We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't get a lot worse than this.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They don't get a lot worse than this.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I booked a marina view room for two nights in March 2012 before joining a cruise ship to cross the Atlantic. Our time in Captain Oliver's was the low point of a fabulous holiday. It is beyond me how other reviewers can rave about this place. It is run down and truly terrible. It cannot possibly be the 4* resort it claims. We were relieved that we only had to endure two days at this dump.

The only good thing to say about the room was that it was large. The furnishings were scuffed and well beyond their best and the room was filthy throughout our short stay. The mattress was thin and set on a solid wooden base that made it uncomfortable. Bed linen was stained. The storage in the room was so dirty that my wife decided not to unpack her clothes during the stay. The bathroom was appalling. Tiles were chipped, there was mould in every corner, shower fittings were broken and the shower and sink could not be used together as the water pressure was inadequate.

The bar and restaurant had an ideal position looking over Oyster Pond and the marina but it was scruffy and the food was no more than adequate.

I found the staff neither particularly friendly nor helpful. A $20 deposit was required before they would call a taxi and I was required to sign for a $150 deposit for the lock for the room safe.

The room was absurdly expensive for the standard offered.

The location of Captain Oliver’s gives it enormous potential but until someone decides to throw a lot of money at the place to bring it into the 21st century it should be avoided. We will probably return to St Maarten but nothing on this planet would get me to stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    87
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
30
128
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Captain Oliver's Resort again as our resort of choice on the island. We have stayed here for the last several years, and consider the resort and the staff like our St Martin family. We had an ocean view room..with porch looking out from the marina inlet to the ocean.
Coffee each morning on your own porch before breakfast, and night cap in the evening are marvelous.

This is a great, relaxing and lovely place to call home and a base to operate from on the island.
To end each day with a swim in the beautifully placed pool overlooking the marina inlet, and a cocktail at the resort's unique outdoor Iguana Bar next to the pool is the capper each day!

Captain Oliver's Resort is "our own private getaway"....one to which we have taken and enjoyed with several friends as well.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We returned to Captain Olivers for our 8th visit. We were greeted at the reception with our bags taken to our room. When I tried to tip the person, he graciously declined. Very impressive. We pay for an ocean view room. Ours had a nice view of the water and St. Barths.

As usual, the restaurant staff was wondeful. The crew has been here for many years. Food is very good. A full breakfast buffet is included with the room. It is very good with fresh baked french bread and made-to-order omelets if you want.

We highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you want a great ocean view, ask for rooms 101-104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Captain Oliver's for a week in February. The accommodation were everything promised. The ocean front rooms were great, spacious and just in front of the bay which made a morning or afternoon swim in the ocean easy. The restaurant faces the marina and breakfast was a delight, well stocked, and tasty. Evening meals were good, but surprisingly that don't serve fresh fish. The best meals were at Daniels, which is Busby's Beach Bar during the day. Excellent Italian food, but little fresh fish. While St. Martin is billed as the gastronomical capital of the Caribbean, we found that the food and food choices much better in Barbados and Nassau.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very out of the way of the louder parts of the island. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Very nice little beach (not sand beach but a pier you can access the water via). Free shuttle to a great snorkeling site. Great restaurants and grocery store within walking distance. Marina view rooms are very clean and well air-conditioned. Good in-resort restaurant and fun/friendly bar adjacent.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms are recently renovated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in marina view room; clean, spacious, but crummy bed (too hard and lumpy). View ok, the ocean view is better. Electrical current 220 - couldn't use everything we brought without frying them, and adapters worked only on a few things. The staff was accommodating and easy to work with. I discovered that there is a legal battle going on for ownership since Captain Oliver's death and it looks like no one wants to spend money on significant upgrades so the place is run down. Real shame because there is tremendous potential for an outstanding resort. I hope family wins and sells to outside outfit who can do justice to the location and the Captain's original idea. Would we come back? Not under current circumstances. No one seems to know who is really in control, and you can sense the tension. Plus, there are so many great resorts around. Sorry Captain Oliver!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Everyone has different needs & expectations for a vacation. This fit ours perfectly.
Having travelled to almost all of the De Ilons in the Caribbean, we have a few rules.
No elevators, No tents.
Just back from two weeks at Captain Olivers's and we could not be more pleased.
The Ocean View room was very comfortable with perhaps the biggest bed I've ever slept on.
The staff were extremely accomodating,(thanks, Lilianne & Sebastian)
We love our morning coffee on our balcony overlooking the sea, but the rooms don't come with a coffemaker, the cool guy at the desk found one for us in a heartbeat!
The maid service was invisible and impeccable.
Although our stay was during the Heinekin Regatta we had no neighbors and total privacy with the exception of one or two one night stays by bareboaters on their way.
It really felt like a private villa.
The breakfast buffet was all you could want, with omelets cooked to order.
The dinners were very good, although the Dinghy Dock next door seemed to be much more popular with pub fare and pour you own drinks at two for one at happy hour.
After looking at the megaresorts on the Dutch side, the mega traffic, we were totaly happy staying here, with fun excursions to the French side, we loved the Rainbow Cafe in Grand Case dining with toes in the sand.
The best part is we signed up on a special offer in December.

174 $ / nt

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.