We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with good food and warm service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoa

Canoa
Dawn Beach, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5436442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot with good food and warm service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant and thought the staff was warm, the food good, and the ambience lovely, particularly outside. They had good choices on the menu, and a lively atmosphere. The service could be a little slow, but nothing worthy of a complaint. Would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    112
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant in Dawn Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family was dined at Canoa our last night in St. Martin. We had a "tentative" reservation from the night before because the restaurant was completely booked Christmas week. The hostess worked us into the schedule when we arrived and the service and food was very good. The atmosphere was upscale casual for the Caribbean. Canoa is now on our list of one of the four restaurants that we'll dine at when we are at Oyster Bay. The other three are Big Fish, Daniel's by the Sea and L'Oasis (just over the border on the French side). All very close to the resort each with a slightly different atmosphere and menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We just happened to hit this restaurant by chance. What great luck. The food was fantastic especially the fish. If you want good seafood, this is the place to go. Service was a little slow but we remembered we were on vacation and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Think again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hostess was a delightful person who was attentive to our needs. A part from that, this place is insanely sub par, especially for the price. Here goes: I ordered virgin daiquiri (I know I know) but this is why it sucked. The bartender poured artificial mango concentrate into a blender with some ice and served it up for $10. Remember this has no booze in it. Needless to say it was disgusting and overpriced. My over-sugared gut should have known right then to bounce, but alas. After inattentive service (it took 15 minutes for the server to take our order) my girlfriend and I both ordered mahi mahi with lemongrass sauce and decided to split the green salad. The salad was almost passable if it weren't for the dressing which was out of some plastic pouch for sure. The mahi mahi was literally inedible. The lemongrass sauce tasted like nothing at all, just a generic probably out of a pouch sauce as well. Despite what this review would lead you to believe, neither my girlfriend or I are complainers. I never send my food back, ever. In fact I didn't plan on it this time, but after my girlfriend stopped eating her fish because it had the consistency of rubber, then after much debate asked the waitress for a new dish. The waitress kind of put it back on her saying mahi is a tough fish. It should be
Meaty yes, tough no especially for $30 an entree! The hostess then came over with genuine concern shortly after and asked me if I would like to change mine as well which I did. We both got the snapper and truth be told, it did not taste like snapper, nor was it good, but we both ate it so we could get out of there. We had nothing taken off our bill and both felt that we had been pretty much robbed of our time and money. I will make another plug for our hostess who did everything she could (with the exception of not charging us for at least one of those horrible dishes). Travelers, locals, do yourselves a favor, head to the French side where a couple miles is literally a world away culinarily speaking. I recommend Jam Rock. Totally low key but high quality Jamaican food with a French flair. Much much cheaper and oh so much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

When the weather is good, eat outside by the marina. Food is very good, but the blackened fish needs better spices; a bit too bland for my taste.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.