We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call us last minute DEALS
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is our 5th time to stay at OBBR and love it every time! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and makes their guests feel welcome and at home! The property is gorgeous and well maintained and there are so many varied activities it's hard to take them all in. We enjoy it more and more each time we visit!

Room Tip: Chose either a room overlooking the ocean if possible; rooms overlooking Oyster Pond have not yet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    135
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
132
259
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

6/15/13
We stayed at the Oyster Bay resort and loved it. It was during low season so we never waited to be seated at the restaurants or to get a drink. Check in was simple. We were on the third floor with a balcony over looking the ocean. It was breath taking. The water is beautiful. It was a two bedroom time share. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and nice, kitchen had everything you would need, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We had amazing service! Fresh towels and beach towels every day, beds made, clean kitchen and bath. When arrived one bedroom's air conditioner didn't work.....we called and it was fixed immediately. The pool is nice as well. The beach is shared with another resort but we always found a chair and the ocean was fun to body surf in. I would avoid the island bus tour through the resort at ALL COSTS! It was painful, a sales pitch to buy into their time share and Livingston (the tour guide )was shady. We did meet Jill and Robert who work there and they were very helpful! Ask for them if you want to know where to go on the island and what to do. There isn't much for entertainment on the resort.
We rented a car through the resort and it was CHEAP! I highly recommend renting a car. The island has much to see ....driving is easy and taxis are very expensive.
We LOVED Fryers Bay( not sure i spelled this right). It is a must. The beach is beautiful...water is calm and you can swim and walk in the clear sandy bottom ocean. Plan to eat at the little restaurant for lunch or dinner and you can have beach loungers for free. Other wise it is 20.00. This is on the French side. We went to phillipsburg to shop......be sure to leave when stores close at 6. Not a place to be at night! Don't miss Marigot where the fairies come into. They have pastry shops and stores galore. We went diving with Scuba Fun. It was nice because there were only a few on the boat.
The groceries are really expensive at the store on the resort.....go to the fresh market store....ask the desk for directions. Pizza place at oyster bay is awesome and the other places to eat were good too, don't miss out on the Guava Berry drink.....yum!
We also ate at an Italian restaurant just a short drive from resort called Neptunno. It was amazing! We sat on the deck looking out over the ocean with candlelight. The owner is very nice and makes the experience unforgettable ! Great romantic dinner! Hope this helps.....I highly recommend Oyster Bay and the island st. Marten located on the Dutch Side.

Room Tip: Room 2632!was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort was clean and well-staffed, although some items felt a bit dated and worn. Generally, the premises were well maintained and beautifully landscaped. The kitchen was fully functional with all appliances, cookware, dishes, and basic supplies. It was convenient to have a grocery store on site for basic items. There is also a gift store, laundry facilities, and small spa. There are also two restaurants on premises and several in walking distance so many dining choices are available. An access to Dawn Beach is just a few steps away. On the beach are beach chairs with cushions and umbrellas. There is always an attendant at the beach to arrange your chairs and get umbrellas. A server from Beau Beaus also is available to take drink orders on the beach. My only major complaint is the view from our room was not very desirable as we overlooked the parking lot and the harbor was in the distance over all the cars and people. In addition, our room was situated over the spa and gift store so there was a lot of activity below us so absolutely no privacy on the balcony. I'm sure most of the rooms had much more privacy and wouldn't be as exposed. We found we never used the balcony for this reason. The beds are very hard and the windows let in alot of noise so sleep was not sound for us. The activities staff were very helpful and were more than willing to provide us directions even if we were just venturing out on our own. I would not hesitate to return again (hoping to get an ocean view room of course). The location is a bit remote so a car is a necessity, but it is centrally located to both the French and Dutch sides of the island (being just inside the Dutch border).

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room. If you can't get an ocean view room, try to stay away from being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wanted to get away from it all and this place was perfect. Great room with an ocean view from balcony - perfect setting for breakfast- and its own fully stocked kitchen packed with appliances: oven, microwave, full sized refrigerator, toaster, blender, etc. Helpful staff will even grocery shop for you! If cooking or budgeting is not on your agenda they have good restaurants on site. The entire staff was so friendly they created a warm atmosphere that all the guest enjoyed and emulated. I have never interacted with as many new people on any previous vacation. It was a fabulous experience and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: For a full kitchen (full range) get at least a one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The resort is located in Oyster Pond which, having driven all over the island, was the most beautiful location we found with lots of great restaurants nearby. Very clean overall compared to other towns on the island. The resort itself was great, an absolutely perfect spot and the views are breathtaking. The beach is fabulous although a little small which we liked. No crowds. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly although a few could care less about helping you out. The timeshare push was a bit much. Most of the activities or restaurant information given at the desk is part of the timeshare sales pitch that must be endured to get the deal offered. A very nice woman greeted us, brought us to our room that wasn't ready when we were checking in at 5:00 after a long flight. Very annoying. Although she was nice, the sales pitch was tiresome when all you want to do is relax, this is our vacation after all. The room, a hotel style, was a closet. Avoid these unless you are one very small person. We paid extra to upgrade to a 1 bedroom which was substantially larger and worth every penny. The views are great no matter what side you are on, either the ocean or the marina. The place was clean and very pretty but not up to 5 star standards which is why I am giving it a solid 4.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom and up if you can. Hotel rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Everyone is so friendly and eager to make your stay there memorable. The room was fantastic with a tranquil view of the harbor. The Infinity Lounge or Beau Beaus was the place to hang out after hours and the bartenders and waiters all seemed to know our names. Can't wait to return to one of the best vacation spots we have ever been too. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Request top floor overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from yet another great St. Maarten/St. Martin vacation, staying at Oyster Bay Beach Resort. They offer many activities from island tours for those new to the island, to an open bar "Welcome" party, shopping or casino trips, a day long beach party, and always a Friday "Farewell" party. It could be as relaxing or stimulating as needed for a tailor-made vacation. A rental car would not be necessary as there is everything to do at the resort or within a short walking distance. The on-site Indulgence by the Sea spa is not to be missed! If a car rental is desired, there is an agent at the lobby activities desk. Relaxing by the recently renovated infinity edge pool with a view toward St. Barth's can easily stimulate one's imagination or contribute to a relaxing day poolside, enhanced with a cheeseburger & fries special plate from Infinity Restaurant. As "owners" since 1999, we are obviously a little biased, but at the same time believe anyone would find this to be a great vacation destination! As always, if you're interested in owning a piece of this resort, the sales staff is always professional and respectful of your vacation time and interested in your overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;