We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic\fantastique!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Caravelle
Save
You added La Caravelle to your Saves list
12 avenue du lagon | Oyster-Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Oyster Pond B&B and Inns
Ottawa area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic\fantastique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Mireille's small villa right on the marina at Oyster Pond is the perfect get away place for a couple looking for serenity on the water while being just minutes away from a great selection of restaurants. La Caravelle has 6-7 studio apartments, each with a private terrasse. You can cook your own meals or eat out at any one of the many and varied restaurants in the neighborhood. Orient Bay Beach is 12 minutes away by car as are grocery stores. La Caravelle has a small pool and lovely garden overlooking the marina for quiet evenings on the terrasse.

Although the studio suites are small, they are super clean. The large bathroom and king size bed and plenty of closet space add to the comfort.
Best restaurant nearby (2 minute walk along boardwalk) is Quai Ouest. Best happy hour bar to watch the sun set is Dinghy Dock--right on the marina where you can see lots of sail boats right up close.

This was our 3rd time going to St. Martin in 4 years and 3rd time staying at Mireille's place. We are already pre-booked for 2012 as we just love the scenery and serenity after a day at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Region Dortmund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have been on the beautiful island St. Martin with its lovely beaches for three weeks and spent our holiday at "La Caravelle" in Oyster Pond.
The apartment was very nice and clean, the interior perfect and appropriate. We enjoyed having breakfast outside on the veranda overlooking the lovely garden, the swimming pool and the marina being visited by butterflies and hummingbirds. Our host Mireille was extremely kind and helpful. You can always ask her for help.
We will never forget these amazing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucarest
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

a very good location to try for your holidays in Saint Martin, a quiet place, areas around where a lot of interesting things can be seen, magnificent landscape on the sea shore from both the Dawn beach (1km away) and the rocks around.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Hidden Gem! We stayed for five nights at La Caravelle and loved it. Our room was a "Studio A" class right outside the pool which looked out over the bay. This worked well for us since we could enjoy eating and reading on our private terrace then slip into the pool just a few steps away anytime we wanted. There are only 7 rooms within the hotel so we hardly ever saw anyone else and had the pool to ourselves. There was a charcoal BBQ which we used to cook fresh lobster that we bought from a boat down at the pier a short walk from the hotel. The kitchen facilities are small but worked well for us to cook dinner with two burners, a microwave, small fridge, freezer, and sink. There are also a few bars and restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend happy hour at Dinghy Dock which seems to be semi-famous place for boaters to gather. You'll want to rent a car so that you can explore the island. We ended up circumnavigating the island a few times and La Caravelle was a perfect spot to start and end our day. Mireille was great and helped us with recommendations for dining and sight seeing. There were a couple of problems with the room that we pointed out when we first arrived but she fixed them right away and it did not disrupt our stay in any way. If you are looking for 5 star service with lots of amenities, this is not the place for you, but if you are planning a do-it-yourself type of holiday and want a decent room with a clean pool, well maintained grounds, and fantastic location then I highly recommend La Caravelle.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

My wife and I had wonderful time on St. Marin staying with charming Mireille at her hospitable La Caravelle on the Oyster Pond. This hotel provides a beautiful tranquil base from which to explore St. Martin -- 10 minutes to Philipsburg (Dutch Capital), 10 minutes to Orient Bay and 30 minutes to Marigot (French Capital).
You can walk to a number of small restaurants, including two waterfront ones at the local marina, a couple of convenience stores, etc.
La Caravelle is quiet, clean, has a nice small pool and a terrific Oyster Bay view. It is well managed by its owner, Mireille. You can book your stay and check rates thought her website at http://www.lacaravelle1.com/biographyus.htm .
The car rental that she lists on her site (http://www.lacaravelle1.com/prestationus.htm) is economical and very convenient -- they picked us at the airport, drove us to the hotel, gave us a clean new compact car, and charged $240 all-in for a weak during December high season.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

The best recommendation is that it's my second time at La Caravelle the studios are large and clean and unlike a lot of the Caribbean everything works it's very quiet and the view over the lagoon is wonderful it's about 20 mins to Marigot and the same to the Philipsberg and best for me only 10 mins to Orient beach where i spend most of my time.
Nick Briggs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We loved this place. We took a room with view of the bay and I would definitely recommend it. The view in the morning was definitely worth the extra money. The location is great and in a good little community. If you stay there definitely take advantage of the fact that you can buy fish right off the boat about 3 minutes from the place and then grill it on the barbeque by the pool - fantastic experience.
The only thing people should be aware of is that the kitchen and bath is simple, yet functional. Overall a great value and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravelle

Address: 12 avenue du lagon | Oyster-Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel Oyster Pond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caravelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.