We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!! THE BEST IN THE CAYMANS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Point Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Compass Point Dive Resort to your Saves list
Compass Point Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!! THE BEST IN THE CAYMANS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from our 5th trip to Compass Point Dive Resort in the Cayman Islands. The condominiums are first class all the way and the onsite dive company, Ocean Frontiers, is by far the most top notch company for your best diving experience. They have certfied both our older children as divers in a most professional and personal manner. Their boats are comfortable and the service of the captains and dive crew is fabulous. You are given tours of each dive site and the crew takes time to point out many creatures and formations while u are under water. Even if you are not a diver, the pool and hot tub is relaxing and enjoyable. You are made to feel so welcome and important. The resort is spotless, there are many restaurants now in the area and several within walking distance. Eagle Rays Grill is onsite at Compass Point and will be opening soon with a most delicious menu. ..We will never stay anywhere else when diving in Grand Cayman. It is peaceful and serene away from the hustle and bustle of town. You can't find any better than Compass Point.

Room Tip: all the rooms at compass point are beautiful. The front rooms are beach front rooms, but some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
104
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am just back from a fabulous week of diving at Compass Point Dive Resort.
First of all, the location is superb! Being in Grand Cayman's East End, this resort is away from the crowd of 7 Miles Beach and George Town in a very quiet and beautiful location. The accomodations are immaculately clean, well supplied and very spacious. The well appointed kitchen allows you cook and dine-in. The area has several very good restaurants (see specific reviews of Tukka and The Lighthouse restaurants). Every unit has a very comfortable balcony with chairs and tables to relax or eat in front of a wonderful view. The sandy beach is nice for a nap on some reading. The staff is amazing and always ready to assist. The property has two pools, one that is use for dive training purposes and another one, resort style, across the road from the rest of the complex.
And most importantly, these amazing apartments are just a few steps from amazing diving (see separate review on Ocean Frontier).
An absolute 5 star!
And a place to return to!

Room Tip: The apartments on the outsides of the buildings are much brighter because of additional windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Another beautiful week at Compass Pt diving with the crew of Ocean Frontiers. It was good to see our old friends & make new ones ;o) You just can't beat the team work here & the Princess Diving ;o) We are more than half way there to earning our Green Shorts ! See you all again in August ;o) Thank you everyone....best wishes to all of you ;o)

Room Tip: All the condos are beautiful...we have stayed in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Compass Point continues to amaze me in the quality of service they and Ocean Frontiers provide to their customers. You really don't feel like a customer....it is more like family when you are greeted at the front desk. The resort is always clean and comfortable and each condo is well appointed. The pool and hot tub area provide a gathering spot to relax and meet other divers. The views are great, and rolling out of bed with a short walk to the dive boat can not be beat.
The office staff provides great service in scheduling all your dives, and are there to answer any questions that you might have. Everyone greets you and makes you feel at home during your stay.
A great place on the East End!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Compass Point and Ocean Frontiers have quite simply figured it out. The condos at Compass Point are spacious, fresh and incredibly well appointed. The check in process is efficient and informative without belabouring the point. The diving scheduling, timing and billing are streamlined and make it absolutely EFFORTLESS for the guest.

I am uber anal, I ask a million questions, I take nothing for granted, I confirm everything twelve times... NONE OF THAT WAS NECESSARY. They had it all taken care of, all sorted and printed out on one perfectly easy to understand piece of paper. Here are the dates of your dives, the check in times, the boat you will be on and the gas mix you are using... simple. That didn’t stop me from sending a million emails before I landed, all of which were answered in a concise, timely manner and never once did they tell me (as they would have been right to do) "dude, relax... we do this sort of thing for a living you know..."

Now to the diving. WOW! The walls on the East side of Grand Cayman are EPIC. Tight cavernous descending swim-throughs to a wall that drops of into 'The Deep' (approximately 3000 feet). Deep dive depths around 100 feet followed by varied and interesting shallow dives between 40-65 feet. I did 4 dives a day most days (5 the first day). Never the same location twice during my 5 days. The boats were clean, well maintained and staffed by real professionals. The dive masters/instructors were a mix of Yankee and Brit. They were expert, knowledgeable and fun.

I would wake up to the sound of tanks clanking, walk 15 seconds to the boat, get on, ride out to the dive site (furthest was maybe 1/2 hour) and by the time I got there, I had my Nitrox analyzed, regs set and I was ready to go. They helped you into and out of your equipment if you wished. They helped you out of the water and they had your tanks switched before you could say… “No thanks, I can do it.”

The Dive briefing was informative and fun without turning into a long drawn out process. The DM would take us down, guide those who wished it, then return us to below the boat and ascend. From there on out you were on your own to explore and take in the AMAZING GRAND CAYMAN EAST SIDE DIVING EXPERIENCE.

I cannot say enough about this place. I will be going back. I just wish it were tomorrow.

Room Tip: Room 122 is not on the ocean, but it is on the pool, with an ocean view, walk out access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife (a non-diver) and I just returned from Grand Cayman. I had heard other divers rave about Compass Point and Ocean Frontiers while staying on Grand Cayman last year. We arrived April 1st and spent ten wonderful days in an ocean front condo that was pure heaven.

The diving was excellent, I though the visibility was a little off, but every dive held something new and exciting. I was blown away with the walls, could not get enough of the structure and wild life. As it turned out, I managed to put myself into deco, spent 18 minutes at 20 feet clearing my dive computer. After that I gave my head a shake and listened to the Divemaster's and staff, immediately switched over to Nitrox and payed close attention to my dive computer.

This resort is very special, yes the condo's are spotless and everything works. You can shop for groceries and cook at home or go out for very good dinners locally , we did both. In my opinion it's not the fact that the diving is spectacular and the condo's are everything as advertised, it's the staff.

These good people... every single one of them (but especially you Michele). Are Harvard School of Business examples of excellent customer service. Their patience is unlimited, caring and support is genuine and they are all very hard workers. Big smiles greeted every morning dive trip and did not stop until I closed the door to my condo in the evening. The BBQ area hosts various events and is an excellent way to meet people or take in a slide/video show on the East End's reef's and wall's.

Folk's in all honesty, it just does not get any better than Compass Point & Ocean Frontiers. If you've tried all the others and want the best, this is it.

Room Tip: End units, facing the ocean, the sunrises are breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're a diver! Nicely furnished and kitchen well supplied, including a coffee maker and blender! I also love that it has a washer and dryer in each room. Staff very friendly. 2 nice pools and a jacuzzi. Located right on the beach so the view is beautiful from your porch/balcony. Diving with Ocean Frontiers is a must! Very customer orientated. Dive gear is set up for you when you walk onto the boat and then after the dives, they rinse gear and hang dry it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Point Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.