We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to SXM” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to SXM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Captain Oliver's is in rough condition. It needs updating; however, it is in a wonderful location with easy access to great beaches. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We have stayed there many times and have just become comfortable with the location.

Room Tip: Definitely request the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    95
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
33
140
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted to extend our stay more than once at St MMaarten and discovered Capt Oliver's near Dawn Beach across the inlet. We loved it. A small resort within a 5 min walk to several good restaurants. A free shuttle boat to Dawn Beach got us as close to the beach as using our car.and was quicker, too. Infinity pool was a novelty for us the first time. Comfortable poolside bar and harborside restaurant were a plus. Our room was large spotless and had great views. Reasonable rates for the island. The resort is on the Dutch side right at the border. Any time we want an extra night or two Capt O's is our frst option.

Room Tip: We prefer a room above ground floor facing Oyster Pond..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Captain Oliver's for a few days in late December 2012.

This resort is in a very good area of the island, positioned directly on the border of French Saint Martin, and the Dutch side on Oyster Pond. I booked this hotel based on comments from this travel forum and agree securing a car is quite beneficial.

This resort has a marina, two different restaurants, a pool and an open air reception area. Interestingly, there is a caged red and blue parrot which will say "hello" and "goo-bye" to you if you stop to see it outside the restaurant.

My room was very spacious and clean. The room featured a safe, a deck overlooking the marina and the sea, as well as quiet efficient air conditioning and a small walk in kitchenette.

The bathroom was clean and had been remodeled recently to include an over sized shower head, nice lighting, new bath fixtures and a hair dryer.

The pros for this hotel:
* great location on opposite side of island from the SXM airport
* Spacious, clean comfortable room
* Front desk staff has a great "can-do" attitude and was most helpful
* Nice pool area (infinity-type pool) with padded deck chairs
* Room had safe, air conditioning, kitchenette, and a nice deck overlooking the bay
* Very good room rates are available

The challenges at this hotel:
* Parking is a bit limited, especially at night
* The resort is showing its age and needs some TLC from its ownership and staff
* Cable tv channels are quite limited
* Breakfast staff at the restaurant is not friendly and difficult to deal with, WHEN you are able to get their attention
* Wifi only available in the reception lobby, not in the rooms

Room Tip: Ask at front desk for a view of the bay/ocean, they seem to be very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Staff is very friendly. People at the reception have a " can do" attitude. Best asset that they have. Good location.
Cons: very old, needs remodelation. Shower was occidated and stunk. Cable tv was never working. Tv was so old that was always making noises. Tons of mosquitoes!
Hotel has potential.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in Captain Olivers 5 years ago, and it was a quaint, little place, however
I was EXTREMELY dissapointed on this visit. The villas are no longer surrounded by flowers but are surrounded by broken down buildings and the awful smell of garbage- Which when I inquired about it.. I was told by the desk clerk, and I quote " Welcome to the Caribbean, you know it smells like garbage, don't you".
Our bathroom was literally falling apart. We had to rig up the shower so that it would stay up and it the tiles were all falling off and surrounded by mold. When we asked for another room, and why the place was so run down, we were informed by the clerk..that, and I quote " The captain died 2 years ago and we have no management in this place, for the past two year". By the way, we didn't get a new room, because non of the other rooms had air conditioning that was working.
Thankfully we didn't let this ruin our trip, but I would advise you to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to Captain Oliver's for honeymoon in February and loved the ocean front deluxe room that was big and clean. The large corner terrace with interesting ocean front view soothed us with the sound of lapping waves and gave us a nice landscape to look at. Because it's a marina with amenities such as a bar and a restaurant, we really never had to leave the premises if we didn't choose to. The food was good, and hot breakfast every morning started a lazy day out nicely. We enjoyed Captain Oliver and their staff so much we are returning this month... Twice in one year! It's a great find... Try them out.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

our sailing vacation began with a night at this property, room was very dirty, wonder if it had been cleaned in months, price point for this property very high if it had been cleaned, we found other quality properties nearby that were less expensive. staff seem unconcerned about our needs

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#3 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cupecoy Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.