We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Little Hideaway...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Quiet Little Hideaway...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Captain Oliver's is off the beaten path and a nice surprise on Oyster Pond.

We had a large room with 2 double beds and a large bathroom.
Housekeeping did a fine job each day and never had a issue.

They have a wonderful seafood buffet on Saturday nights! I am not a buffet person, but this was exceptional!

I recommend Captain Oliver's, see for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    80
    49
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
116
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs co
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We chose Captain Olivers to stay at because it adjoins the marina where we were chartering a catamaran for a week. When we checked, in the desk clerk was not at all friendly. In fact, she was rather surly as she did not have the reservation for one member of our group and was not making much of an attempt to find out what the problem was. After almost an hour to get that straightened out, the A/C in our room was not working so we were switched to another room. The hot water in the showers is a bit tricky to figure out, one of our group never did get it working but ours worked fine. Fortunately things got better from there. The Oceanside rooms are great, very spacious with a fabulous view, and were very clean and comfortable. Nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs, though the tables and palapa umbrellas are on their last leg. There is not much of a beach, and being in the marina I wonder about the water quality. The restaurant and bar have plenty of offerings, with a nice spread on the breakfast buffet. Friendly staff there, and don't miss the buffet and DJ on Saturday night. Seems the entire neighborhood comes in for this, lots of fun and dancing. So for us, as a place for before/after our sailing the location was ideal and a good value for St. Maarten. For vacationers spending all their time at the hotel, this doesn't really have much to offer unless you have a vehicle to drive around the island to better beaches and other attractions.

Room Tip: ocean view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Captain Oliver's. We had seen it years ago and felt it would be a great place to stay for a couple of nights before our trip over to St. Barts. The view from our villa was beyond belief and the room was huge. The shower could have been hotter, and in-room amenities are not abundant. But we would stay there again in a heart beat just for the location at the marina and the excellent food. Every morning we had a delicious buffet breakfast with croissants better than we had in Paris! The staff was friendly and we loved the tropical birds and the friendly cats that live there. Would recommend Captain Oliver's to those who don't need plastic, cookie-cutter resorts!

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the harbor have the very best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights kind of out of the way from everything. Dingy Dock restaurant was amazing. Iguana Ali was awesome. Food delicious views outstanding . The water pressure in the shower well there was none! Needs TLC big time. Boat to beach BROKEN and will not be fixed :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Captain Oliver's is an enchanting place. If you are looking for island charm, you will find it. Kittens, chickens, well kept flowers in a desert climate, are just a few of the gems. If you want a canned resort go elsewhere. The staff especially front desk will do anything to help the guests. The Saturday nite buffet is ONLY accented by the live DJ music, who is phenomenal with his voice, and the dancing that keeps you in place for the for the whole evening. The marina and docks are authentic and happy hours are the best. I have been with Captain's twice now and would not hesitate to come again.

Room Tip: room 101 or 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Captain Oliver's is in rough condition. It needs updating; however, it is in a wonderful location with easy access to great beaches. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We have stayed there many times and have just become comfortable with the location.

Room Tip: Definitely request the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to extend our stay more than once at St MMaarten and discovered Capt Oliver's near Dawn Beach across the inlet. We loved it. A small resort within a 5 min walk to several good restaurants. A free shuttle boat to Dawn Beach got us as close to the beach as using our car.and was quicker, too. Infinity pool was a novelty for us the first time. Comfortable poolside bar and harborside restaurant were a plus. Our room was large spotless and had great views. Reasonable rates for the island. The resort is on the Dutch side right at the border. Any time we want an extra night or two Capt O's is our frst option.

Room Tip: We prefer a room above ground floor facing Oyster Pond..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.