeks at the end of April, beginning of May 2013, and had a magnificent experience!

Arriving tired and hot, Sabrina at Registration informed us that she had upgraded us to a Suite. When we asked if it had an Ocean View, she said "no" and probably saw our looks. She vowed to make it her personal mission to move us to Ocean View as soon as she could.

We got to our room and it was huge! Full kitchen, Dining Room & Living Room, besides a huge bedroom and bath. Really a lovely room on an interior courtyard. My wife laid down on the couch and fell asleep, so I ran out to get some snacks & sodas.

When I got back, Sabrina had called and had a great option for us. We took it and moved to a fantastic room! Not as big, but a large executive suite with a wrap around lanai with half of it on the Ocean and half of it on the pool. Spectacular!

We found that kind of "can do" attitude prevalent in the staff throughout the organization! From the towel guys at the pool to Rahul, the Director of Rooms, to the wait staff to Max, the Restaurant Manager, to Sabrina at Registration to the Omelet Lady par excellent at breakfast to our wonderful housekeeping lady the staff were warm, friendly, helpful, and hardworking!

We highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: SPG Platinum sure doesn't hurt whenever you are at a Starwood property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for Mother's day weekend. The hotel is definitely off the beaten track and it is best to have a rental car. Make sure you talk to Fran(concierge) about anything that you want to see or places to dine. We were over the top satisfied with her selections and she gave very detailed directions.The beach at the resort is quite beautiful and perfect for relaxing. We only had one problem during our stay and it was handled quickly.Overall,this is the place to stay if you like quiet and secluded and you do not mind driving a bit for night life and the sights of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Great facility, veryi clean, friendly staff, nice rooms, stunning beach views and a gorgeous pool overlooking those. Everybody speaks English and everything is priced in dollars.

The only significant negative is that it is secluded. If you are here for more than a night or two you will probably want to rent a car to go spend the day at Orient Bay or have a nice dinner in Grand Case. I do not recommend renting a car at the airport. Take a taxi to the hotel and rent a car there. The rates at the hotel are reasonable and the drive from the airport can be confusing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in the timeshare units at the Westin Dawn Beach Club. The units themselves were very nice, modern, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we did not have much of a view of the ocean, and it looked like many of the units did not have good views. So, as a result, you felt a little "trapped" in the unit.

The beach and pool were very nice. The service was very good.

As everyone else has mentioned, the hotel itself is a bit "standard". The lobby is dark, and you would really expect more of an open air feel, but that is lacking. One of the other reviews I read jokingly said something about the hotel being designed by an architect who designs schools or other institutional buildings .... and there is definitely a bit of that. However, we learned that the Westin was apparently devistated by a hurricane many years ago, and then rebuilt in the current format. The current buildings look like they could definitely withstand a hurricane and then some!!

The hotel restaurant and service at the restaurant was just ok.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. There were many restaurants in the general area. We also had a rental car so we ventured off site during the day and for dinner at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Came to St. Maarten 6 years ago with my fiancé and friends. We stayed in Simpson Bay which was very lively and in the middle of everything. This time I stayed at the Westin. This side of the island is very quite and serene and the water is magnificent! Staff was exceptional and condo was very beautifully decorated. Would definitely come back here.

W. Smith
Maryland, USA

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.