We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bungalow #5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Save
You added Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond to your Saves list
15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bungalow #5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Les Balcones for 3 nights 7/5-7/8 in bungalow #5. It was simply beautiful. It literally felt like a home away from home with a view of the wonderful Marina and Oyster Pond homes and other hotels.
The bungalow had an amazing porch that was perfect. Had a set of tables, lounge chairs, couches, lights and a fan - an outdoor living room. The actual indoor bungalow was to die for. Decorated wonderfully. The whole place looks like it was recently renovated. The bathroom looked directly out of Ikea-simply amazing. It felt like you were home when staying in this place. The pool is directly next to the unit and no one used it so it was practically like having a private pool for ur own disposal. Another great thing is that you can order breakfast each day for the following morning and they are delievered fresh to the main office. The only drawback for us was that we were used to the Maho & Simpson Bay areas, so the lack of things to do was ever present. It is definitly peaceful and a wonderful, relaxing experience.

I would return.

  • Liked — The bungalow, pool, view
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
86
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed for seven nights in March. After a long and tedious online search for the best destination in the Caribbean, we decided on St. Martin. And then we found Les Balcons. First, the island suited us; second, and most importantly, the charm and small scale of the Les Balcons seemed like the perfect place for us.

Oyster Pond is the only location on the island that I would recommend staying, with the most charm, and Les Balcons, as far as I'm concerned, is the best place to stay. Our room was great, really: high ceilings, big comfortable bed, lived in kitchen, large balcony with view overlooking the the garden and marina; and there were a couple cute (and good) restaurants close by, just ask. The kitchen could use a hand towel and dish towel both for extended stays, providing a little more convenience for cooking and cleaning. The bathroom counter had a few, tiny bugs that had to be wiped away the first couple days. Other than that- Oh, yeah, the bakery delivery not as reliable as expected. Other than that, we were very satisfied.

Carine and David were very helpful and accommodating. Carine, in fact, helped to arrange for me a surprise for my wife, before we arrived via E-mail. And both were on hand each day for helpful suggestions.

Although St. Martin wasn't the pure paradise that we had expected, Les Balcons was a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I want it for myself, this place is really great, probably the nicest place i have found in the whole Caribbean, stayed in room 23, which was the owners place when they build the place, it has amazing view, Jacuzzi, separate kids room and a gas barbecue which I used every night.

It’s really a paradise here; I am just afraid I will not be able to get a booking for next year.

So stay away!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Les Balcons was a wonderful way to experience the nicest area in St Maarten's. We stayed in bungaloo #20. It had a king sized bed, a well equipped kitchen, and a recently extended covered deck that had a breath taking view of Oyster bay. We spent each morning enjoying our croissants or baguette's on this deck not wanting to ever leave. There is a french bakery in Orleans that is not to be missed. Our favorite restaurants were Big Fish by Dawn beach, L'estaminet Restaurant and La California in Grand Case. Actually we would love to eat at every restaurant in Grand Case. Make sure you go to Grand Case on Tuesday and eat at a lolo and watch the parade. Carine and David are the perfect host for Les Balcons and are very helpful and knowledgeable people when you have questions. Most people we talked to have been coming back to his complex for years and you understand why after your visit. We spent 12 days there and it was difficult to leave.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Having spent quite a lot time searching for the right place for a first trip to St Martin, we are very happy to have found Les Balcons at Oyster Pond.

We enjoyed our large bungalow suite with a huge terrace overlooking Oyster Pond and its changing colours. The scenery was beautiful, would it be in the morning or at sunset.
Welcome visitors were hummingbirds, sugar birds and some local cats.
There were also a few mosquitoes, and they loved us…

The bungalow was very clean, well equipped, almost luxurious, all of this for a very reasonable price, even though we were in high season. A/C was working normally…

However a rental car is compulsory if you want to visit the island (beaches, restaurants, shopping), as Oyster Pond is quite small, and there are not many shops around.

In terms of nearby restaurants, we tried Quai Ouest, just underneath Les Balcons (very good and reasonable rices), Captain Oliver’s (the place just got a new Manager who is steadily improving things and motivating his team), and also le Planteur (a nice refined mix of French and Creole cuisine).

St Martin was a nice (first) experience for me, and we’ll be back!

  • Liked — Quiet and lovely views.
  • Disliked — Some mosquitoes hanging around!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Our family of 8 of all different ages stayed at Les Balcons in December and we all loved it ! We stayed in a studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom and all were just beautiful ! David and Carine were wonderful hosts! The views were spectacular. A very quiet, relaxing place to stay just on the french border and close to Dawn Beach. One note, you need a car as taxis are expensive and the buses don't stop close by

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed 9 days at the Balcons, and loved the atmosphere. Nothing fancy or gigantic: just a small resort on a hillside facing the marina. Carine and David are wonderful hosts. We stayed in bungalow number 6 on the lower row. The bungalow has all the comfort we need, including a kitchenette. The best part is the wide balcony overlooking the magnificent marina. An also, having breakfast on the balcony in the company of small birds. And also... the view from the pool. And then... the proximity to Quai Ouest restaurant and Captain Oliver's Marina. And did I mention the peace and quiet of the place?
We will be back!
(And why in the world did I write all this? We should keep places like these secret, so we are still able to book a unit next time!)

  • Liked — Everything: the feel, the landcape, the view, the hosts...
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.