We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon by the Sea

Le Pavillon by the Sea
110 Rue de L'Escale, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-029-5084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Le Pavillon by the Sea serves French-influenced, Pan-Caribbean cuisine in a striking seaside setting just over the hill from Captain Oliver's Marina. We are open and accepting reservations/ Walk In Welcome Lunch: Monday to Friday: 12pm - 2:30pm Dinner: Every Day: 6pm - 10pm
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Have been visiting St. Maarten for years and have discovered a new restaurant.

Wonderful service,outstanding food, delightful surroundings. I am a meat and potato type of guy, but took Chris's advice and tried the fresh fish special of the day. WOW!!! Also sampled the Lobster pasta-- world class flavors. Elaine and Chris made us feel like long time regulars.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    7
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best meal in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We had an outstanding meal at Le Pavillon last night. The setting is beautiful - covered, but open air with a beautiful view. Some other reviews commented on the wind - it wasn't very windy last night but the owners told us they are recently opened and working on putting something up that helps with the wind but doesn't harm the view.

The owners were very kind and took great care of us. The wine list is pretty pricey overall but they kindly offered us a taste of a couple of different wines more in our price range, and we found one that was delicious and very reasonable.

Even though it is a French restaurant (as are so many restaurants on the island) the menu was really different, and everything sounded good. The food was spectacular - we shared the surf and turf with Caribbean lobster tail, ginger lime shrimp and NY strip steak, vegetable gratin and shoestring fries. Everything was great, but the seafood really stole the show. For dessert we had banana bread pudding, which was perfect (not overly sweet), and white and dark chocolate mousse which was hands down the best I've ever had.

We will definitely return here on our next trip!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonPBS, Front Office Manager at Le Pavillon by the Sea, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
we are happy that you enjoyed your meal here with us, it was a pleasure having you , and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wind Tunnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place looks cool. It was very quiet when we were there, as in 2 other customers. The food was great. The rest wasn't so great and it was very pricey for Oyster Pond.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonPBS, Front Office Manager at Le Pavillon by the Sea, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
we are very happy that you loved the food, we are a new restaurant in the area that pride ourselves on standing out from the rest, come back and visit us soon, we guarantee your experience will be even better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place & fantastic food & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

What à great place already! This place is just running and it is great already. We enjoyed the oysters with spinach, and the lamb rack what à great dish! For dessert we enjoyed the chocolate mousse and tasted heavenly! The place looks great with nice white linens and the owners, Elaine and Christian are doing a great job to make your night out, a perfect night! Thank you!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonPBS, Front Office Manager at Le Pavillon by the Sea, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
thank you for your kind word, and we are very happy that you enjoyed the food, and ambiance, we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The food and atmosphere are amazing. We began by sharing the chef's oyster special. We were served 6 plump, sweet and very well prepared oysters. My husband had the duck breast which we felt was better prepared than the duck he had a few evening ago in one Grand Case's better restaurants. I had the fresh made fettuccine in a mushroom mascarpone sauce which was equally good. We shared a wonderful dessert, gingerbread, grilled pineapple with homemade coconut ice cream. The couple that own the restaurant are delightful people. The restaurant is located overlooking beautiful baie Lucas which is winding but not uncomfortable. I brought a scarf but didn't need it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonPBS, Front Office Manager at Le Pavillon by the Sea, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
hi Jill
We are always happy when clients let us know that we fulfilled our goal and provided great food and a great dining experience, thank you for coming and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pavillon by the Sea also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Pavillon by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.