We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem. Unforgettable vacation never have to leave grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call us last minute DEALS
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem. Unforgettable vacation never have to leave grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Unforgettable vacation have spent last two vacations here amazing experience both times. Best resort on island and have been going to st Marteen for 15 years and love it here. Pool and beach amazing staff friendly views great happy hour great

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    134
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
132
259
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wrapping up the maiden voyage of Terre Moana and disembarked the vessel for an overnight stay at Oyster Bay. Had high expectations after staying at another property at the begining of the cruise in Grand Case that was not so hot. Oyster Bay finally met expectations. They were unfortunately right in the middle of a power outage and were struggling to get back on their feet with cleaning rooms and trying to keep the ice from melting. No worry, checked our bags, found the way to the pool and commenced with pool bar drinks. Ended up in our room about 4 p.m., not too late. Had a wonderful room, ocean view, in building 29. Recommend an ocean view if you can get it, looking south to St. Barts. Not much of a beach there directly in front of the hotel, but understand there is a beach at Beau Beaus on property which we just didnt make it to.

Rooms were clean and up to date. Comfortable air conditioning and bed. The front desk was good about setting us up with a driver to the airport the next morning with no problems.

Overall, I would recommend this place as the pool area is relaxed and comfortable, rooms clean and comfortable and it is off the busy beaten path of the other bay areas.

Room Tip: Must get into a room facing the ocean. Building 29 was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really liked this hotel it was just what I needed. I got an Oceanfront Studio Suite, which was super comfy - the hotel had all the amenities I was looking for. It is located in a nice and pretty safe area (a plus for me as I'm traveling solo) with beautiful views. It is a little far out, but it was nice and quiet, which is what I was looking for - to decompress. The hotel offers a bus service available to its guests, that's how I got to explore different parts of the island. I could see St. Barth's in the distance.. very beautiful views. Totally recommend this property for those traveling as couples and families as well. Although, I did love the fact that there were no kids around. Staff was super friendly and very helpful - they answered all my questions without any hesitation. Oh, and the pool was phenomenal!!

Hotel booked via booking.com and took a day trip to Anguilla on a catamaran via Viator.com

You may pm me if you have any questions :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed at Oyster Bay 3 times. My favorite stay was the first, when they still had the older villas, that are now condos. Avoid the inner rooms near the bar unless you are only staying a short while. They are very small. The kitchens in the other units are a good size and have all the needs for whipping up a lunch or breakfast. I have even cooked a dinner or two. Avoid the room at the end of the hotel near the beach. It is not very private with the restaurant directly below. The pool is very beautiful. The bar is a fun place to hang out after a full day of touring. It is easy to book water sports from the front desk. You are on the Dutch side, but close to the French border. It is a good location.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As timeshare owners, we've been to Oyster Bay Resort a couple of times. It's a well-run resort with lots of activities poolside and in the evenings if you like that kind of thing. Kind of reminds me of a cruise ship, but in a better way. Some tips if you plan to stay here:
- Ocean front units are great, but be prepared for the sound of wave action. During our week there, we encountered some pretty windy days and nights when the waves were pounding on the rocks below our window.
- Oyster Pond is actually half on the French side, so you get a bit of a different shopping and dining experience by literally walking around the corner.
- A high-speed catamaran leaves Oyster Pond most days of the week for St. Bartholomew. It's a half-hour trip or so, but if they tell you it's rough seas, you better believe it and take Gravol, or change your plans if you don't want to get seasick. On our trip, it wasn't very windy on shore, but the waves were tossing the boat around once we got further out. Quite a few people looked uncomfortable and you know it's not a good sign when the crew starts handing out the seasickness bags.
- Take the coastal road from Oyster Pond towards Orient Bay. The ocean scenery is spectacular and you get to see lots of goats on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our frinds have offered their week at this resort, Oyster Bay Beach Resort (OBBR) several times and I had not been anxious to visit since we've been all over he Caribbean and this would be a repeat of a trip to the Dutch side of SXM, but at a different resort.
The price was just for the room, but WHAT A ROOM! We had a first floor, 2 bedroom suite that actually had 2 kitchens, 2 full bathrooms, 2 separate bedrooms, separate entry for each side and access to the outside balcony and walkway (facing east for you folks who wake before the sun).
Although we had a car for touring and eating out, we enjoyed most of our afternoon and evening meals either at the restaurant or the 3 nearby eateries. I am sure if you drove into the property, you would see signage for all the places we dined or snacked at.
My impressions were: Clean, open, variety of guests (Canadiens, Brits, Dutch and Americans, both couples and a few families) but there is one feature that was very clear: Almost everybody had been coming there for many, many years.
Most evenings they had some event like a managers welcome or local folks showing their wares plus in the day they had an orientation gathering so you would meet many of the Island people who provide the excursions and activities.
The pool was always crystal clear and the hot tub was pretty large. The property is set upon a rocky edge of the end of the penisula, but about 3 minutes away (walking), you had the serenity of Dawn Beach. The property has chairs for you on that side of the resort and the servers will bring you anything you want. Oyster Bay is the body of water on the west side of the peninsula.
The waiters and waitresses and towel people knew you almost immediately and I was stunned when the manager, Mr Perez introduced himself to our party of 4 the first night we arrived. He and his staff have the management of this place down to a science.
Our room exceeded our expectations. The food (which we pre-ordered) was in the refrigerators upon arrival. Each day our room was taken care of (bed linens are done 2 times during your stay and of course, prior to your arrival) with mticulous care. Everybody had an Island attitude and were pleased to see their smiles reciprocated.
We had one of the ladies have a nail that was giving her problems and the wonderful nail tech at the salon was super kind in fixing the nail (gratis) so we could get on with one of our Island adventures.
We did go on 4 or 5 excursions, but this report is about the resort. Yes, it is not in Phillipsburg so you will need a taxi or rental to get around. But the whole Island is only 38 Sq miles and the places that tourists visit are almost exclusively along the coastal area.
Give OBBR a view. See if you can connect with some fellow travelers before you go and within a few minutes of arrival, I think you will feel like we did: Amazingly Relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms that face east and are on the first floor (or walk out to walkway) are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My party and I stayed June 2nd through 10th. We had a renovated 2 bedroom apartment as well as a studio and both were beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our room was about as close as you can get to the stairs leading down to the beach which made it really convenient to go back to our room for drinks or snacks while enjoying the beautiful Beach that was literally feet from our beds.

The staff was friendly, and really helpful, our air conditioner went out towards the end of the trip and they had it fixed right away. One of my favorite things about this place (the hotel and really the whole island) is you can rent snorkel gear for the whole week from the hotel to take advantage of the reefs located right off the beach. The rental is free as long as you return the gear.

The hotel is a bit of the beaten path but personally it's on what I think is the most beautiful part of the island. We rented a car so we went all over and I loved the tucked away feeling of this place. However be for warned if you arrive late be sure to stop at someplace that's in town if you need anything because there isn't anything open very late near the resort. The nice thing about it being out of the way of everything is that the beach was never crowded and you didn't feel like you were in a touristy area.

There are 4 + restaurants with in a walking distance (Beau Beau's, Mr Bigsby, Canoa, and Big Fish). All of them were excellent but if I could somehow get Big Fished shipped to the states everyday. There is tasty food for every budget all over the island. The driving is a little scary but I would recommend getting a car and exploring all the beaches because they are all different. We also took advantage of the fully stocked kitchen to go grocery shopping and cook a few meals to save us some cash.

The only downside to this location which I won't mark them down for because there is only so much you can do, is that when the tide came in after the full moon it brought so much sea weed that our beach was un-swimable the last two days of the trip. It wasn't a problem for us we went and hung out on Pinel island and enjoyed some of the clearest waters I have ever seen.

I spend so much time everyday day dreaming of my mornings our balcony that I am returning this June 1st through 8th.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.