We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bad stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The good: The staff seem fairly diligent. The towel service was good. The pool area is beautiful. They really tried to keep the seaweed off of the beach.

The bad: Oh where to start? I was there on a honeymoon and we had to bug out of our room on at least two days. One day for a power outage that never materialized and the other day for an AC install. The power outage was poorly communicated; we found out less than 24hrs before the outage (fridge full of food) and it was not communicated that the lock on the door and the safe were battery powered (and thus not part of the outage). Second day was for an AC control install. This resulted in two AC controls in our room that beeped constantly during our last day in the room and the controls turned the bedroom into a very cold wind tunnel. Ordinarily, this would be bad but I was there for a honeymoon. I wanted privacy. Also, housekeeping was constantly knocking on our door AFTER they serviced the room. The minute my spouse got naked, there was housekeeping with two towels. We had further electrical issues; the breaker for the bathroom and bedroom kept getting tripped. This meant that we kept getting stranded in the shower in the dark and that we had to reset the alarm clock daily. Furthermore, we were charged for an energy fee of $7 PER DAY. They were charging us for power that cut out. Gee, thanks guys. Lastly, the pool area was constantly gate crashed by large groups of loud unruly children. The children were clearly not staying at the resort. I have no idea why management puts up with that. Once the kids showed up, I was out of there. I was there to relax not dodge kids.

I tried to contact a manager or an assistant manager twice, but never was able to reach someone. Great open door policy guys.

I think they had a lot of audacity trying to sell us a timeshare for $12,500. This price could, of course, have been financed at 15%. Oh what a deal!?!?!?!?

They talk a lot about the Oyster Bay family. I was there on a gifted timeshare from my inlaws so I guess I was not part of the family. I don't plan on paying to become part of the family. In fact I do not pay for family.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    163
    63
    22
    13
See reviews for
162
325
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1. Roof leaked into smoke detector in second BR setting off alarm. Could not get repairs.
2. No hot water in second bath.
3. Kitchen stove not close to level and wobbled severely.
4. Faucet on sink in main bath not fastened to cabinet top.
5. Blinds in dinette had broken string.
6. Wood work damaged and painted over - very cheesy.
7. Surly concierges.
8. Hands in my pocket for every item. Tacked 15% "Service Charge" on restaurant bill then wanted more tip.
9. $51/wk for in room WiFi. Hot spot at bar very slow and could not get email from Brightouse Webmail.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last month our family vacationed at Oyster Bay Beach Resort in St. Maarten,
my wife & I, our two children, their spouses and our three granddaughters, ( Ages 10, 9 & 7 ).
The resort was absolutely beautiful, featuring breathtaking views, great restaurants (Infinity & Beau Beau's), an infinity pool that the girls enjoyed everyday and the resort staff are the friendliest, professional and the most helpful people you could ever meet.
I had some apprehension, prior to the trip about being able to keep the grandkids entertained for a week. But, my concern quickly disappeared as the activities staff recommended boat trips, the zoo, the butterfly farm and snorkeling with the sea turtles, all minutes away from the resort.
Should you ever consider a Caribbean family vacation, I highly recommend Oyster Bay Beach Resort.
For us, it was truly a vacation of a lifetime.
Carmen & Fred Pestana

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a one week stay on a time share exchange and loved the experience. The facilities, area and atmosphere were excellent. The personnel on this resort work hard to project a truly "we care" attitude. The only area we did not enjoyed was Dawn Beach, that due that the recent weather had brought onshore an unusual amount of sea weed, but this was common on all eastern beaches of St. Martin, including Orient. Everyday the dozer was cleaning the weed, and three hours later it looked the same. Excellent, clean apartment. Full kitchen. Nice bed and bathroom, including a bidet that worked just fine. The cable signal a bit weak and in some channels the picture was a bit fuzzy. Restaurant were not truly fine dining outstanding but very competent overall, with reasonable pricing. Would return to this place and is recommended.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the Ocean, the view is beautiful. The rooms away from Beaus will be quieter, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great resort with just everything you would need for a fabulous vacation. This resort has it all. Fine dining, activities, great bars all within the complex and just down the road, a casino for the gambler in you. The activities desk, can book you on just about any type of excursion, be it scuba diving, touring the island in a schooner, whatever. I love this island, and I love this resort. Its removed from all the hustle just enough so if you wanted to get into the middle of it all, it would not be a hard thing to do. I keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

St Martin itself is a bit disappointing--away from the French side--somewhat dirty and crowded. The hotel is time-share focused--which makes it feel like one big sales-pitch. Food is mediocre. The bar is pretty good and the water aerobics instructor is great! The pool is good but not much beach. Registration is like a game of trying to guess what magic words to say to get a good room.

Room Tip: prepare to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2nd time I have visited oyster bay and this place fails to disappoint. The rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped. My room faced the marina which was beautiful. The resort has a pool which was busy most days and the beach was equally close so plenty of choice where to spend your time. Locally there is a shop selling essentials and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.