We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Captain Oliver's. We had seen it years ago and felt it would be a great place to stay for a couple of nights before our trip over to St. Barts. The view from our villa was beyond belief and the room was huge. The shower could have been hotter, and in-room amenities are not abundant. But we would stay there again in a heart beat just for the location at the marina and the excellent food. Every morning we had a delicious buffet breakfast with croissants better than we had in Paris! The staff was friendly and we loved the tropical birds and the friendly cats that live there. Would recommend Captain Oliver's to those who don't need plastic, cookie-cutter resorts!

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the harbor have the very best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    91
    58
    25
    14
See reviews for
31
135
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights kind of out of the way from everything. Dingy Dock restaurant was amazing. Iguana Ali was awesome. Food delicious views outstanding . The water pressure in the shower well there was none! Needs TLC big time. Boat to beach BROKEN and will not be fixed :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Captain Oliver's is an enchanting place. If you are looking for island charm, you will find it. Kittens, chickens, well kept flowers in a desert climate, are just a few of the gems. If you want a canned resort go elsewhere. The staff especially front desk will do anything to help the guests. The Saturday nite buffet is ONLY accented by the live DJ music, who is phenomenal with his voice, and the dancing that keeps you in place for the for the whole evening. The marina and docks are authentic and happy hours are the best. I have been with Captain's twice now and would not hesitate to come again.

Room Tip: room 101 or 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Captain Oliver's is in rough condition. It needs updating; however, it is in a wonderful location with easy access to great beaches. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We have stayed there many times and have just become comfortable with the location.

Room Tip: Definitely request the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to extend our stay more than once at St MMaarten and discovered Capt Oliver's near Dawn Beach across the inlet. We loved it. A small resort within a 5 min walk to several good restaurants. A free shuttle boat to Dawn Beach got us as close to the beach as using our car.and was quicker, too. Infinity pool was a novelty for us the first time. Comfortable poolside bar and harborside restaurant were a plus. Our room was large spotless and had great views. Reasonable rates for the island. The resort is on the Dutch side right at the border. Any time we want an extra night or two Capt O's is our frst option.

Room Tip: We prefer a room above ground floor facing Oyster Pond..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Captain Oliver's for a few days in late December 2012.

This resort is in a very good area of the island, positioned directly on the border of French Saint Martin, and the Dutch side on Oyster Pond. I booked this hotel based on comments from this travel forum and agree securing a car is quite beneficial.

This resort has a marina, two different restaurants, a pool and an open air reception area. Interestingly, there is a caged red and blue parrot which will say "hello" and "goo-bye" to you if you stop to see it outside the restaurant.

My room was very spacious and clean. The room featured a safe, a deck overlooking the marina and the sea, as well as quiet efficient air conditioning and a small walk in kitchenette.

The bathroom was clean and had been remodeled recently to include an over sized shower head, nice lighting, new bath fixtures and a hair dryer.

The pros for this hotel:
* great location on opposite side of island from the SXM airport
* Spacious, clean comfortable room
* Front desk staff has a great "can-do" attitude and was most helpful
* Nice pool area (infinity-type pool) with padded deck chairs
* Room had safe, air conditioning, kitchenette, and a nice deck overlooking the bay
* Very good room rates are available

The challenges at this hotel:
* Parking is a bit limited, especially at night
* The resort is showing its age and needs some TLC from its ownership and staff
* Cable tv channels are quite limited
* Breakfast staff at the restaurant is not friendly and difficult to deal with, WHEN you are able to get their attention
* Wifi only available in the reception lobby, not in the rooms

Room Tip: Ask at front desk for a view of the bay/ocean, they seem to be very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Staff is very friendly. People at the reception have a " can do" attitude. Best asset that they have. Good location.
Cons: very old, needs remodelation. Shower was occidated and stunk. Cable tv was never working. Tv was so old that was always making noises. Tons of mosquitoes!
Hotel has potential.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.