We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea

Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea
# 6 Emerald Merrit Road | Dawn Beach Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721-543-6088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Happy Valley, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food good portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a very relaxing, very nice place to eat. I would suggest the chicken pram, and my wife would suggest the lasagna. The garlic bread is a very nice start. Overall good stuff

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    283
    104
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent view of the ocean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Food was very good. Service slow. Great place to chill, eat, and look at the ocean. Playful, quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1928, Manager at Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review , a little disappointing to only receive a 3 star ( average ) review since it appears that you enjoyed yourself so much , if this is based on the slow service I understand and guarantee you that it will get my full attention , I have unfortunately been away for the past 4 weeks due to medical reasons ( TKR) , I will be returning soon and will work on the service matter .

thank you very much for your interest and taking your time in writing this review .

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really convenient to Dawn Beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are staying at the Westin make sure to catch a dinner at Busbys. The pizza and pasta were good and it was nice to sit outdoors.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view not so great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we came here by chance. we were trying to get the taxi driver to take us to what turned out to be the French side but we didn't know that at the time. so instead of arguing we just decided to settle on what she said we would like. we were taken on a path between the building and a fence. not the best of entrances. there was plenty of seating and we did have a great view. it took forever for someone to come by and serve us. not sure if that is just island attitude or if they suck at service. once we got menus it was the same thing again. service was just terrible especially considering how dead the place was. we had some specialty drinks which were quite strong but didn't taste great. the food was good but didn't knock anything out of the park. i don't know if we were biased from the get go just because it hadn't been our first choice or what. it's a good place to go to hang out and if you just don't have anywhere else to go. it was by no means bad just didn't stand out. when you're visiting a place and you really only have time to visit one place and the taxi driver even recommends it you kind of set the bar higher i think. we will not come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1928, Owner at Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello

Very sorry to hear that you had to wait for your service i shall review this situation with my staff , thank you for making us aware of this situation when it comes to service there is ALWAYS room for improvement . In response to your remark concerning the narrow entrance please note that this is the public entrance to the beach , not oir main entrance which is locared in our parking area in front of the restaurant . Please , visit us again on your next trip and we will make it up to you .

thank you

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Mr. Busby's is the breakfast spot to hit in this area, much more reasonably priced than any hotel (went there 3 of 4 mornings). Say Hello to Grey - he's a good man, By night the same place turns into Daniel's, a surprisingly good Italian place.
The entire place is shaded in palm trees, while never losing a beautiful view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1928, General Manager at Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much , we appreciate your opinion very much .

Daniel @ staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.