We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Bay Could Be A 4 OR 5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oyster Bay Could Be A 4 OR 5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recent trip to Oyster Bay Resort (second time) May 11-18. Check in was a real experience, lots of activity, passing of food over guests to staff at counter, noise and confusion. Assigned a room and ask if it was okay. I inquired, if other rooms were available and was told no the resort was booked full. I was ask again was the room okay. My reply was if you do not have anything else available then it will have to be okay. We proceeded to our room, building 17 room 1731 overlooking the marina. Our first impression of the room was it looked similar to the room from two years ago. AC in bedroom did not work, dryer would not turn on, dishwasher was new(Styrofoam-, packing still inside). However it was not attached to the cabinet so it would fall forward when loading. Electric range was old and insulation around over door was not attached. The tile floors were in need of a good washing to get them clean. Maintenance did repair the dryer and the AC. Walking around during the evening you could see many dark rooms. The resort was not full as told earlier The pool and beach areas were wonderful and the majority of the staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms in building 17 need a major up grade.

Never spoke to or saw a location manager. If someone had inspected our room they would have found the above problems before the room was assigned.

Room Tip: Ask for and demand an up grade others at the resort did and the request was granted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    163
    63
    22
    13
See reviews for
162
326
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed a week at Simpson Bay and had one extra day so we went to Dawn's Beach and Oyster Bay. What an unexpected surprise. Although the room was small, it was clean and had a great view. The beach was beautiful and bar service was available from Busby's bar. The endless pool is a must see.

Room Tip: Make sure you get directions, if you zig when you should zag, you could end up asking for directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toomsboro, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My review for this resort would get 5 stars if we were just rating the staff. They are very accommodating, sweet, wonderful people. They go out of their way to help you and to serve you. Unbelievable staff! The resort itself is gorgeous. The pool is pristine, the rest.is fabulous. So why only 4 stars? The unit we had was pretty but definitely showed some wear. The cabinets were peeling and we had problems with ants. Which the resort staff took care of before we could ever say anything. The major problem with this resort is the Sales Staff! They are relentless and were quite frankly, getting on our nerves. They did provide free bottles of wine, that was wonderful, but the salesman would not take NO for an answer. I think the resort would be better suited if they asked you if you were interested and if you said NO, leave you be. Other than night, it was a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: We had a Marina view, which was fine with us. We were quite entertained with the Iguanas on a daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I have visited every year in our own condo viewing the water on the top floor with a fixed week since the unit was built. The remodeling this year only made it nicer. We have
owned time shares for 25 plus years. This is our favorite one of four resorts. We relax, walk, shop for jewelry, clothes and especially love the food choices. We tried 4 different restaurants
this April. The food around Dawn Beach is great. Since we come from the West Coast, it is a
long trip, but well worth the time. We particularly love the weather which is better than home and consistant every year. We have never traded Oyster Bay for anyother place! We reommend that you enjoy the resort people and the pleasure of the surroundings. Service is wonderful!

Room Tip: We have had the same top corner unit for 20 plus years. We enjoy it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked the Oyster Bay Beach Resort for our daughter and her new husband's honeymoon. All of the pre-trip communication and customer service was fantastic, and they have indicated the place is grea...minus a little sun burn!

This was great for my wife and I because we wanted their review so we could book a trip for ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our in-laws gave us a time share to use her over our honeymoon in April-May. We ended up with a ocean view room on the second floor that also overlooked the pool area. The rooms were very nice and clean. The kitchen was more modern that i was expecting. The kitchens are fully equipped with ice makers, dishwashers, microwave, stove/oven, etc and come with everything from plates to silverware to cups/wine glasses. We had a living room, dining room and kitchen with an open floor plan and then a separate bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was accessible from the kitchen also. The living room and bedroom had ceiling fans and balconies which were really nice. There is also two AC units (one for the bedroom and one for living room). The bathroom also comes fully equipped with amenities like soap, shampoo, conditioner and hairdryers. The bathroom had dual sinks, whirlpool tub and stand up showers. The beds are a bit hard and definitely bring you own pillows if you can because they are bit lumpy.

The property had two bars and two restaurants on it. One of the bars, offers beach service. The beach is at the end of the resort and a short walk. The beach is pretty but definitely not the best beach we saw. There was some rocks in the water and seaweed on the beach. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas though. There are complimentary cold towels and water in the lobby by the main pool, bar and restaurant. They had lots of activities to offer. Also on the same grounds but in different party of the property was a grocery store, pizza shop, and three more restaurants. There is also a small marina behind the grocery store and Restaurant where you catch Captain Alan's snorkeling trips from which i recommend. The restaurant offers seats right on the dock over the water. When we were there it was carnival so they had some staff issues, but the place was nice and food was good. All the restaurants have great service until you get your food and then they are a bit slow. The Big Fish is a pretty restaurant which is all white with plenty of outside, open air seating. They have a pretty bar area too. My favorite restaurant was Mr. Busby's which is right on the beach under some trees. Good food and good views. There is also a large pool and hot tub right near the center of the property with infinity views of the ocean, rocks and St. Bart.

The drawbacks are most places are cash only so definitely bring cash. The Dutch side takes US dollars while the French side takes Euros, but will do the conversion for you as will St. Bart which is also French. The hotel and hotel restaurants/bars definitely allow you to put everything on the room if you want. We stocked up with drinks (beer, liquor, sodas) and breakfast food and snacks from the grocery store the day we arrived and used those quite a bit. Beau, Beau's beach bar is right on property and services the beach. It offers $9-10 buckets of Coronitas (10 oz Coronas) which is nice. The most popular beers are Presidente (Dominican Republic), Carib (Trinidad and Tobago), Corona, and Dutch beers like Heineken and Amstel Bright. You can get some others from the grocery store and I went for the Guinness Foreign Extra for some more malt and hops. There are no American or English style beers like Pale Ales or India Pale Ale's, but with the heat the lagers and Pilsners go down nicely. They also offer espresso and cappuccino's via a Lilly machine in the grocery store, otherwise you are down to regular coffee.

The only other drawback was the towel service at the resort. They are very strict with the towels. They give you two in your room when you check in, but have no place to exchange the towels at the beach or pool. You have to leave them on the floor of your room for the cleaning service to exchange them which is later in the day. If you leave your towels at the beach or pool, make sure you get them back. They will not exchange your towels without the old ones or give you new ones in the room without the old ones on the floor. If you hang up the old ones in your room to dry they also will not exchange them. If you leave them at the pool or beach and do not have them for checkout, they say they charge you $30 a piece. Not sure if that is true, but the towel thing is definitely annoying. They should have an exchange at the pool, front desk and beach. I took to finding the cleaning people in the morning and exchanging out the towels with them on the way to the beach or pool. The cleaning staff are really nice about it.

Overall the place is really nice and the staff are great. They offer lots of activities and options on the property or near the property if you want to just stay in the area. If you want to explore, they have lots of options right from the hotel via the marinas, rental cars or properties. The clientele seems to be a bit older though. We are in our 30's and there was only two other couples there that were close to our age. The property offered several activities including movies by the pool, a welcome reception with free drinks/apps, music and other events like karaoke and bingo (yes bingo, like i said we were the only ones in our 30's). Overall i would recommend it over an inclusive and relaxing stay. You never really have to leave the property area and if you want to take a short trip across the pond your restaurant and travel options double! Did not see a spa onsite, but they did offer services. I did not try or see room service but all the restaurants had carry out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff is always friendly and helpful when it comes to giving directions around the island or calling around town to make reservations. There are plenty of activities at the resort to keep you busy . Vincent is always friendly and very personable year after year. Meal options are always affordable and great quality! I love my home away from home and the staff treats us like family year after year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.