We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation We've Ever Had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Raymond, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Vacation We've Ever Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived in St. Maarten for New Year's Eve 2012 and were originally staying on the french side of the island. We did so for one week and then were approached to view the time shares at Dawn Beach. This was the best decision that we have made by far while on vacation. We met with Jo, who showed us the property and discussed the pro's and con's with us of the island, etc. We were wowed by the room and the friendliness/service that we recieved from all of the staff that we encountered. We then met with Bernadette, who couldn't have been more helpful with the financing portion of our transaction. From start to finish this was a top rate experience. So much so, we bought the timeshare and moved right onto the property. Leaving our room on the French side of the island behind. We've now been here for one week and can't say enough about the staff here, from the Regional Director to the Manager on Duty and the everyday staff it has been a wonderful experience. Sure you encounter people in the hallway that want to get you involved in a tour but that's their job and how else will people like us know about such wonderful opportunities. It's not something that you seek out on your own at a place like the Westin. Who knew they even had timeshare opportunities. There are several restaurants on the property as well and the food is wonderful. We would highly recommend this destination as a must for any traveler.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a large group as for the third bedroom of the villa to have a bed inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    535
    256
    115
    114
See reviews for
339
765
32
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We first visited Dawn Beach on July 2011.The place is beautiful and my 2 teen-aged boys loved it so we bought a time share. The unit was very big with upgraded kitchen appliances. When we came back on June 2012 to stay in the unit, there were ants in the unit, the kichen appliances were old and rusty with missing kitchenwares and the fire alarm kept going on even if we were not cooking. We also lost electrical power on and off for 2 days which caused some of our perishable foods to be spoiled. We have to get ice cubes during that time.They sprayed ant insecticide 2x but it exacerbated my allergies and I was feeling congested during our stay. We were invited to meet with a Dawn Beach representative and we tried to address the inconvenience to her. However, she focused on selling us additional weeks rather than focusing on improving the services. When she realized that we were not ready to buy additional weeks of stay, she gave us an attitude. Finally we were able to talk with one of upper management staff who promised to address our concerns and complaints. Now, we are returning this year with friends who are potential buyers. As time share owners of Dawn Beach, we want the resort to succeed. The place is excellent but the services could surely have improvements. Our kids also wish that the resort will have more fun activities so they don't get bored and that's also one of the reasons why we are bringing friends with us. We are now looking forward to our next visit at Dawn Beach this summer. We are hoping to have a better time and have a more fun and excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just finished our 8th stay at the Westin Dawn Beach in the last 6 years. It remains one of our favorite vacation spots in the world. The staff -- from the bellmen when you pull up to the front desk to housekeeping to the casino dealers -- are wonderful, welcoming and warm. There has clearly been on-going maintenance and upkeep around the property - new carpets in the hallways, new shower fixtures, and some cosmetic work around the pool.

You need to rent a car -- the hotel is located about 2 km off of the "main road" of SXM, and it's a steep (nearly 400 foot vertical rise) hill if you want to walk over to Mr Busby's or the Marina area. There are always taxis available, and it's about a $20 ride to just about anywhere if you prefer not to drive the unmarked streets in the dark.

That said, this isn't the highest end of the Starwood properties -- it's above the midpoint in terms of price and exclusivity, but I don't understand the complaints about cost. It's a fair price for high season considering the hotel facilities. Similarly, I don't understand complaints about service - what I have found is that if you treat the staff with gentility and respect, and don't bring a large dose of NY attitude, things are great. I witnessed more than a little bad guest behavior during our visits, from vulgar abuse of casino dealers to people who can't be bothered to clear towels off of (limited) pool lounges when they leave to people making demands of the concierge when they can't get dinner reservations during the Christmas-New Year's week (we book ours 2-3 weeks in advance). We have personally never experienced anything other than top-notch service here, and after our 3rd or 4th visit, the staff began to greet us by name. I don't get that at other Starwood properties where I visit 5-6 times (a year) for work. Even though the hotel has had a few different managers in the last 6 years (this is standard Starwood practice; they move people around and it's NOT a reflection on the property or the managers) the quality and consistency -- and the staff "family feel" -- hasn't changed been affected in the least.

The casino is small but reasonable; the rules are not exactly Vegas or Atlantic City player-friendly but if you want that action, go to Vegas or AC. The restaurants are fine but with some world-class French cuisine all of 15 km away in Grand Case, you have to venture out and explore.

If I have one (and only one) issue -- there is almost no shade by the pool. If you want to be outside and avoid the sun, you need to rent a cabana poolside or on the beach -- we typically drive over to Orient Bay and rent umbrellas for the day for that reason, then come back and relax poolside once the sun is less brutal.

Other little details - there's a small Westin Workout room that was just updated (treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bike, weight machines, free weights). The spa gets high marks from my family members who went for massages. The wireless works (again) and it even supports iPhone authentication, so if you want to use your iPhone without an international data plan, you can -- nice for Skype, WhatsApp, and iMessage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After having gone to this hotel recently, my husband and I were very DISAPPOINTED.
The CONS of the hotel were as follows:

Price: We have stayed at high end, expensive hotels. This was EXPENSIVE and NOT HIGH END.
Rooms: The OCEAN FRONT view rooms were extremely MUSTY and DAMP, and they had carpet which we didn't even want to step on with bare feet. Cleaning staff we very disorganized, and came into the room multiple times each day.
- Beware of the annoying staff harassing you to take part in a 90 minute presentation for time share.
Location: Very remote. You NEED A CAR. Unless you intend to spend your entire vacation at the resort, or taking a long and expensive taxi ride in to the town whenever you get bored. I would not recommend this location for those who enjoy being close to nightlife and action.
Breakfast: Grossly overpriced, and mediocre.

PROS:
Location: The beach and the pool are very nice. The waves can be quite strong, so I would not recommend this for children (parents at the resort had to stay by the pool with their children). Many chairs are available and included with your stay, unless you want to upgrade to a cabana which of course is not worth it. Towels are also included.
Food: The 2 restaurants at the hotel are quite good overall. But they can get expensive, and there is much better cuisine on the island if you ask around or use a good guidebook ( I would recommend Fodor's, it was amazing). Sunday brunch is very good, there is a huge selection. Come hungry, and be willing to pay at least $50.00 per person.

OVERALL:
The hotel is just too run down and expensive. There is no justification. If you are a traveler who likes luxury and/or enjoys getting value for your money, you are better off elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get them on sale or not at all. OCEAN FRONT ROOMS are SOOO over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Spa is beautiful and as you'd expect the ladies providing services are excellent! They also have a great Casino and outdoor restaurant.

There is no beach to swim at but with their pools and the crashing waves - you don't need one.

It's a bit of a challenge to find but we'll worth it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Westin Dawn Beach hotel is a hotel, casino and spa at the far end of St. Martin. It is located on the French side/Dutch side border about 10 minutes from Orient Beach. We stayed here for two days before we were able to move into our time share near Simpson Bay.

The hotel itself is quite lovely. The room was very large, much larger than I expected. The king size bed was comfortable and every room had a balcony or porch. The bathroom was very nice with a shower large enough for two. The bathtub was small but functional.

Internet was free in the room and the cable TV actually worked which was surprising in St. Martin.

The pool was very nice and there was an outside bar. The pool was more for beauty than swimming although there were a few people swimming. The chairs by the pool had cushions on them and were very comfortable. The staff was very attentive.

The chairs on the beach were old and several had rips in them and should be replaced. Also, the beach chairs are the old style rubber ones, not the nice ones with cushions like at the pool.

There are two restaurants on site. We only ate in the more casual one. Ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was very good bordering on excellent. The chocolate Mousse was to die for. The staff went out of their way to help us. One waitress even searched out and found my wife a chocolate mouse on her second trip to the spa.

They have two buffets, a Sunday brunch, Sunday breakfast and a Wednesday dinner. We only ate the Sunday breakfast and it was very nice and a good value. The Sunday brunch looked to be too expensive.

My wife used the spa and loved it so much that even after we moved to the other side of the island, she drove 45 minutes back to the hotel to go to the spa again even though there were closer spas to us.

The casino is small. It has your normal casino fair. Unfortunately, the craps table was not open the two days I stayed there.

We asked for and received a late checkout without much problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been traveling Christmas nye for over 30 years this was the best and easiest trip I ever had the front desk staff Raul David john Matt can't do enough to make your trip great the rest people like simon and the rest of staff great beach staff same. The MAJOR problem there is the casino I am some what of a high roller I have won lost big this casino slot machines have to be the worst payouts ever a normal casino has a return of 96-98 pct this one is at the best 90 which is horrible they take the attitude that people stay a few days they are used to Losing so wouldn't shock anyone,I av visited 9 casinos on island no one has a payout like guys great hotel great casino stay out


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.