We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea

Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea
# 6 Emerald Merrit Road | Dawn Beach Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721-543-6088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best pizza on St. Martin. Daniels is an odd place: with three restaurants under one roof. It is a world class beach bar by day and a fabulous white table cloth restaurant at night. The owner added a nice open-air pizza place in the back. We use it for take-out. The thin crust pizza is oven-baked right in front of you. It works so well because the same high quality that goes into their gourmet restaurant is also evident in their pizza. We travel a lot and know our upscale pizza: this competes with the best LA or NY city pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    281
    104
    37
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The setting of this restaurant is as perfect as can be...right on the beautiful white sand Dawn Beach. They also have a happy hour between 4 & 6. We had a late lunch/early dinner there. The food was very tasty. What we did not like was that we felt that the staff were a little snobby toward us. And we returned a few nights later - we got a pizza at Daniel's and ate it at a table by the beach but there was a large group seated nearby and the restaurant allows smoking. there were 2 people smoking cigarettes and 1 smoking a cigar while we were having our meal and the sea-breeze blowing their smoke right at us ruined our meal. We are from the USA and we are not used to people smoking in restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lunch is reasonable and tasty from some of the best ribs to great pizza. Our dinners were always good and some of the best Lobster Bisque we have ever had.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Busby's Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good food, reasonably priced, usually a very friendly crowd...always ended up in conversation with neighbors sitting at other tables. Waitstaff were hit or miss....once being very bright and chipper, another time...not so much. Didn't distract from the location or experience though.....I forgot to mention oceanfront, wood floors...right at entrance of Oyster Beach Resort.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beach Bar by Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Mr. Busby's is a beach bar and restaurant on Dawn Beach, on the Dutch side of St. Maarten/St. Martin, very close to Oyster Pond. At night it morphs into Daniel's By the Sea. We were only there during the day, so my comments relate only to Mr. Busby's. They also rent out beach chairs and umbrellas in front of "their" beach (a common practice, it seems). We walked in and immediately enveloped in a cozy, tropical, laid back and inviting shady deck and bar. The food was fine and fairly typical beach fare. The best part is the ambience -- locals as well as visitors, and sometimes they have local musicians.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea also viewed

Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Busby's Beach Bar / Daniel's By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.