We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely proprietor, average pizzas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oasis

L'Oasis
Resident les Rochers | Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
0590290568
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: It is on the island of St. Martin - French side. You don't have a listing for St. Martin under "country". It has MANY fine restaurants!
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely proprietor, average pizzas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in St. Martin for six days last month after a cruise and ate at a number of wonderful restaurants, since there are many on this little island. L’Oasis is nice but doesn’t rate up there in terms of food in particular. It was recommended to us by our driver, and he was right about the owner, but not so accurate about the food. The pizzas were reasonably priced, but not among the best we’ve had over many years of travel. And you sit on benches – if you don’t like that, give it a miss. We didn’t mind.

The server was very pleasant, but once the place began to fill up, she was very inattentive. The most impressive aspect of the evening was that when our driver failed to show up (he had sent a fill-in who went to the wrong Oasis – there are two), Martine actually drove us back to our hotel herself. You cannot beat that. Kudos to her for caring about her guests.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    118
    55
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We recently returned from St. Martin and had two dinners at this restaurant. The food is good. They have a lunch menu and pizza but we were there for dinner. At one meal my husband had fish which was poached in foil with vegetables.He said it was good. I had the steak. It was not the finest piece of meat but it tasted good. On another night I had lamb chops which were excellent. The desserts were fabulous and the service was great. The owner is lovely and on our first visit we didn't have a car or a taxi available and she drove us backt to our hotel!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

nice little spot but prices not condusive to food and poor service!we found the food to be almost cold on arrival and part of order was totally missed!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a fantastic meal at Oasis! People ordered everything from Mahi mahi to Pasta carbonara and no one was disappointed. The service was great and the atmosphere was comfortable and inviting. We splurged and ordered dessert, and were recommended to try the apple pie. It was AMAZING! It took a few minutes extra beacuse they baked it fresh, and it was well worth the wait. Save room when you go!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just picked up a few things including some elegant pastries which were awesome. They have a nice selection of wines in the back room.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oasis also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.