We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Martin Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call us last minute DEALS
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“St. Martin Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed at Oyster Bay 3 times. My favorite stay was the first, when they still had the older villas, that are now condos. Avoid the inner rooms near the bar unless you are only staying a short while. They are very small. The kitchens in the other units are a good size and have all the needs for whipping up a lunch or breakfast. I have even cooked a dinner or two. Avoid the room at the end of the hotel near the beach. It is not very private with the restaurant directly below. The pool is very beautiful. The bar is a fun place to hang out after a full day of touring. It is easy to book water sports from the front desk. You are on the Dutch side, but close to the French border. It is a good location.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    162
    62
    21
    12
See reviews for
158
318
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As timeshare owners, we've been to Oyster Bay Resort a couple of times. It's a well-run resort with lots of activities poolside and in the evenings if you like that kind of thing. Kind of reminds me of a cruise ship, but in a better way. Some tips if you plan to stay here:
- Ocean front units are great, but be prepared for the sound of wave action. During our week there, we encountered some pretty windy days and nights when the waves were pounding on the rocks below our window.
- Oyster Pond is actually half on the French side, so you get a bit of a different shopping and dining experience by literally walking around the corner.
- A high-speed catamaran leaves Oyster Pond most days of the week for St. Bartholomew. It's a half-hour trip or so, but if they tell you it's rough seas, you better believe it and take Gravol, or change your plans if you don't want to get seasick. On our trip, it wasn't very windy on shore, but the waves were tossing the boat around once we got further out. Quite a few people looked uncomfortable and you know it's not a good sign when the crew starts handing out the seasickness bags.
- Take the coastal road from Oyster Pond towards Orient Bay. The ocean scenery is spectacular and you get to see lots of goats on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our frinds have offered their week at this resort, Oyster Bay Beach Resort (OBBR) several times and I had not been anxious to visit since we've been all over he Caribbean and this would be a repeat of a trip to the Dutch side of SXM, but at a different resort.
The price was just for the room, but WHAT A ROOM! We had a first floor, 2 bedroom suite that actually had 2 kitchens, 2 full bathrooms, 2 separate bedrooms, separate entry for each side and access to the outside balcony and walkway (facing east for you folks who wake before the sun).
Although we had a car for touring and eating out, we enjoyed most of our afternoon and evening meals either at the restaurant or the 3 nearby eateries. I am sure if you drove into the property, you would see signage for all the places we dined or snacked at.
My impressions were: Clean, open, variety of guests (Canadiens, Brits, Dutch and Americans, both couples and a few families) but there is one feature that was very clear: Almost everybody had been coming there for many, many years.
Most evenings they had some event like a managers welcome or local folks showing their wares plus in the day they had an orientation gathering so you would meet many of the Island people who provide the excursions and activities.
The pool was always crystal clear and the hot tub was pretty large. The property is set upon a rocky edge of the end of the penisula, but about 3 minutes away (walking), you had the serenity of Dawn Beach. The property has chairs for you on that side of the resort and the servers will bring you anything you want. Oyster Bay is the body of water on the west side of the peninsula.
The waiters and waitresses and towel people knew you almost immediately and I was stunned when the manager, Mr Perez introduced himself to our party of 4 the first night we arrived. He and his staff have the management of this place down to a science.
Our room exceeded our expectations. The food (which we pre-ordered) was in the refrigerators upon arrival. Each day our room was taken care of (bed linens are done 2 times during your stay and of course, prior to your arrival) with mticulous care. Everybody had an Island attitude and were pleased to see their smiles reciprocated.
We had one of the ladies have a nail that was giving her problems and the wonderful nail tech at the salon was super kind in fixing the nail (gratis) so we could get on with one of our Island adventures.
We did go on 4 or 5 excursions, but this report is about the resort. Yes, it is not in Phillipsburg so you will need a taxi or rental to get around. But the whole Island is only 38 Sq miles and the places that tourists visit are almost exclusively along the coastal area.
Give OBBR a view. See if you can connect with some fellow travelers before you go and within a few minutes of arrival, I think you will feel like we did: Amazingly Relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms that face east and are on the first floor (or walk out to walkway) are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My party and I stayed June 2nd through 10th. We had a renovated 2 bedroom apartment as well as a studio and both were beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our room was about as close as you can get to the stairs leading down to the beach which made it really convenient to go back to our room for drinks or snacks while enjoying the beautiful Beach that was literally feet from our beds.

The staff was friendly, and really helpful, our air conditioner went out towards the end of the trip and they had it fixed right away. One of my favorite things about this place (the hotel and really the whole island) is you can rent snorkel gear for the whole week from the hotel to take advantage of the reefs located right off the beach. The rental is free as long as you return the gear.

The hotel is a bit of the beaten path but personally it's on what I think is the most beautiful part of the island. We rented a car so we went all over and I loved the tucked away feeling of this place. However be for warned if you arrive late be sure to stop at someplace that's in town if you need anything because there isn't anything open very late near the resort. The nice thing about it being out of the way of everything is that the beach was never crowded and you didn't feel like you were in a touristy area.

There are 4 + restaurants with in a walking distance (Beau Beau's, Mr Bigsby, Canoa, and Big Fish). All of them were excellent but if I could somehow get Big Fished shipped to the states everyday. There is tasty food for every budget all over the island. The driving is a little scary but I would recommend getting a car and exploring all the beaches because they are all different. We also took advantage of the fully stocked kitchen to go grocery shopping and cook a few meals to save us some cash.

The only downside to this location which I won't mark them down for because there is only so much you can do, is that when the tide came in after the full moon it brought so much sea weed that our beach was un-swimable the last two days of the trip. It wasn't a problem for us we went and hung out on Pinel island and enjoyed some of the clearest waters I have ever seen.

I spend so much time everyday day dreaming of my mornings our balcony that I am returning this June 1st through 8th.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled to OBBR in early December 2013, before the high season began. We purchased a Getaway through Interval International, and felt that we got a very good value for the price. We had a one-bedroom unit in the center of the property (not technically beach front but the ocean was visible between the buildings on either side of us). The unit was in very nice shape, and quiet as well. The daily housekeeping was excellent. We took advantage of the full kitchen for breakfast every day, and dinner some of the time.

The resort is located at one end of Dawn Beach, with soft sand and gently rolling waves.The pool area is gorgeous and was never crowded when we were there.

We ate a couple of times at the "casual" restaurant on the property (Beau-Beau's) and felt that it was overrated but it was convenient. Beau-Beau's also offers beach service so we did take advantage of drink delivery on the beach!

This resort is located a bit off the track, so the area is quiet and doesn't have a huge assortment of activities within walking distance. This was a selling point for us, and we had a rental car for the days when we wanted to see other parts of the island.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a time share for us -- I did request a renovated unit and got one. Not sure if all of them have been redone. We had a nice view of the marina which we enjoyed.
Some of the best things are the restaurants at the resort and within easy walking distance....the marvelous infinity pool...the very nice beach..towel service a couple of times during the week.
The staff was terrific and friendly. There were lots of parties which were very well done and helped us meet some nice people.
You could get on line in the main building gratis which was a perk.
BUT, if you arrive at night, as we did, be sure that you get a GPS with your car as roads are not very well marked and there are a lot of speed bumps everywhere.
The only other advice is to bring your own coffee for your room if you like strong coffee. They do supply coffee for you but I am a person who likes a good cup of my own coffee.
We spent a wonderful week here - lots to do and see. You could get by without a car as they do have vans (for a reasonable price) to take you out on lots of outings.
I would love to return one of these days.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina had a nice view - always changing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent a great week at the resort. Great views, nice beach and excellent and very friendly staff. You can probably get away with cabs and shuttle services. But we rented a car and di not regret it. Will definitely plan to return when everyone is ready for our next vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed at renovated suites. We haven't seen the older rooms, but heard they are not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.