We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five reasons to go to the Dinghy Dock Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinghy Dock Bar

Dinghy Dock Bar
Captain Oliver's Marina, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Dinghy Dock)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Dinghy Dock Bar is a true Caribbean dive bar. Situated on a historic marina in Oyster Pond, the bar straddles the Dutch and French line sitting over the water. It's a place where high and low, locals and tourists, rub elbows and party the night away. It was originally a place to get the rowdy drunken sailor's out of the finer establishments in the area. Sit at the bar and to hear stories told, some true and many not, from around the island and around the world. The "mix your own" happy hour is the best around. That's right, you get the bottle, glass, mixer, and make you own drink. This is also one of the best-stocked bars on the island, with the usual suspects, as well some unusual ones - even a selection of craft beers from the US for those missing a taste of home. The kitchen makes some of the best casual bar food around, lunch and dinner. You won't find better fish and chips, ribs, burgers, wings, or anything else on the menu. Daily specials vary from goat stew to jerk pork chops to blackened grouper. We open at 8am for coffee and fresh baked croissants. The kitchen opens around 11am and runs until you're stuffed. All are welcome - kids, dogs, iguanas, random dock critters, old and young people - provided, of course, they're up for a good time. Family friendly most of the day and night, late night is definitely more suited for the "big kids". You never know what will happen at this place. There is also live music every Sunday night and usually 2-3 other nights of the week. Sports fan? The game is always on at the Dinghy Dock. Whether it's NFL, NHL, NBA, Soccer, College, Pro, Olympics, you name it and we will like be watching. Stop by and yell at the tvs(that's right, more than one) with us. You are guaranteed to have a good time no matter what night you go, and once you've been there, you will be back. Maybe because you got so drunk you forgot your shoes, or maybe to do it all over again. Dinghy Dock Bar "The Peril of Oyster Pond"
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five reasons to go to the Dinghy Dock Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

1) Generous drinks 2) great food 3) reasonable prices 4) hunky bartenders 5) attentive service 6) casual & convenient location 7) dog-friendly .... wait a minute: did I say just "5"?

There were LOTS of reasons the Dinghy Dock was our fave place to hang out and rendezvous when we were in Oyster Pond chartering a boat for a regatta. Tall frosty drinks. Friendly crowd. Did I mention the hot & attentive bartenders? The fresh & delicious food?

I guess you could say 'Go there for the mussels, stay for the muscles' :) We'll be back!

WINNING crew of The Rockstars

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    99
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“The best bar on St. Maarten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place is awesome!

Dinghy Dock Bar was recommended by us by locals, so we decided to go!

The owner was extremely nice and accommodating - just like the locals said he would!

As for the review below, I was there when this went down. She was belligerent and drunk and most of all, a trouble maker.

They should have kicked her out hours before!

Service was great, drinks were strong and the atmosphere was AWESOME!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun night, the best fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner on the beach and decided to check out his "dive bar". Not a dive at all! Great service, food was delish, drinks were yummy! Thanks for the fun evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“arrogant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

waited an hour and a half for our dinners, there was five of us. Waiter rude and argumentative.
they did compensate my meal. Owner was there and did not come over to talk to us. Very rude.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevSethJ, Owner at Dinghy Dock Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review, however I would have appreciated an accurate review more. You were quite memorable yourself. That night was quite busy and as all the tables, you were told food would take a while, yours took prob 45 mins. Admittedly slower than I'd like, but it's not like you weren't warned. I did stop by your table, twice, but I'm not in the habit of saying"I'm the owner" unless asked. FYI, I was the really good looking guy with the nice eyes. While you may not have had the best time, the others in your party seem to like it. They came back the next night. They apologized for your behavior and had brought others with them. They seemed to have a great time. Saying that, I always want customers to leave happy and hope that we can have a chance to change your mind. Dinner is on me next time you come back. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Bar and Restaurant with Great Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After flying all day and arriving late at night to Captain Oliver's hotel, we were ready for a Caribbean cocktail. We followed the sounds of laughter and music and found the Dinghy Dock Bar in the Oyster Pond Marina. The owner, Seth, graciously welcomed us, and the bartender, Brian, made the perfect libations to get us in the vacation mode. There was friendly chatter amongst all the guests, and we immediately knew that this would be "our bar."

We took our friends there the next evening and had an unexpectedly great lunch. (Unexpected, because of the "dive bar" atmosphere.) We went back for dinner that evening, and between all of us had several different menu items, and they were all very good. And as another reviewer wrote, the Skipper's slaw was excellent! Our group of friends grew to 6, and we had a several meals and quite a few cocktails here.

I highly recommend the Dinghy Dock Bar for the fun and friendly atmosphere, and the great food and drinks. Seth & Brian are both great hosts!
*They even supply bug spray, which you need on your legs throughout the islands for those nasty little no-see-ums.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock Bar also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Dinghy Dock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinghy Dock Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.