We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Call us last minute DEALS
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Oyster Bay facility is wonderful. The time-share apartment we rented was spic-and-span clean, and kept that way faithfully by the staff. Our room overlooked the marina - some of the units overlook the ocean. The facility has a lovely large pool, a couple of restaurants, a small (but well-maintained and tidy) fitness center, a laundry, and some other nice amenities which we did not utilize. A number of very good restaurants are very close by, along with small grocery stores. All-in-all the resort is a wonderful place - we are not much for group activities so did not partake in many of the organized events, but there are many opportunities to do so for those who are interested. The activities desk was extremely helpful and willing when we wanted to book a snorkeling trip or reserve a table at a restaurant. Some of the front desk staff seemed a bit off-putting and not terribly enthused to deal with us, but it could have been a long day for them. All the same, we found this aloof attitude to be somewhat pervasive in many customer service providers throughout the island, so perhaps its simply their everyday behavior. The facilities staff/housekeeping were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our only real negative impressions of our experience have to do with the island itself (poor traffic signage, road conditions, local drivers...!), but Oyster Bay was a wonderful place for us to spend a week! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    151
    58
    17
    12
See reviews for
149
292
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from another week at Oyster Bay and it was just as we remembered. Our room was an efficiency with ocean view. That was a pleasant surprise! It was clean, updated and quiet. St. Maarten itself has not changed all that much. I did notice that people on the island were driving nice cars. Peg Legs, which was one of our favorite spots has moved and we tried to go but it didn't look very good. Our new spot it Skip Jacks. Really good. Chesterfields was wonderful and so was Orient Beach. I hope we can go back again and not wait 7 years!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 2000's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our second trip to the island, the first time we stayed in Simpson Bay. We used a time share belonging to a family member. We had a 3rd-floor one bedroom, the room was very nice. The pool and beach areas are great, in general an older crowd and very relaxed. The staff is nice - having experienced the service level typical for the island I would say service is average/above average, though the desk staff was actually the least helpful group. The security, restaurant and bar staff were great. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant (the prices were high for the offerings) other than take-out lunch by the pool, and the sandwiches were very good. We enjoyed the proximity of the other restaurants (Mr. Busby's/Daniel's, Canoa, Big Fish, Island Pizza) as they were within walking distance, as well as the convenience of the mini grocery. The location is great, we had a rental car and enjoyed the more remote location (as compared to Simpson Bay) as it was still easy to get to the beaches and piers for boat trips. The rating would be higher if not for a couple of issues: The resort provides the option of a pre-arrival shopping. As our flight was coming in on the later side, and it was our anniversary, I ordered a few items including water, cheese, crackers and champagne. Upon arrival there was a bottle of champagne on ice in our kitchen, a surprise from my mother...which was good, as ALL of our groceries were left in bags on the counter. Warm. Water, beer, champagne, cheese...all of it. Not a great first impression. Also, I had to pay $50 for the week to have Wifi access for our devices in the room, which would have been outrageous even if the service was flawless. I had better FREE Wifi coverage on an island in the middle of Lake Nicaragua at a resort with 6 rooms. Overall, however, I would recommend the resort and stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the pond side, third floor.
It is a calm and beautiful view day and night! We loved the beach near Busby's
and dined at Busby's many times!
The oyster bay beach bast is a great deal and was a lot of fun! Make sure to visit other beaches when the cruse ships are not in port.... totally different experience!
I hope we can go back sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The resort was nice enough on a very beautiful island. Service was POOR. There were 4 errors on our bill upon check out. I caught 3 of them before paying and did not notice the 4th until on our way to the airport. I have called the resort numerous times over the past 4+ months with only one call back indicating a credit had been put back on my card. This NEVER occurred, I continue to call and have not received a call or an email back in 3 months.

I was willing to overlook the fact that their customer service was not friendly or polite and thought perhaps it was more cultural; however, the complete lack of responsiveness is unacceptable. I was even willing to give them the benefit of the doubt with all of the errors on our bill; however, one remains outstanding with zero communication despite my weekly calls. They remain apathetic at best.

I value integrity and for this reason, I would NOT recommend this resort nor will we ever consider returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardoperez, General Manager at Oyster Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

I am very sorry to hear about your issues related to your bill. I have sent you various messages via this site to get more details regarding the discrepancies so I can make sure we have resolved them to your satisfaction. Unfortunately I have not heard back from you.

If you still have any pending issues that we need to rectify please contact me at ricardop@obbr.com or via phone at 1-721-543-6040 and I will personally make sure we get to a resolution for you.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Oyster Bay beach resort is in one of the best locations in St. Maarten. It has a great breeze surrounded by water on three sides and the resort allows it's guests to be as close to the water as possible. The resort itself is slightly outdated and would really compliment its location with some updating of the kitchens and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Room 3012 has a great balcony overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Oyster Bay Beach Resort (OBBR) was an excellent choice for our 7 day Interval Exchange. It had a choice of 4 restaurants nearby: king Fish - very expensive fine dining, Daniel's by the sea (Busby's Beach Bar), OBBR's Infinity restaurant, Beau Beaus, and Canoa at the marina. We tried the OBBR's Infinity restaurant for a BBQ buffet, it was very good. We ate at Busby's several times as it was casual during the day and turned into fine dining at night. The pizzas and food were excellent. We went on a Wednesday to Beaus Beaus for dinner and a fire show which we highly recommend.
Went to Phillipsburg for shopping twice; went to Grand Case and Marigot, Fort Louis on the French side. Drove back at night from Grand Case - we don't recommend
driving at night, really dark and you could easily get lost. We got lucky and only made 2 u-turns to get back to OBBR. Our best dining was at Bistrot Caraibes in Grand Case which I wrote a separate review - highly recommend it! We also ate at Harbor View and had excellent burgers. We originally went there for some local food, on the recommendation by one of the cleaning ladies at OBBR. The cook did however give us awesome samples of curry goat and baby back ribs in a BBQ sauce. The 6 days that we were there went soo fast. There's soo much to see and do, we wil definitely go back. In the future, we may stay at the Pelican Resort as it looks to be more conveniently located to a greater choice of restaurants and shops all within walking distance. At OBBR we had delays in checking out, since I had a charge for a dinner to our room in the previous owners name. How that happened, I can't explain!? The staff non-chalantly apologized for the mistake, but then they still gave me the wrong receipt.
Bottom line, look carefully at your final bill. PS:The resort adds an optional $1 charge for the "dollar a day program" and $7/day utility charge on top of the $50 timeshare tax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a ocean view if not the marina views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.