We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The owners couldn't be nicer. There is something about waking up to French pastry that gets the day going right. The view looking into the harbor is stunning. We had a blast grilling on our patio while drinking French wine. There are bars you can walk to behind the hotel that have that island charm. We will definitely be back. Just one tiny gripe..............the bed could be a little more comfortable. If they put better beds in, this would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in October of 2009 and absolutely loved it! We stayed in unit 1 (which was great for the two of us)! The unit was very nice and well put together. There is also a huge terrace which was awesome! We spent many nights on the terrace watching the lights across the harbor. Les Balcons is a quick car ride to dawn beach were we went almost daily. You can also have French pastries delivered to the front desk which was an added treat! Les Balcons is the perfect get way and we plan on going back very soon!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great place to stay for active people. Clean, safe, with amazing view from terrace. Caribbean style of the bungalow creates your vacation mood. Kitchen is fully equiped plus gas barbeque, we prepared all our breakfests and barbeque dinners.
We rented brand new car from Automax and worried about parking, no worries - they have enough parking space. Management is friendly and helpfull, just ask where to go and where not to, what to visit, stores and restaurants location, order fresh croissants from local bakery.
Visit Captain Oliver's Marina enjoy this special place - outstanding company of sailpeople. We run around the island and tryed to visit as many places as possible, and found out that this location is the most quiet and comfortable with no traffic and easy access to any part of the island. We would like to say -
Thank you to Carine, David and Sylvia (manager) for good accomodation, perfect service that made our vacation outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A wonderful,relaxing time spent in these immaculate apartments with serious air conditioning.
Very professionally run by Carin and David who are the most charming and helpful couple you could meet.
Views from the large balcony across the marina,clean sheets,comfortable beds,large BBQ on same terrace,just a delight.
Excellent value,on the right side of the border too,that is the French side,far more attractive and not as developed.
Carin will give you all the local info,best beaches,book a table at the best restaurants.
Highly recommend .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned to grey UK after spending 4 perfect nights in Bungalow 7 at Balcons d'Oyster Pond. The property was perfect for our needs - excellent value for money, great location for exploring both sides of the island, within walking distance of several restaurants and gorgeous decks with views over Oyster Pond (and a barbecue that we used twice). The accommodations themselves are clean, well-equipped and very comfortable and feel very much like a home from home. Security is good with alarms on the bungalows and secure parking (not that we ever felt unsafe for one minute in St Martin but I guess there is crime in most places in the world). We stocked up on food and wine at Le Grand Marche supermarket on the way from the airport - not bad prices in general.
We fell in love with the island and will most definitely be back as soon as we can manage it - it goes without saying we will sty at Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We wanted to extend our stay in St. Martin after sailing with friends, whose boat is moored at Oyster Pond. Not only were Les Balcons located just up the hill from Oyster Pond, they command lovely views from their sizeable decks and offer one of the best deals in the area. This is not a big resort; it is on the French side of Oyster Pond and therefore fairly quiet. We were in a studio and liked the fact that we had a kitchenette. There are several nice, small shops selling groceries, fresh French bread, and sundries within walking distance. Owners Carine and David will also arrange to have fresh croissants and bread available each morning, if you let them know the day before. If you need more activity, just walk to the other side of Oyster Pond to the Dutch side, where there are several restaurants and even a Westin hotel, with all you would expect from those amenities. Our unit was clean, well equipped, and had a gorgeous view. It was at the "pool deck" level, one level up from the marina level, and below the upper level. The owners are very attentive, have many suggestions, and can even arrange rental cars. A great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

These bungalows are privately / individually owned so each one has it's own unique style. Ours was decorated nicely in blue with a tropical fish theme, the bed was comfortable, the little kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pots and pans, coffee pot, etc., bathroom was clean and nicely decorated, air conditioning worked well and they are very safe. They even have alarm systems which made us feel extra secure. You can park your car inside a gated parking area too. The view from our sliding glass door that lead to our covered (very large) patio was gorgeous - overlooking the bay and the million dollar sail boats parked there. We even used the bbq grill one evening to grill up some local fish we had found at the market that day. The co-op of owners that take care of you are so friendly and helpful. I arrived a day earlier than expected and called them from the airport - they helped give me directions on how to get to them, then helped arrange for a rental car to be dropped off for me in the morning, they'll also help with arranging tours or just finding the best grocery store. There are Americans as well as French living here and everyone we met spoke perfect English (if your French is less than perfect or non-existant like mine). There are at least 3 french bakeries within walking distance and you can even order delivery from the front office for early morning drop-off of warm fresh french pasteries. Normally, when we travel to a beach / tropical vacation spot I want to walk out and flop onto a beach chair next to the water. I was honestly a little reluctant to stay here because although you have an amazing ocean view, you don't have a sun / swim beach. I wasn't disapointed at all though. St. Martin has so many beaches to see that we wouldn't have wanted to stay at just one and we spent every morning enjoying a different sight then spent every afternoon at a different beach and never had to drive far (it's a tiny island after all). I enjoyed the fact that we were in a place that offered a more real experience and not at all like the monster resorts (we didn't have to listen to club music booming from the bar (there are bars within a very short walk along the boat docks if you do want a bar) or fight the crowds of sunburnt tourists at the buffet - and we drank our evening wine out of real wine glasses and not those horrible plastic resort cups!). The best way I can describe Les Balcons is that it made us feel like we were home...a home with an amazing view, french pastery delivery, and true relaxation. If someday, I can afford to buy one of these bungalows, I would be ecstatic to spend the rest of my days here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less stairs leading from the parking area and a bit more of a breeze (so I was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond to your Saves list