We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer: $135 + Free Car!!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been going to St. Martin for 19 years, and this was our first stay at Priness Heights. We have never stayed anywhere there that was nearly this nice. Our condo was wonderfully clean, well appointed, and spacious. Having a full kitchen was a big plus.The view from the deck could only be described as spectacular! Dailey cleaning and fresh towels was a welcome change from some other places. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are excited to be planning a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    119
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
89
282
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Let me start off by saying that during our trip to St. Martin my family needed a place to stay for a one night accommodation. We arrived at Princess Heights around 3pm on Friday...the hotel can't be blamed for the extremely steep hill which it is situated on BUT it could use a BIGGER sign showing the direction of the check in office. The sign is so small that chances are you will pass it 2 or 3 times before realizing that in fact it's down a one way hill that is so steep that if you don't drive 5 MPH you will defiantly do some damage to your car because of the shrubbery that is overwhelming on the way down, or you will hit a person walking or a homeless dog wondering looking for food.
After dealing with that ordeal you have the pleasure of having a hostess walk you to your room. Don't expect a bell hop or someone to help you with your luggage during your walk to your room if you have more than a carry on (which we did we a family of 5) GOOD LUCK! We tried to walk down the first flight of steps which they told us to beware it had just been polished. I'm not sure why you would polish terracotta floors with a layer of dirt on top of it but it was like walking on a floor with butter someone could have been very badly injured. Finally we decided to go another route. We had to once again walk down a flight of stairs which were slippery but not "polished" so we proceeded to do that once we passed the pool which had stray dog laying all around and drinking out of the pool I knew this was going to be extremely unsanitary. Once we got into our hotel/condo which is so outdated I had to reassure my family this was only for one night. My poor 2 year old who wanted to go into the pool had to be told NO because the infestation of dogs was defiantly not up to my standards or anyone's in this case I'm sure.
Our 2 bedroom condo was filthy. Couches had stains, stools were disgusting. Kitchen had a washer and dryer but of course how could we use it with a note saying out of service.
But rest assure we open the fridge and there was TWO ice cold beers. So the four of us adults shared one each. NICE! The beds were ok we checked for bed bugs and they were clean, which is a positive.
The bathrooms were so gross that we almost didn't want to shower in them, my husband was reminding of the movie The Shining, which goes to show how repulsed we all were. Shower curtains hadn't been cleaned or changed in months, probably years but I'll be kind. Horrible dirty chairs in the bathrooms too.
The bottom line is that they're are two buildings at this hotel. We made reservations to stay in the new building and they put us in the old one (which should be destroyed). When we questioned why we were put in this dingy, filthy disgusting room, we were told because we were only here for one night. That's some customer service for you! Terrible! You can't walk anywhere from this location so be very careful the hotel is built into a mountain so the walk will be very dangerous so be careful!
Overall one of the worse experiences I've ever had being a world traveler NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
This is a clear example of extortion. The guest that proclaimed upon check in “We just want to get wasted” was irate that there were only 2 complimentary beers instead of 4. He proclaimed “you guys are going to pay for this. It’s cheaper for you to bring more beer and problem solved”. Many elements of the story are untrue. For example: the guest claims the chairs in the bathroom were dirty. There aren’t any chairs in the bathroom. All guests are escorted and assisted by office staff to their room. The pool is cleaned and tested everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff at Princess Heights is outstanding. They are totally customer oriented, from the front desk personnel to the grounds crew. The hotel itself is clean and quiet. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Enjoying morning coffee on the balcony while watching the sun rise over Dawn Beach and planning which beach to visit for the day...what a wonderful way to escape the gray of winter!

Room Tip: In order to reach the rooms in the second building, you have to go through the first one which does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked Princess Heights through Jetblue Getaways. Travelling with 3 children my wife and I agreed that having kitchen possibilities was a major plus. When we arrived we were really impressed by the standard of the rooms which were even better than the photos. Spacious, clean and with high-end details. Wonderful balcony with a view of St Baarths. You really need a car, St Maarthens is hilly with poor (steep!) roads and there are lots of places to go see. The pool was really nice and the staff really helpful. Roomservice was great. Really happy to see that they provided with beach towels as well but a bit of a let down that they weren't replenished so well. I would definitely recommend this place even though it's not really walking distance to any town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Look no further as this is "THE" place to stay in St Maarten. Excellent views! Large, modern, very clean, and comfortable rooms! Free and great WiFi. Close to great restaurants and French side. This side of island is less touristy and much quieter. Hotel was entirely booked at the time, but we didn't hear even a peep from other guests.
Staff goes above and beyond! We had a very dramatic beginning to our stay - one of our group lost their carry-on as the cab drive didn't close the top window and it ended up on the road - long story short - the staff immediately called around, allowed the guest to use phone and internet to quickly close all cards. And at the end of the night, another cab driver had picked up the bag and returned to the hotel w/out even on dollar missing!
Only minor drawback is that guests must climb stories of steps to other buildings (that do have elevators), so if you are not good with stairs you may want another choice. Upside - good exercise and it's worth the climb to beautiful views!
Close good restaurants include Busby's for more casual dining and Canoa was excellent for a more upscale experience. Definitely spend a day at Pinel Island for great beach experience.

Room Tip: We stayed one night on front end of cruise and two at back end. Both rooms had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff at Princess Heights Luxury Boutique Hotel are extraordinary! Nadine greeted me upon my arrival and turned my CRAZY travel day into a HAPPY one. She has excellent customer service skills, explained the details of our stay, thoroughly answered my questions with the biggest and warmest smile. Any questions or reservations I needed, they made it happen. This is by far one of the top 5 hotels I've stayed at in regards to customer service, luxury of a 2 bedroom suite, cleanliness and did I mention superb customer service! I'm a huge hotel snob and this place exceeded my expectations!

Thanks again for the birthday surprise!! I'm telling everyone about Princess Heights Luxury Boutique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at PH and had a great time. Really didn't know what to expect before we got there since my girlfriend did most of the research. But once we got there the staff was very attentive to all our needs from providing a cell phone for a minimal charge in case of emergencies to giving us information on local activities. The room was what you would find in a 4 star hotel, upscale kitchen, large living room, beautiful bathroom and great view of the ocean. There is also free Wi-Fi which was helpful in keeping in touch with family back home and posting pics of our incredible vacation.

A car is a must and most restaurants are a quick drive away. If you are looking for a family friendly beach there is Le Galion a short distance on the French side or if you want more options drive just a little further and there is Orient Bay with a number of beaches with restaurants and most also have Wi-Fi. I would recommend PH to my family and friends and look forward to going back in the future!

Room Tip: Ask to get a room in the 2nd building up top which is new and has an elevator. Also buy some mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.