We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meals, severely understaffed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoa

Canoa
Dawn Beach, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5436442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice meals, severely understaffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate at Canoa for the first time tonight. As usual for St. Maarten the food was very good, I ordered the pasta seafood and my wife ordered chicken florentine. Both were very made and tasty, finished with the molten cake for dessert, which did not disappoint.

The main problem we had was that the place was severely understaffed, our waiter was working is butt off and did his best but we felt mostly ignored most of the night. When we finished dessert we had to wait over 40 minutes to see our waiter again to get the check. it was obvious he was not able to handle all the customers that he was assigned.

I should add that this was a Monday night at about 7 when we arrived. The food did arrive to our table in a timely manner, it was only after a table of 8 was seated that things went downhill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    175
    89
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Saved the Best for Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is our last night in St. Martin and we visited Canoa. Timing is everything because we had no reservation and the place was filling up fast. We sat at a table overseeing the kitchen and it was the best seat in the house. To watch the chefs in action was a treat. They work together beautifully. And the kitchen is as clean as a whistle.
I ordered the stuffed red snapper filet - not exactly sure what it was stuffed with but all I can say is that it was the best! The Queen ordered the mahi mahi in mango sauce and this turned out to be her favorite by a wide margin over anything else she had on this trip.
We interacted with just about all of the restaurant staff, including the owner/head chef and everyone was fantastic. This is must go to place. If you're not staying in the Dawn Beach area, you might find it hard to find. All you need to know is that it is right near The Westin. If you can find The Westin, you will find Canoa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, fun location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went to Canoa for dinner and had a great dining experience. The restaurant is on a pier in Oyster Pond which provides for a nice setting. The walls are all open so there is a fantastic breeze to enjoy. The food was excellent, however I thought it was a bit expensive. It is one of the more expensive restaurants that we ate at.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best meal on Sint Maarten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wow - what a find. After reviewing all the restaurants on the Dutch side of the island, we decided it was worth the drive to give Canoa a try. What a little gem this restaurant is in Oyster Pond. The food was by far the best we've had since being here this week, service was outstanding,, and the owner/chef (who trained in the USA) made a point to come out and speak with us and other diners. After eating at several of the 'touristy restaurants' in Phillipsburg, we were captivated by all this restaurant has to offer. Wide selection of menu and everything we had was delicious - also great wine list at reasonable prices. Where else could we find a Brunello for $62!? don't miss this one - no matter where on the island you are staying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little pricey but tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here and I felt like we got our moneys worth but I thought Big Fish across the street better. I ordered Mahi Mahi and it was a little dry and didn't really come with much for sides. With as pricey as it was I shouldn't walk away feeling hungry.

I would however eat there again on my upcoming trip and would recommend it to anyone that is staying nearby.

Wear bug spray however. Some of the seating is outside and while it's very lovely the restaurant is on the dock of a marina so there are a ton of mosquitoes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.