We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - awesome presentation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish

Big Fish
Dawn Beach, Emmeril Merrit Road, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.best-stmartin.com/detail.asp?storeID=5330&catID=6&typID= it's located in st.maarten, not shown under country list
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food - awesome presentation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by the staff at Princess Heights hotel, and we were not disappointed. The location is beautiful, right on Dawn Beach. We did seem to confuse the staff by asking questions (I wanted to know which fish was local, and my boyfriend asked about some of the sauces - the waiter responded "no one has ever asked me that before" ?!?). I had a tuna steak and my boyfriend had Mahi Mahi. Both were very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    116
    54
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two nights, two different restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

First off, let me say that Big Fish is probably our favorite SXM restaurant and we've chosen it as our "last night on the island' spot two years in a row.
This year, we went one night and left diasappointed only to return the next for a fabulous meal. We dropped by at noon and asked whether we'd have trouble getting a table at 7:30 or so-the server said 'no problem". Well the place was packed at 7:30 so we gladly waited in the outdoor lounge area. We tried to order three wines in succession from the wine list only to be told each time that they were out of each. Meanwhile one in our party of four noticed that the chef was the only one in the kitchen-he had no help of any kind- and the service was starting to show the strain. we took a "raincheck " and wondered over to nearby Canoa and had a lovely meal.
Next night ,our last ,back to Big Fish. Seated promptly at our favourite outdoor table (the white on white colour scheme works much better outdoors especially at night with the blue accent lighting. Our requested wines served promptly, and everything just as we remembered it. We love the ability to select a fish and then match with a sauce of our choosing.The presentation style is always impressive and the service expletary.All in all an excellent meal for each of the four of us.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible presentation and prep!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Near the marina in Oyster Pond one would pass it up before realizing it to be a restaurant. The atmosphere is incredible along with a most friendly and accommodating staff. The food is as AWESOME as it presentation. I strongly suggest outdoor seating for its charm. Thank you to all
at Big Fish for a fabulous evening with my husband and friends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.J.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Big Plates, Bad Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were a party of six people. We ate here last year and gave it a so so rating. We figured we would go back and give it a second try. We arrived about 7.20 and got seated promptly, luckily, as they do not take reservations and they got filled within another 15 minutes. Our waiter had an 'I could care less' attitude. Our appetizers were served in a timely manner...and then the problems began. First they ran out of bread (at 7.30???). At 8.30 we had not received our main course. We could see that other tables were having the same problem. After telling them that we were leaving if we were not served within five minutes there was some squabbling in the open kitchen. We were told that our food had been cooked and would be out shortly. We did ask, 'if it was cooked' why wasn't it served?
Alas, a few minutes later they brought our main course. The food was just ok but the experience dampened the whole dining experience. The waiter and the manager could have cared less. No apologies. We paid, we left, not to return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like cigarette smoke in your face and food and you enjoy blaring cacophonous music, you will love Big Fish.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

What a let down. The atmosphere is beautiful and the waitstaff accommodating, but it is all down hill from there. The food presentation is excellent, however, the food itself is quite average at best. You will also inhale massive amounts of smoke from rude smokers seated right next to you whilst listening to the most obnoxious music ----our waiter actually referred to the music as demonic but said no one could change it except the owner who was not there. Could not wait to leave after such high expectations.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.