We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week in St. Maarten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL FOR BEST PRICE
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week in St. Maarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at OBBR. There were my sons, a wife, a girlfriend, my husband and me. I had traded a my time share for a studio room. Then I found that my son and his wife could join us so I bought a 1 br unit thru my time share. These were to be separate units. However, I contacted OBBR and asked if they could be combined into a two br unit. The resort did not promise me anything but when we arrived, they had upgraded our units and we had connecting units. From the time we arrived, everyone was very pleasant to us. We were greeted with snacks, a glass of champagne, and a bottle of wine. There were daily activities. My son's gf tie-dyed a shirt. My other son and his wife played and won at bingo. The manager's welcome party was very nice -- better than our home resort's. Drinks flowed freely and there was music, dancing and prizes.

Our room was on the first floor and was a refurbished unit -- granite counters and fresh tile bathbooms. The furniture is as on the web-site. It was clean and well maintained. Our unit was facing the ocean with a view of ST. Barth's. However, units facing the marina are also nice. The kitchen in the lock-off portion was very nice for a studio. It had a small refrigerator, dishwasher, a convection/microwave oven and cook-top. All-in-all, the combined unit was very nice and comfortable for the 6 of us.

Other posters have commented on a seaweed problem at Dawn Beach. We did NOT experience this. However, it was windy and therefore, fairly rough.

Food at Infinity -the on-site restaurant - was good and reasonably priced for a resort. There is a breakfast place down the beach from the resort. We ate at Mr. Busby's when we didn't want the breakfast buffet at Infinity. However, prices for breakfast other than the buffet was comparable to Mr. Busby's.

We had two dinners at Infinity. On the first, our order did not get enterred into the computer and therefore was very slow. Management came over and comped our dinner! The crusted grouper was excellent.

I would definitely return to OBBR. One down-side was the comfort of the pull-out couch. Management did bring us a second mattress to put on top of the first but it was still not comfortable according to my son.

Others have commented on mosquitoes. We brought bug spray but forgot to use it. DON"T forget!! We were eaten alive. Not the resort'f fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    190
    79
    26
    13
See reviews for
186
363
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH CAROLINA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay at the OBBR was from Nov 10th thru the 17th. We have been visiting St Maarten since the mid 80's and I just have to say that the people that work here at the OBBR are the nicest that we've met yet! We were greeted champagne upon checking in and they let us check out 2 rooms before choosing. Although we could have stayed in the newly renovated building, we chose to stay in the older one which was fine and had a great view of the marina. Our room was supplied with fresh towels every day and we always had coffee to brew. We normally stay on the other side of the Island and was a little concerned about being so far away from everything. Well we had such an enjoyable stay that we can't wait to return. Oh and by the way...This was a trade through Interval Inernational.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been coming to St Maarten for 24 yrs, and Oyster Bay Beach Resort for past 8 years ( I became an owner of a timeshare there after first stay. Besides a great property, rooms and pool it has one of the best staffs of any island resort. Two standouts: Nina who manages the front desk ( they must have thought of her when they named St Maarten "The Friendly Island") and Precious who is a housekeeper. I have stayed at the Fairmount in Barbados, the St James Club in Antigua ( 20 yrs ago when it was a top resort) and the Hyatt in Aruba, and I would choose OOBBR over any of them. The Westin Dawn Beach has a casino which is fun but thats about it. Westins Dawn beach could be any where in the USA nothing that makes you feel like you are in St Maarten. I just got back yesterday from a 10 day stay at Oyster Bay and I'm sad to have left! The staff makes you feel like family and when you leave like you are leaving your family behind. If you are thinking of going to St Maarten you really should give Oyster Bay Beach Resort a try.......you might just fall in love with the Island,resort and staff like my wife and I have.

Room Tip: Every room has its own great view! the marina , the ocean or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at OBBR Nov 10 - 17th. We had traded two 2 bedroom units through Interval Exchange so were very unsure what condition the units would be in after reading all the reviews. First let me say that OBBR called us a few days prior to our arrival to ask if we had any special requests. (That was a first from any timeshare property we have booked!) I just requested 2 units close together and one of them preferably on a lower floor since we had an older guest. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and there was free champagne in the lobby as we waited to check-in which was a very nice touch. We were then escorted to our units, which were a building apart, one unit on the first floor (per request) and the second unit on the 2nd floor. BOTH OCEANFRONT!!!!! We could literally look over our balconies to the ocean below! It was absolutely stunning and a wonderful surprise. The units had both been updated and were lovely.

Staff was very friendly, housekeeping came each day, and mid-week changed all the sheets.

Beach was very nice but prone to wind & seaweed. We never had a problem finding chairs & umbrellas.

There are two restaurants on property - Infinity & Beau-Beau's. Within walking distance is Big Fish, Canoa, and Daniel's by the Sea. On the other side of the marina (French side) are a few more restaurants (you would need car).

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend - but if you do choose this property note that you must have a rental car so you can explore!

Room Tip: We were in Building 25 & 26. Great location and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We absolutely love, love, love OBBR. Just came home, and can't wait to go back. The improvements made over the past few years are great - from the newly redone pool and hot tub, to the free WiFi in the courtyard. Even though we were not lucky to get one of the remodeled rooms, the "older" rooms are still decent enough and OUR VIEW was probably the best on the island - On top of the coral reef overlooking St Barth. The staff was, as always, attentive, friendly and helpful - from the chamber maid to the guy at the beach, the front desk staff to the security guards who open the gate.

One minor inconvenience was the new towel policy - no towel service at the beach or pool. So if you want fresh towels, you must leave your beach towels in the room and the maid exchanges them. I understand that this new policy is not just for cost saving, but also for the environmental impact. However it was not done with the guests' best interest in mind. Not that convenient if you'd like a fresh set after a little passing sun shower got your towels all wet. Having said that, a simple phone call to housekeeping in the morning before you head out, and you got fresh towels 10 minutes later.

Overall, OBBR is not a 5 star resort (and does not claim to be) with all the services of a mega resort, it is still by far, the most beautiful and laid back resort in St Maarten, with just enough services to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Be back soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Here for nine nights. Love the staff, Nina and Yuan at the front were exceptional and helpful. Brenda needs to work on her guest skill, comes across as agh, another problem guest. Dawn beach was just perfect, clean and not crowded. Pool was great. Usually stay at Hyatt and Marriott properties, really appreciate this size resort. Beautiful grounds and views, make sure you get an updated room. Concierge was helpful, but not outgoing or energetic. Wanda at the pool was awesome. Pool and ocean chairs available even during Thanksgiving holiday week. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are owners and bought a timeshare unit after our first visit. Each year Oyster Bay has worked hard to improve an already nice resort. We especially liked the lighting around the pool at night: check out their webcam to see! Dawn Beach anchors the resort at one end and a cute marina on the other. There is music and appetizers served many nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.