We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, Caribbean charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good staff, Caribbean charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here before and after chartering a boat from Sunsail, which is located at the marina on the premises. So the location was our primary driver for choosing Captain Olivers, The rooms are a bit dated and slightly run down, but perfectly adequate. Spring for the ocean view rooms. The views are spectacular, much, much better than the marina view rooms. The balcony/terrace was spacious with sturdier than usual plastic furniture. Our room and our friend's room had a slightly musty odor. The air conditioner pumped out tons of cold air, but it is aimed directly at the bed. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly. Wifi is available only in the lobby, not in the rooms or restaurants. The pool area is nice enough, but the wooden pool deck is in poor repair so wear shoes/flip flops unless you want giant splinters in your feet (seriously.) There is a little diving platform to jump into the ocean (harbor really.) Finally, if you book directly through the hotel,they include breakfast and the rates are cheaper than through Orbitz.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    87
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
30
128
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We got in late. Rented a car and brought my own GPS. Rough trip from Airport to Resort. Upon arriving guard greeted us, Front desk was French and charming. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was a bit hard. In the morning the sun filled the room thru the french shutters and we opened the doors to see a spetacular ocean with a sail boat you could almost touch. At night the lights from across the harbor illuminated the palm trees. Each day was nice, with a nice breeze. Restruant was SUPERB! Small little French resruants around it were SUPERB. There is a French police station almost directly outside the Resort. I was totally relaxed. We then went every day around the island and had escargot for lunch. French songs were sung at night at the disco/bar. We went a few blocks uphill and found a French grocery store and had the most amazing freshly baked French bread. The ocean surrounding us was crystal clear, blue azure with small white caps. Goats and sheep often stopped us on the highway. Everyone at the Resort was smiling and we did our best to be cognizant it was 90% French and we had a ball. We went to the Orient Beach and was amazed its sans clothes in many places. Look; I have to tell you go to this Resort. The beaches, the atmosphere and lazy sunny days will make you smile. Its not costly, no casino, no BS - I will go back. Be careful to lock your cars in St. Maartin and be wary of where you go. Buy car renters insurance. I heard there was crime in some places. My trip with my wife was SUPERB! Enjoy if you go. You wont be dissapointed. Capt Oliver's is a great expierence.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow facing the Ocean! The one at the northern end is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed here several times over the last 15 years. The resort is dated and could use more updating, however it does have the caribbean feel with a european influence. The parking is nice and secure in a guarded and gated lot. The signature restaurant is very good with an extensive menu. I believe it is Saturday nights when they have an awesome seafood buffet. Other highlights include the mini zoo, aquarium under the restaurant, and the"window pool". The view is nice. You can also take the ferry to St. Barth's from the dock. There are also several restaurants close by. Orient bay is just up the road. Also the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from St. Martin and are thrilled to have discovered Captain Oliver's. It had been a few years since we had visited St. Martin and the people at this resort embody the reason St. Martin holds a special place in our hearts. The views are breathtaking, the location, amenities, and restaurant are amongst the best on the island, but as with any business, it's the people that make the difference. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for a week August 3 to August 10 and could not have had a nicer time at the resort.. The room overlooked the ocean and the views were fantastic The room was very well appointed. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were very friendly.The staff at the front desk were so very helpful, friendly and a delight to interact with. We highly recommend this hotel to visitors.
Attached to the resort is a marina and it has a bar/ pub that has great vibe and very reasonably priced food.

Room Tip: Book directly with the front desk and ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Captain Oliver's Hotel is so very perfect for the French/Dutch island of St.Martin. The atmosphere, the management, and personnel are very professional and most anxious to make each and every guest comfortable. The ocean view rooms are very lovely and offer great views of St.Barths. The adjoining verandas outside are perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine; there is also the Iguana Bar which is great for a late afternoon cocktail in the pool area.The pool is a perfect place to start the day or, upon returning from the beach, take a quick dip . The breakfast buffet offers various choices including cereals, eggs, pancakes, bacon etc. and is available 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m..

Most evenings, there is entertainment in the restaurant which is great while enjoying very fine food from a varied menu. Again, the restaurant staff is very efficient and accommodating in all ways. If you want to experience the ambience of the island this is indeed the perfect hotel. The Caribbean, French, and Dutch atmosphere are all exemplified in this lovely and comfortable hotel. It has its own island charm which is what makes it so perfect for a vacation on St.Martin. We have vacationed at Captain Olivers for several years and have always been more than happy and satisfied with all aspects of Captain Olivers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My Wife and I just returned from our second visit to Capt. Olivers and we had a wonderful week vacation. The hotel is a perfect location to enjoy both sides of St. Maarten. I enjoyed the scenery around the grounds and marina and my wife loved sleeping late in the comfortable king-sized bed. We had a very good breakfast every morning at the restaurant and many afternoons would visit the tiki bar to begin the evening. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and the room was cleaned daily to my full expectations. I will return again to "The Captain's" for sure!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.