We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends On What You're Used To” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL FOR BEST PRICE
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Depends On What You're Used To”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This will be brief, but I hope that it will help someone considering staying at Oyster Bay. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend staying here if you are not used to this type of accommodation. Generally, when I travel, I stay at a Westin or Renaissance, or on the low end, a Hampton Inn & Suites. The accommodations at Oyster Bay are more on par with an Econo Lodge. The towels were rough and some were tearing, the sheets had a spot here or there, the pillows were flat, and the bedspread was old and pilling. I took a peek in other rooms and they were all the same. While I guess that I could tell that they had done some sort of renovation, it was not a quality one. The bathrooms have no tile, just the very cheap plastic shower walls and basin.

Be aware that there are mostly seniors with timeshares at this resort, so if you are looking for a more lively area, you should stay near the airport/golf course area or the Phillipsburg cruise ship port area. Driving from Oyster Bay to some action takes about 20 minutes.

As far as views, the marina view, while pretty (even though it is overlooking the parking lot), is not as nice as the ocean view. The marina view will not provide the relaxing breeze and sounds of the ocean. The pool and beach are nice, and lunch by the pool is excellent (grilled fish, seasoned rice, fries and plantains).

There are nice restaurants within walking distance (highly recommend Big Fish for ambiance, food, service). To eat anywhere on the island, try to head to dinner around 6:30 before the rush- restaurants on the island cannot seem to handle a full house (waits across the board were minimum 1 hour) and after exploring all day, you will be exhausted and starving!

Oh, if you need to rent a car (you will), go with Sixt! Great service and perfect little car. Note that the office is not in the airport terminal, but they have a super friendly shuttle or you can easily walk across the street to the office. We were in and out in 5 minutes. I highly recommend purchasing traveler's car rental insurance via Travelocity or other booking company. It is much cheaper than obtaining on-site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    189
    78
    26
    13
See reviews for
186
357
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've stayed in several places throughout the Caribbean, and this property was beautiful. One nice extra is that we received maid service every day-something we're not used to as timeshare owners. St. Martin is called the friendly island because of the open border between the French and Dutch sides, but it stops there. We didn't find the staff to be very friendly or helpful. The only way to find out about day excursions or restaurants is to ask (or check TripAdvisor) as there is no list, let alone sample menus. Everyone rents cars and after a debacle trying to get a cab to/from Grand Case, we know why.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the first time I visit St Maarten. The management, staff and service at OBBR are superb. The accommodations super comfortable, clean and very spacious, and the site of the Hotel allows you a wonderful view of the bay. I was very pleasantly impressed and do recommend OBBR without reservations, I'll come back for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We recently had e pleasure and fantastic vacation experience by staying at OBBR again. On each visit we are pleasantly surprised by the improvements that are made. The newly renovated rooms are excellently appointed and they have included a full size
refrigerator new microwaves and stove tops in the one bedrooms as well as the studios. The entire staff is extremely helpful, professional and friendly. They all, from management to housekeeping and maintenance, will make your stay as pleasant and memorable as humanly possible. The two restaurants on property are constsntly improving their menus and we would say they are comparable to any restaurant on the island. Having stayed at other resorts on the island OBBR definitely deserves the accolades they have received.
The entire staff and management has made a commitment to excellence and by no means are they resting on their laurels as they are continually making improvements to make your vacation experience one that you will be looking forward to returning to in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I visited the Resort in February 2013, although we have been to St. Maarten on numerous occasions, it seems that St. Maarten still has special secrets to offer and one of those secrets being Oyster Bay Resort. The grounds were clean, and the one bedroom suite was excellent (clean, spacious and just inviting), it was our home away from home. The staff were very helpful and kind. I would certainly recommend this Resort to anyone visiting St. Maarten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Look we were in st. Martin so if you can't have a great time there then there is something wrong. The setting at oyster bay is perhaps the prettiest on the island. There are restaurants within walking distance so if you don't care about exploring the island and want the cruise ship feel, it can be had. Problem is rooms at lobby area are incredibly small, like motel 6 small and look nothing like the website. The "kitchenette" is a microwave and refrigerator in the bathroom! Nearly all mornings began at 8 am with power tools of some kind waking you up. Ants in the room and bathroom didn't smell so great either. I suspect you won't experience this in the time share rooms, but whatever you do, arrange in advance to not get a room above the lobby and bar area. Not what I expected for the money.

Room Tip: do not accept a room above the bar and lobby or you will be extremely disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in Jan. and had an absolute wonderful time! The facilities and grounds were impeccable. The secure, free parking was awesome for our rental car. We came and went to tour this amazing island! The on-site restaurants are great and there are 3 off-site restaurants that you can walk to - literally a few steps away. Ideally located. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.