We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just misses being excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just misses being excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Husband and i arrived a few days early for some down time before a conference. Our room was lovely but often we asked for turn down service - however, no one showed up. Housekkeping arrived late in the day or not at all and had to be called. Food was ok and typically overpriced for what it was. That said, pool and beach were lovely. Spa was very nice but the gym was the size of a postage stamp. It really needs to be expanded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    572
    272
    124
    118
See reviews for
366
817
32
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at The Westin St. Maarten Dawn Beach. I frequently read the reviews on trip advisor and I think some of them were a bit harsh on this property. I thought the place was vey nice and clean and the service was great. Most of the staff went out of their way to make sure that you were enjoying your stay. The General Manager Daniel knew that I was a Platinum Starwood member and he checked in on me to make sure all was going well. That extra effort goes a long way and we really appreciate it.

So let me dive in a bit deeper of the positives and negatives. Yes the resort is out of the way a bit but I do not think it is that big a deal. We took a cab the couple of nights we went out to dinner. One night for $6 we went to Oyster Pond and we ate at Big Fish. A great meal and the staff was really nice there. Another night we went to Marigot ($25 cab ride) and ate at Mario's Bistro. Food was awesome. I highly recommend it! We also ate one night at the Westin steakhouse Aura. We enjoyed that as well.

The pool area and beach area are really nice. Yes the pool is very cold since it is not heated. But when it is 82 outside I am fine going in cold water to cool off. The ocean was fun and not as rough as some people say. The entire pool and beach area were well maintained and had workers making sure it looked clean every day. Yes they do charge for a cabana at the pool or beach but we paid for a type of umbrella/cabana on the beach and it was worth it.

Overall I think it is a nice Westin property and I would visit it again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and two young adult daughters arrived at the Westin in St. Maarten in late January 2013. The staff was very friendly, competent and accomodating. I'm talking about everyone, from the doormen and bellmen, front desk, concierge, housekeepers, bartenders, and pool area and restaurant staff. The manager was a great guy named David. He took a personal interest in our needs and wants and was sincerely interested in our satisfaction. He seemed to do this with everyone, as I saw him over several days chatting with almost everyone he came in contact with, from the lobby to the pool and restaurants. The whole facility looked brand-new (I think it's two or three years old) and is kept immaculately clean. They have a casino with mostly slots and don't push it or promote it. Hardly anyone was in it the 5 days that we were there. The best thing about the casino is there's No Noise! The slots are silent. The two restaurants are very good. The breakfast buffet is excellent--everything from smoked salmon, fruit & juice, oatmeal, eggs benedict, an omelet station, sausage, bacon, potatos. Price = $22.00 p/p. Travel to anywhere requires licensed taxi service--always available. Our average fare with tip was $40 - $50 each way for the four of us. Even the taxi drivers were very friendly. Make sure you only take a licensed taxi or van. There are some crazy unlicensed drivers/vehicles. It was a relaxing 5 days, just sitting and reading at the pool and beach. Nothing much else to do. And that was fine.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you unpack -- they'll change it if you don't want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I were badly in need of a vacation. I'm so glad we chose The Westin. We stayed for 9 days and enjoyed each and every day there. The staff is incredibly polite, very welcoming and so knowledgable. Our hotel room was very nice and the bed was soooo cozy. The maids were incredibly thoughtful and pleasant. The only negative was that The Westin doesn't offer movies to buy and watch but they do offer HBO and Cinemax which was very nice. The pool is amazing and faces the beach. The hot tub faces the beach as well and is a lot of fun to hop into at night while listening to the waves crashing in. The staff at the pool is amazing. Everyone had a smile on their face and were very pleasant and fun to socialize with. A special thanks to Nadine who really made us feel at home. My boyfriend especially enjoyed her special drink simply called Nadine's special! While you are there you must get a deep tissue body massage, it's heaven!!! It was so good that we went back for a second one the very next day. The gift shop in the hotel is very nice but be prepared to spend some money. A tall bag of pretzels cost $10 bucks, ouch!!!! And a fashion magazine cost me $8 bucks. We also enjoyed the casino, I won $600 bucks but lost $200 thanks to my boyfriend!!!! Oh, we'll! Anyways, we enjoyed ourselves completely and will be talking about our trip for a very long time. Well done Westin, well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved the Westin in St. Martin. The staff is a little slow to warm up to the guests but once they do they are truly wonderful. The grounds, pool, beach are impeccable and anything you ask for they can get you. We stayed for 8 days and certainly did not want to leave. The rooms are lovely and we had a balcony to relax on which overlooked a small courtyard. I definitely would reccommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When we got there, they had no record of our reservation. They were very nice about the mix up and gave us a oceanfront room with wrap around balconies instead. It was a great room! The pool area and beach were also nice. What we didn't care for was the food. First, there was nothing open for food in the late afternoon except the inside bar and who wants to eat at an inside bar during the day at St. Martin. Since we were starving from traveling most of the day, we did eat there, but the food was awful.. Shrimp cocktail must have used frozen shrimp because they were mushy! Had dinner there late that night as well. Marginal at best. Walked to Mr. Buzby's the next day - it was much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

A welcoming and pleasant first stay at this resort, after our Windstar cruise. The property is clean, beautiful and promotes a feeling of relaxation. The rooms are generously-sized, as are the common areas and pool area. The beach is pristine. It is clear that the management, especially David, is attentive to the needs and requests of the guests.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.