We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort in a nice area of St Maarten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call us last minute DEALS
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good resort in a nice area of St Maarten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As timeshare owners, we've been to Oyster Bay Resort a couple of times. It's a well-run resort with lots of activities poolside and in the evenings if you like that kind of thing. Kind of reminds me of a cruise ship, but in a better way. Some tips if you plan to stay here:
- Ocean front units are great, but be prepared for the sound of wave action. During our week there, we encountered some pretty windy days and nights when the waves were pounding on the rocks below our window.
- Oyster Pond is actually half on the French side, so you get a bit of a different shopping and dining experience by literally walking around the corner.
- A high-speed catamaran leaves Oyster Pond most days of the week for St. Bartholomew. It's a half-hour trip or so, but if they tell you it's rough seas, you better believe it and take Gravol, or change your plans if you don't want to get seasick. On our trip, it wasn't very windy on shore, but the waves were tossing the boat around once we got further out. Quite a few people looked uncomfortable and you know it's not a good sign when the crew starts handing out the seasickness bags.
- Take the coastal road from Oyster Pond towards Orient Bay. The ocean scenery is spectacular and you get to see lots of goats on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    129
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
127
254
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our frinds have offered their week at this resort, Oyster Bay Beach Resort (OBBR) several times and I had not been anxious to visit since we've been all over he Caribbean and this would be a repeat of a trip to the Dutch side of SXM, but at a different resort.
The price was just for the room, but WHAT A ROOM! We had a first floor, 2 bedroom suite that actually had 2 kitchens, 2 full bathrooms, 2 separate bedrooms, separate entry for each side and access to the outside balcony and walkway (facing east for you folks who wake before the sun).
Although we had a car for touring and eating out, we enjoyed most of our afternoon and evening meals either at the restaurant or the 3 nearby eateries. I am sure if you drove into the property, you would see signage for all the places we dined or snacked at.
My impressions were: Clean, open, variety of guests (Canadiens, Brits, Dutch and Americans, both couples and a few families) but there is one feature that was very clear: Almost everybody had been coming there for many, many years.
Most evenings they had some event like a managers welcome or local folks showing their wares plus in the day they had an orientation gathering so you would meet many of the Island people who provide the excursions and activities.
The pool was always crystal clear and the hot tub was pretty large. The property is set upon a rocky edge of the end of the penisula, but about 3 minutes away (walking), you had the serenity of Dawn Beach. The property has chairs for you on that side of the resort and the servers will bring you anything you want. Oyster Bay is the body of water on the west side of the peninsula.
The waiters and waitresses and towel people knew you almost immediately and I was stunned when the manager, Mr Perez introduced himself to our party of 4 the first night we arrived. He and his staff have the management of this place down to a science.
Our room exceeded our expectations. The food (which we pre-ordered) was in the refrigerators upon arrival. Each day our room was taken care of (bed linens are done 2 times during your stay and of course, prior to your arrival) with mticulous care. Everybody had an Island attitude and were pleased to see their smiles reciprocated.
We had one of the ladies have a nail that was giving her problems and the wonderful nail tech at the salon was super kind in fixing the nail (gratis) so we could get on with one of our Island adventures.
We did go on 4 or 5 excursions, but this report is about the resort. Yes, it is not in Phillipsburg so you will need a taxi or rental to get around. But the whole Island is only 38 Sq miles and the places that tourists visit are almost exclusively along the coastal area.
Give OBBR a view. See if you can connect with some fellow travelers before you go and within a few minutes of arrival, I think you will feel like we did: Amazingly Relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms that face east and are on the first floor (or walk out to walkway) are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My party and I stayed June 2nd through 10th. We had a renovated 2 bedroom apartment as well as a studio and both were beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our room was about as close as you can get to the stairs leading down to the beach which made it really convenient to go back to our room for drinks or snacks while enjoying the beautiful Beach that was literally feet from our beds.

The staff was friendly, and really helpful, our air conditioner went out towards the end of the trip and they had it fixed right away. One of my favorite things about this place (the hotel and really the whole island) is you can rent snorkel gear for the whole week from the hotel to take advantage of the reefs located right off the beach. The rental is free as long as you return the gear.

The hotel is a bit of the beaten path but personally it's on what I think is the most beautiful part of the island. We rented a car so we went all over and I loved the tucked away feeling of this place. However be for warned if you arrive late be sure to stop at someplace that's in town if you need anything because there isn't anything open very late near the resort. The nice thing about it being out of the way of everything is that the beach was never crowded and you didn't feel like you were in a touristy area.

There are 4 + restaurants with in a walking distance (Beau Beau's, Mr Bigsby, Canoa, and Big Fish). All of them were excellent but if I could somehow get Big Fished shipped to the states everyday. There is tasty food for every budget all over the island. The driving is a little scary but I would recommend getting a car and exploring all the beaches because they are all different. We also took advantage of the fully stocked kitchen to go grocery shopping and cook a few meals to save us some cash.

The only downside to this location which I won't mark them down for because there is only so much you can do, is that when the tide came in after the full moon it brought so much sea weed that our beach was un-swimable the last two days of the trip. It wasn't a problem for us we went and hung out on Pinel island and enjoyed some of the clearest waters I have ever seen.

I spend so much time everyday day dreaming of my mornings our balcony that I am returning this June 1st through 8th.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled to OBBR in early December 2013, before the high season began. We purchased a Getaway through Interval International, and felt that we got a very good value for the price. We had a one-bedroom unit in the center of the property (not technically beach front but the ocean was visible between the buildings on either side of us). The unit was in very nice shape, and quiet as well. The daily housekeeping was excellent. We took advantage of the full kitchen for breakfast every day, and dinner some of the time.

The resort is located at one end of Dawn Beach, with soft sand and gently rolling waves.The pool area is gorgeous and was never crowded when we were there.

We ate a couple of times at the "casual" restaurant on the property (Beau-Beau's) and felt that it was overrated but it was convenient. Beau-Beau's also offers beach service so we did take advantage of drink delivery on the beach!

This resort is located a bit off the track, so the area is quiet and doesn't have a huge assortment of activities within walking distance. This was a selling point for us, and we had a rental car for the days when we wanted to see other parts of the island.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a time share for us -- I did request a renovated unit and got one. Not sure if all of them have been redone. We had a nice view of the marina which we enjoyed.
Some of the best things are the restaurants at the resort and within easy walking distance....the marvelous infinity pool...the very nice beach..towel service a couple of times during the week.
The staff was terrific and friendly. There were lots of parties which were very well done and helped us meet some nice people.
You could get on line in the main building gratis which was a perk.
BUT, if you arrive at night, as we did, be sure that you get a GPS with your car as roads are not very well marked and there are a lot of speed bumps everywhere.
The only other advice is to bring your own coffee for your room if you like strong coffee. They do supply coffee for you but I am a person who likes a good cup of my own coffee.
We spent a wonderful week here - lots to do and see. You could get by without a car as they do have vans (for a reasonable price) to take you out on lots of outings.
I would love to return one of these days.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina had a nice view - always changing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent a great week at the resort. Great views, nice beach and excellent and very friendly staff. You can probably get away with cabs and shuttle services. But we rented a car and di not regret it. Will definitely plan to return when everyone is ready for our next vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed at renovated suites. We haven't seen the older rooms, but heard they are not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Travelled to O.B.B.R. Jan 12-19.. 2013. First I would like to say resort is clean, the studio for 2 people was very small, ok for one week. This resort is in a isolated part of the island with no local bus service outside. Heard driving can be dangerous, so we didnt go ahead and hire car. The hotel run's a bus service to different part's of the island $15 a person, if no one sign's up then the bus is cancelled. We were dissapointed, I think if they advertise it they should run it. Not everyone feel's comfortable driving a car. They need a bus everyday to where ever people want to go.

This resort cater's mostly for it's owner's, Most of the staff are friendly enough except the lady at the front desk and their sales guy. They have a welcome meeting, dont waste your time, we went thinking we were going to get lot's of info on the island, just a sales pitch.

Sunbed's - Most people get up early and put their towels on the bed's, the owner's like to sit at the same spot, 2 day's in a row I was up 7am, put my stuff out, went for breakfast came down and our bed's, towel's sun lotion was removed and dumped on a chair. People took our bed's. I was so angry that people could be so RUDE. I've travelled to many places and never has anyone touched my belongings before. I would never do this to anyone else when I asked around of course no one admitted it, one lady just smirked my way.

Time share - went on the presentation. They take you too the PENTHOUSE, again another sales pitch, show the people what they can afford. The sales guy was nice to start but changed his attitude when we told him we didnt want to buy. He started telling us we SHOULD be able to afford the monthly payments. Again made me ANGRY.

Pool is nice but very deep at the infinity edge, shallow at the top. My husband liked to swim.

Overall we did enjoy St.Martin, would come back to O.B.B.R in 20yrs when I reach my senior years. If your younger and looking for a more lively resort then go else where on the island Philipsburg or somewhere like that. Dont come here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.